LibGuides: Technical Writing: Technical Writing

About this page

This LibGuide provides tips for choosing useful resources to assist with your Technical Writing assignments.

Featured Library Resource

Writing, Reading, and Understanding in Modern Health Sciences by Milos Jenicek
Call Number: 808.06661 JENICEK 2014
ISBN: 9781482226454
Publication Date: 2014
Covers "scientific articles, articles where the subject is not based on the scientific method, and business reports."
Editing Made Easy by Bruce Kaplan
Call Number: 808.027 KAPLAN 2012
ISBN: 9780942679366
Publication Date: 2012-07-15
The book is non-technical in its approach. It doesn't cover grammatical terms such as present perfect progressive or correlative conjunctions. It boils grammar and style into a few simple rules that will serve you well whether you are a journalist, a student, a novelist, a business executive, a blogger, or anybody else who would like to make effective use of written language.

Resources for Your Technical Writing Studies

How To Find the Information You Need.

Broad Searches If you want to see large amounts of information - books, journal articles, DVDs and more - and you don’t mind looking at a few things that you might not need, use RTC's OneSearch.

Try OneSearch Now:

Focused Searches When you know exactly what you need.

If you need journal articles, click on the Articles tab, and learn about ProQuest, CINAHL, and other databases.
If you need books, click on the Books tab, and learn how to find books in the RTC Library Catalog, or eBooks in RTC databases.
If you need web resources, click on the Web Sites tab. This page lists helpful web sites on many technical writing topics.

Not Finding What You Want?

Try another way of describing your topic. Instead of "car" try "automobile". Instead of "movie" try "motion picture".

Think about the age of the material you need.
- If you are researching something that is a established fact, try books or encyclopedias (found in the RTC Catalog), or eBooks (found in Credo Reference or the EBSCO Community College eBook Collection through the RTC Library Database page). Examples of established facts include "a description of how grammar works", or "relationships between texts".
- If you are researching something new, like "the latest trends in technical writing" or "new publishing opportunities", try journal and newspaper articles (found in ProQuest on the database page.)

Need More Help?

If you're not sure what you need, or how to begin, come in to the RTC Library, call us at (425) 235-2331, or email us at librarian@RTC.edu. If it's after hours, try our reference chat service AskWA. We'll be glad to help!

RTC Learning Resource Center Writing Support

The LRCC provides a free tutoring service via ZOOM to help students succeed in their classes. There are tutors available for Math, English, Science (biology, chemistry, anatomy & physiology), Accounting, Basic Studies/HS21+, Computer Apps/Science/CNT/BAS, Early Childhood, Engineering Design, Industrial & Structural Engineering, Mechatronics, Medical Assistant, and Nursing.

If you have any questions or want more information, call 425-235-2645

Book a tutor from the LRCC

Subject Guide

Laura Staley