Cosmetology: Articles

This page provides tips for finding journal and magazine articles available through the RTC Library.

Learn to cite articles by going to the Use APA or Use MLA pages.

If you're not sure what you need, or how to begin, come in to the RTC Library, call us at (425) 235-2331, or email us at librarian@RTC.edu. We'll be glad to help!

Three RTC Subscription Databases Offering Millions of Journal and Magazine Articles

• ProQuest - journal and magazine articles on all subjects.
• CINAHL Plus with Full Text  - journal articles on medicine and health.
• eLibrary  - magazine and newspaper articles and books.

Other databases with journal and magazine articles include: SIRS Discoverer and History Study Center. The library also carries 40 paper journals and magazines. Check our catalog to find those.

The non-subscription (free) Directory of Open Access Journals offers links to many free online journals.

These databases can be found on the RTC Library Database Page at: https://rtc.edu/node/1519

Help! I'm Writing a Paper - Allied Health Edition. Shows searching ProQuest, CINAHL and more.

Help! I'm Writing a Paper - English and Social Sciences Edition.  Shows searching ProQuest, eBooks, and more.

Help! I need to write a Paper - Information Technology Edition.  Shows searching ProQuest, IT eBook collection and more.

 

Searching ProQuest   

Video on Searching ProQuest (2018)

Searching ProQuest Quick Start:

• Go to the RTC Library Database Page
• Click on “ProQuest”.
• Type your terms into the search box. (See image below.)
• Check the "Peer Review" box if you want research articles.
• Click on the search button.

ProQuest Search Screen

 

 

Searching CINAHL Plus with Full Text  

Video on searching CINAHL Plus with Full Text (2019)

Searching CINAHL Quick Start:

• Go to the RTC Library Database Page.
• Click on “CINAHL Plus with Full Text”.  
• Type your terms into the search boxes.
• Select which fields you want CINAHL to search. Options include Title, Subject, and Author.
• Select your limits below the search boxes (not shown). Check the "Peer Reviewed" box for research articles.
• Click on the Search button.

CINAHL Search Screen

---

 

Searching eLibrary 

Searching eLibrary Quick Start:

• Go to the RTC Library Database Page.
• Click on “eLibrary”.  
• Type your terms into the search box.
• Click on the search button. It looks like a magnifying glass.

eLibrary Search Screen

 

Searching DOAJ Quick Start   

• Go to the RTC Library Database Page.
• Scroll down to the DOAJ search link:
• Type your search terms in the "search term" box.
• In the "search all" box, select which field you want to search. Options include Title, Keyword, Subject, etc.
• Review your results.

DOAJ Search Screen

 

---

Can't Find the Full Text of Your Article in the Database?

We can get the full text of articles from other libraries for your class-related use.  Simply request an Interlibrary Loan though the RTC Library. Remember to request your article early, because it can take a few weeks to obtain it.  (Interlibrary Loan is also available for books.)