LibGuides: Psychology Resources: Mental Health & Culture

About this page

This page offers books and weblinks to information on culture and mental health.

Need help?

If you're not sure what you need, or how to begin, come in to the RTC Library, call us at (425) 235-2331, or email us at librarian@RTC.edu. We'll be glad to help!

Mental Health and Culture Resources

Journal Articles

You can find journal articles by going to the Renton Technical College Library database page and searching either ProQuest or CINAHL.

ProQuest and CINAHL - In either of these databases try an advanced search with "mental disorders" as a subject, and - as a location - the name of a country you are interested in. This will provide you with articles from, or about, the mental health situation in that country.

Websites

WHO Mental Health - the World Health Organization works with Member States and partners to improve the mental health of individuals and society at large. This includes the promotion of mental well-being, the prevention of mental disorders, and efforts to increase access to quality mental health care that respects people’s human rights. Facts and figures on mental health around the world are available on the right side of the page, but require you to create a free log-in.

World Federation for Mental Health - the WFMH mission is to promote the advancement of mental health awareness, prevention of mental disorders, advocacy, and best practices recovery-focused interventions worldwide.

Adolescence and Education by Frank Pajares (Editor); Timothy C. Urdan (Editor)
Call Number: 155.5 INTERNA 2003p
ISBN: 9781593110673
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
A collection of articles from around the world about adolescence in many different countries.
Asian American Psychology by Gordon C. Nagayama Hall (Editor); Sumie Okazaki (Editor)
Call Number: 155.8495073 ASIAN 2002p
ISBN: 1557989028
Publication Date: 2002-08-15
This book is a collection of articles, by a number of different authors, about the psychology of Asian Americans.
Asian Americans: personality patterns, identity, and mental health by Laura Uba
Call Number: 362.208995 UBA-L 2003
ISBN: 1572309121
Publication Date: 2003-04-07
This volume, based on the most recent research findings, brings the literature up to date by offering the most comprehensive coverage available on the full range of contemporary issues facing Asian Americans with respect to personality, ethnic identity, and mental health.
Asian Culture and Psychotherapy: implications for East and West by Suk Choo Chang (Editor); Masahisa Nishizono (Editor); Wen-Shing Tseng (Editor)
Call Number: 616.8914009 ASIAN 2005
ISBN: 9780824828547
Publication Date: 2005-05-31
This volume brings to light the impact of Asian culture on psychotherapy. Scholars and clinicians from East Asia and India examine culture and psychotherapy at the theoretical and philosophical levels. An overview, invaluable for understanding some of the nuances of Asian culture, is followed by chapters on Asian personality and psychopathology, Asian psychology (in particular parent-child relations), the impact of Asian traditional thought and philosophy on psychotherapy, the unique psychotherapeutic approach of Asian culture, and psychotherapeutic experiences from various parts of Asia.
Colonial Madness: psychiatry in French North Africa by Richard C. Keller
Call Number: 616.890061 KELLER 2007
ISBN: 9780226429724
Publication Date: 2007-05-15
Colonial Madness explores the notion of what French thinkers saw as an inherent mental, intellectual, and behavioral rift marked by the Mediterranean, as well as the idea of the colonies as an experimental space freed from the limitations of metropolitan society and reason. These ideas have modern relevance, Keller argues, reflected in French thought about race and debates over immigration and France’s postcolonial legacy.
Counseling Across Cultures by Paul B. Pedersen; Juris G. Draguns; Walter J. Lonner; Joseph E. Trimble
Call Number: 616.8914 COUNSEL 2002
ISBN: 0761920854
Publication Date: 2002-01-30
Primarily focusing on North American cultural and ethnic diversity, while addressing global questions and issues, Counseling Across Cultures draws on the expertise of 48 invited contributors to examine the cultural context of accurate assessment and appropriate interventions in counseling diverse clients. Chapters highlight work with African Americans, Asian Americans, Latinos/as, American Indians, refugees, individuals in marginalized situations, international students, those with widely varying religious beliefs, and many others.
Counseling in an Eritrean Context by Belainesh Araya
Call Number: 158.309635 ARAYA 2001
ISBN: 1569021287
Publication Date: 2000-06-01
This book is primarily designed for use as a basic textbook for introductory guidance and counseling courses, teacher training and other areas of human service education. The book provides clear, concise, easily accessible overviews of major concepts and practices of some of the main theoretical approaches influencing human service providers.
Counseling Refugees: a psychosocial approach to innovative multicultural interventions by Fred Bemak; Rita Chi-Ying Chung; Paul B. Pedersen
Call Number: 158.3 BEMAK 2003
ISBN: 0313312680
Publication Date: 2002-09-30
Case studies of a variety of different approaches and experiences with cross-cultural counseling of refugees.
Cross-cultural counseling: the Arab-Palestinian case by Marwan Adeeb Dwairy
Call Number: 158.3089927 DWAIRY 1998
ISBN: 078900156X
Publication Date: 1998
Cross-Cultural Counseling shows you how divesting therapeutic techniques of cultural sensitivity results in the alienation of clients. This book challenges therapists to discard their misconceptions and biases about people who don’t fit the Western mold in terms of individualization, identity, and personality.
Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness by Rachael Spector; Rachel Spector
Call Number: 362.10425 SPECTOR 2017
ISBN: 9780134413310
Publication Date: 2016-09-12
For courses in Community/Public Health Nursing, Transcultural Nursing, and CEUs. Promotes an awareness of the dimensions and complexities involved in caring for people from diverse cultural backgrounds The ninth edition of " Cultural Diversity in Health and Wellness "examines the differences existing within North America by probing the health care system, consumers, and examples of traditional health beliefs and practices among selected populations.
Diagnosis in a Multicultural Context: a casebook for mental health professionals by Freddy A. Paniagua
Call Number: 616.89075 PANIAGU 2001
ISBN: 9780761917885
Publication Date: 2000-11-21
This book provides mental health professionals with materials to practice the application of cross-cultural variations on standard diagnostic guidelines. Clinical case examples illustrate the cross-cultural variations applicable in the assessment, diagnosis and treatment of clients from four major cultural groups: African Americans, American Indians, Asians, and Hispanics.
Gender Dimensions of Alcohol Consumption and Alcohol-Related Problems in Latin America and the Caribbean by Hnin Hnin Pyne; Mariam Claeson; Maria Correia
Call Number: 362.2922098 PYNE-H 2002
ISBN: 9780821351253
Publication Date: 2002-01-31
In this book the World Bank includes gender in its study of alcohol consumption and production. The instances of death, disease, and domestic violence, in Latin America and the Caribbean from alcoholism were tracked. This study recommends an approach to dealing with the damage done by alcohol consumption and production that goes beyond controlling its' availability.
The Handbook of International Psychology by Danny Wedding (Editor); Michael J. Stevens (Editor)
Call Number: 150.9 HANDBOO 2004i
ISBN: 9780415946124
Publication Date: 2004-07-28
"Destined to be the benchmark in international psychology texts, this volume provides a comprehensive understanding of the discipline of psychology as it has evolved in different regions of the world, in hopes of advancing Western psychology from its individually based, parochial, and ethnocentric paradigm toward one that takes into account the many interlaced contextual variables that affect human behavior."
Healing Traditions: the mental health of aboriginal peoples in Canada by Laurence J. Kirmayer (Editor); Gail Guthrie Valaskakis (Editor)
Call Number: 362.208997 HEALING 2009t
ISBN: 9780774815246
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
Aboriginal peoples in Canada have diverse cultures but share common social and political challenges that have contributed to their experiences of health and illness. This collection addresses the origins of mental health and social problems and the emergence of culturally responsive approaches to services and health promotion. Healing Traditions is a resource for thinking critically about current issues in the mental health of indigenous peoples.
Health Related Counseling with Families of Diverse Cultures: family, health, and cultural competencies by Ruth P. Cox
Call Number: 362.104256 COX-R 2003
ISBN: 9780313314773
Publication Date: 2003-02-28
This volume focuses on the necessity of family health counseling in providing effective, efficient health care in our technologically advanced, diverse, and complex society. Clinicians must have a broad understanding of all factors that affect individuals and families at all levels to provide culturally competent, collaborative care. Theoretical framework/paradigms are presented that guide clinical practice.
International Handbook of Psychiatry: a concise guide for medical students, residents, and medical practitioners by Laura Weiss Roberts (Editor); Richard Balon (Editor); Joseph B. Layde (Editor)
ISBN: 9814405612
Publication Date: 2013-03-22
This handbook is a concise guide to important topics in psychiatry with an international focus. It is a précis of the field of psychiatry with emphases on the therapeutic approach to the patient and on the proper diagnosis of major psychiatric disorders. Treatment options for psychiatric disorders include approaches used in developed nations in North America, Europe, Asia, as well as in the developing world.
Medicalizing Ethnicity: the construction of Latino identity in a psychiatric setting by Vilma Santiago-Irizarry
Call Number: 362.208968 SANTIAG 2001
ISBN: 9780801438219
Publication Date: 2001-08-02
In Medicalizing Ethnicity, Vilma Santiago-Irizarry shows how commendable intentions can produce unintended consequences. Interpreting mental health care through the framework of culture and politics has potent effects on the understanding of "normality" toward which such care aspires.
Mental Health, Race and Culture by Suman Fernando; Jo Campling (Editor)
Call Number: 616.89 FERNARD 2002
ISBN: 0333960262
Publication Date: 2002-01-05
This text offers a unique analysis of the impact of race and culture on contemporary issues in mental health. Covering both theoretical perspectives and practical implications, this insightful text discusses perceptions of ethnicity and identity, compares practices around the world and looks at racism in mental health services.
Mental Health Policy and Practice Across Europe: the future direction of mental health care by Martin Knapp; David McDaid; Elias Mossialos; Graham Thornicroft
Call Number: 362.2094 MENTAL 2007h
ISBN: 9780335214686
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
This book maps the current state of policy, service provision and funding for mental health care across Europe, taking into account the differing historical contexts that have shaped both the development and delivery of services.
Mental Health Services for Minority Ethnic Children and Adolescents by Carol Joughin (Editor); Mhemooda Malek (Editor)
Call Number: 362.208309 MENTAL 2004h
ISBN: 1843102366
Publication Date: 2004-03-15
Bringing together current research on mental health services for children from minority ethnic backgrounds, this much-needed resource provides guidance for both practice and policy. Written for professionals, and parents, these accessible, evidence-based resources are essential reading for anyone seeking to understand and promote children and young people's mental health.
Of Spirits and Madness: an American psychiatrist in Africa by Paul R. Linde
Call Number: 616.8900968 LINDE 2002
ISBN: 9780071367349
Publication Date: 2001-08-28
Of Spirits and Madness takes us on an adventure into medicine and the mind. With sensitivity, good humor, and growing insight, Linde tells the stories of his patients, their demons, and their difficulties.
Pathologies of the West: an anthropology of mental illness in Europe and America by Roland Littlewood
Call Number: 616.89 LITTLEW 2002
ISBN: 9780826458155
Publication Date: 2002-03-01
Pathologies of the West is simultaneously an original approach to psychiatric illness in its international perspective and an introduction to recent developments in the social anthropology of medicine. It examines critically the relevance of phenomenological, structural, and ethological approaches to understanding extreme personal experience. Littlewood argues that anthropology must not simply provide a cultural alternative to sociological critiques of medicine―psychiatry itself should take into account the ways in which cultural values are acted out by individuals.
Plural Medical Systems in the Horn of Africa: the Legacy of "Sheikh" Hippocrates by Slikkerveer
Call Number: 362.109677 SLIKKER 1990
ISBN: 9780710302038
Publication Date: 1990-01-05
A socio-historical approach is used to explore the complex development of African, Greaco-Arabic, and European medical traditions in the multi-ethnic community of Babile in the Eastern Highlands of Ethiopia. It is in this historical conteact that we learn of the link between the Arabic healing tradition in Babile and the medical traditions attributed to 'Sheikh' Hippocrates.
Policies and Practices for Mental Health in Europe: meeting the challenges by WHO Regional Office for Europe
Call Number: 362.2 POLICIE 2008m
ISBN: 9789289042796
Publication Date: 2008-12-18
This WHO report, co-funded by the European Commission, gives an overview of policies and practices for mental health in 42 Member States of the European Region. Over 150 figures and tables in the report demonstrate the diversity across the European Region, and allow country to country comparisons of indicators such as numbers of psychiatrists, financing, community services, training of the workforce, the prescription of anti-depressants and representation of users and carers
Transcultural Health Care: a culturally competent approach by Larry D. Purnell
Call Number: 362.1089 TRANSCU 2013h
ISBN: 9780803637054
Publication Date: 2012-09-18
Noted researchers, educators, and clinicians from a wealth of backgrounds use the Purnell twelve-step model to examine 33 population groups (arranged alphabetically) from a health care perspective. Each brings a personal understanding of the traditions and customs of their societies, providing a unique perspective on the implications for patient care.