Tips for finding magazine articles on topics related to Industrial Arts.
Learn to cite articles by clicking on the "Using APA" tab above.
If you're not sure what you need, or how to begin, come in to the RTC Library, call us at (425) 235-2331, or email us at librarian@RTC.edu. We'll be glad to help.
Three RTC Subscription Databases Offering Millions of Journal and Magazine Articles
ProQuest - journal and magazine articles on all subjects.
CINAHL with Full Text - journal articles on medicine and health.
eLibrary - magazine and newspaper articles and books.
Other databases with journal and magazine articles include: SIRS Discoverer and History Study Center. The library also carries nearly 200 paper journals and magazines. Check our catalog to find those.
The non-subscription (free) Directory of Open Access Journals offers links to many free online journals.
These databases can be found on the RTC Library Database Page at: http://rtc.edu/node/1519
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Searching ProQuest
Searching ProQuest Quick Start:
Go to the RTC Library Database Page
Click on “ProQuest”.
If you want to limit your search to only databases specializing in certain subjects like health or literature, click the subject where it says "Search Subject Areas".
Type your terms into the search box. (See image below.)
Select Scholarly Journals if the article must be from a journal. Select Peer-reviewed if you want research articles.
Click on the search button. It looks like a magnifying glass.
ProQuest Search Screen
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Searching CINAHL with Full Text
Video on Searching CINAHL with Full Text
Searching CINAHL Quick Start:
Go to the RTC Library Database Page.
Click on “CINAHL with Full Text”.
Type your terms into the search boxes.
Select which fields you want CINAHL to search
Select your limits below the search boxes (not shown)
Click on the Search button.
CINAHL Search Screen
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Searching eLibrary
Searching eLibrary Quick Start:
Go to the RTC Library Database Page.
Click on “eLibrary”.
Type your terms into the search box.
Uncheck the boxes of any format you don't want, in the list below the search box.
Click on the search button.
eLibrary Search Screen
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Searching Directory of Open Access Journals
Searching DOAJ Quick Start
Go to the DOAJ search link:
Choose to search for a journal title or an article, and type your search terms in the correct box.
Review your results.
DOAJ Search Screen
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Can't Find the Full Text of Your Article in the Database?
We can get the full text of articles from other libraries for your class-related use. Remember to request your article early, because it can take a few weeks to obtain it. (Interlibrary Loan is also available for books.)