Home - English 101 - Research or Argument Essay Assignment - LibGuides at Renton Technical College

RTC Library Online Catalog

To access the RTC Library's online catalog, go to the library's home page at http://www.rtc.edu/library and click on the Library Catalog link. The online catalog lists all the books, DVDs and other materials owned by the RTC Library. Please ask the librarian for help if you can't find what you are looking for.

Library Materials that Can Be Checked Out

10,000 Ideas for Term Papers, Projects, Reports and Speeches by Kathryn Lamm
Call Number: 808.02 LAMM-K 1995
ISBN: 9780028605609
Publication Date: 1995
MLA Handbook (8th edition) by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: 808.02 MLA-HAN 2016w
ISBN: 1603292624
Publication Date: 2016
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th edition) by Joseph Gibaldi; Modern Language Association of America Staff
Call Number: 808.02 MLA-HAN 2009w
ISBN: 1603290249
Publication Date: 2009

Pro/Con Book Series on Various Topics

Go to RTC Library home page at http://www.rtc.edu/library

Click on Library Catalog link

Search for these series titles:

At Issue
Compact Research
Current Controversies
Ideas in Conflict
Information Plus
Issues in Focus
Library in a Book
Opposing Viewpoints
Point/Counterpoint
Pro/Con

These books can be checked out of the Library. If you need help finding them, ask any of the librarians!

Citation: A (Very) Brief Introduction - Video from the NCSU Libraries

Library Online Subscription Databases and Resources

Community College eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's collection of over 50,000 non-fiction e-books on a variety of topics that would be found in a typical community or technical college library.
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles from books, magazines, journals, newspapers and other resources on a wide variety of topics.
NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
Use this online resource to create MLA-style bibliographies. Click on Log In button from a computer connected to the RTC network. Then register for an account or sign in with your personal ID and password. After you register for an account the first time, then you do not have to use a computer connected to the RTC network.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
RTC Library's biggest and most-used database. Contains articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers on a wide variety of topics.
SIRS Discoverer This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from magazines and other resources. Much smaller database than ProQuest but articles are easier to read and understand.

Websites with Info about Various Topics

Debatabase: a World of Great Debates
From by International Debate Education Association. Topics searchable by keyword or by browsing by debate themes.
Every CRS Report
"We’re publishing reports by Congress’s think tank, the Congressional Research Service, which provides valuable insight and non-partisan analysis of issues of public debate. These reports are already available to the well-connected — we’re making them available to everyone for free."
Google Advanced Search
Use the Advanced Search feature in Google for better results than in Basic Search.
Google Books
"Search the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books."
Google Scholar
Articles from scholarly publications.
ProCon.org
Need to write an issues paper? Read arguments for and against such controversial topics as lowering the drinking age, standardized tests, euthanasia, violent video games and more. This is one of the leading free sources for pros and cons on various current issues.

MLA Citation Format

CrossRef.org
Free DOI (Digital Object Identifier) lookup site.
DOI Resolver
Type or paste a DOI (Digital Object Identified) name into the text box. Click Go. Your browser will take you to a Web page (URL) associated with that DOI name. DOIs are used in creating citations.
MLA 7th Edition Format
From EasyBib.
MLA 8th Edition Format
From EasyBib.
MLA Citation Style
From the University of Washington Libraries.
MLA Style
From the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL).
MLA Style Center
Free online companion to MLA Handbook.
NoodleTools Express - MLA
Creates one MLA citation at a time which can be copied and pasted into your document. Free.

Media Librarian

Laura Staley

English 101 - Research or Argument Essay Assignment: Home

Research or Argument Essay Assignment