It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Library Materials: July 2017
Keep up to date on what the Library is adding to the collections
The Family Handyman’s 100 Things Every Homeowner Must Know gives you the knowledge you need to be a better homeowner. You’ll make informed decisions, avoid frustrations and save thousands over the life of your home. The Family Handyman’s 100 Things Every Homeowner Must Know gives you the knowledge you need to be a better homeowner. You’ll make informed decisions, avoid frustrations and save thousands over the life of your home.
When something breaks in your house, finding and hiring an expensive repairman shouldn't be the only option for homeowners. Next time your faucet springs a leak or that bedroom doorknob punches a hole in your drywall, fix it yourself with help from The Complete Photo Guide to Home Repair: a one-volume encyclopedia of do-it-yourself fixes that will save you money, time, and frustration. With 350 projects offering clear instructions and over 2,000 photos to guide you through common repairs, The Complete Photo Guide to Home Repair is your one-stop DIY manual. Formatted in a compact size and arranged by general subject matter, this comprehensive book includes directions for repairing the primary trouble spots: plumbing, wiring, windows and doors, flooring, furnaces, water heaters, wall coverings, and more. You'll find lists of necessary tools as well as expert tips.
Akin to Monty Roberts's The Man Who Listens to Horses and going light-years beyond The Hidden Life of Dogs, this extraordinary book takes a radical new direction in understanding our life with canines and offers us astonishing new lessons about our pets. From changing the misbehaviors and habits that upset us, to seeing the world from their unique and natural perspective, to finding a deep connection with another being, BONES WOULD RAIN FROM THE SKY will help you receive an incomparable gift: a profound, lifelong relationship with the dog you love.
A gang of thieves stage a daring heist from a secure vault deep below Princeton University’s Firestone Library. Their loot is priceless, but Princeton has insured it for twenty-five million dollars. Bruce Cable owns a popular bookstore in the sleepy resort town of Santa Rosa on Camino Island in Florida. He makes his real money, though, as a prominent dealer in rare books. Very few people know that he occasionally dabbles in the black market of stolen books and manuscripts. Mercer Mann is a young novelist with a severe case of writer’s block who has recently been laid off from her teaching position. She is approached by an elegant, mysterious woman working for an even more mysterious company. A generous offer of money convinces Mercer to go undercover and infiltrate Bruce Cable’s circle of literary friends, ideally getting close enough to him to learn his secrets. But eventually Mercer learns far too much, and there’s trouble in paradise as only John Grisham can deliver it.
In Caring—now updated with a new preface and afterword reflecting on the ongoing relevance of the subject matter—the author provides a wide-ranging consideration of whether organizations, which operate at a remove from the caring relationship, can truly be called ethical. She discusses the extent to which we may truly care for plants, animals, or ideas. Finally, she proposes a realignment of education to encourage and reward not just rationality and trained intelligence, but also enhanced sensitivity in moral matters.
Catering: A Guide to Managing a Successful Business Operation, Second Edition provides the reader with the tools to fully understand the challenges and benefits of running a successful catering business. Catering was written as an easy-to-follow guide using a simple step-by-step format and provides comprehensive coverage of all types of catering. This is a significant contrast to other texts which are geared to a specific segment of catering such as on-premise, off-premise, or corporate dining. The graduate who decides to enter into catering will be charged with providing the “restaurant” experience to their clients and optimizing profits for their employer. Catering will assist them in achieving these goals.
• Over 3,000 photos and illustrations to make complex projects and repairs easy to understand
• Twice as many storage projects that help home owners cut clutter
• New building materials that yield great-looking, long-lasting results—and low maintenance!
• New technology that lets homeowners save energy, add convenience or improve security.
• New building codes that make homes safer, more energy-efficient and trouble-free.
The book’s tried-and-true instructions provide do-it-yourself solutions to a ton of problems that could cost a fortune if you had to hire a professional. This manual is a “must-have” reference guide for every home-owning man or woman.
Expert step-by-step instruction and detailed illustrations. The Compete Visual Guide to Building a House combines the expertise of builder-author John Carroll with over 1,200 full-color drawings by illustrator Chuck Lockhart. Finally, a step-by-step guide that provides a complete course in residential carpentry and construction from two pros who, together, have over 65 years of experience in the building trades. Eliminate guesswork and avoid costly missteps. Building a house is a complex and challenging undertaking that requires knowing what needs to be done at every critical step – and that’s exactly what you will find in The Complete Visual Guide to Building a House. With this guide in hand, you’ll be armed with the right information and clear illustrations whenever you need them.
Professional journalist and amateur drinker Bianca Bosker didn’t know much about wine—until she discovered an alternate universe where taste reigns supreme, a world of elite sommeliers who dedicate their lives to the pursuit of flavor. Astounded by their fervor and seemingly superhuman sensory powers, she set out to uncover what drove their obsession, and whether she, too, could become a “cork dork.” With boundless curiosity, humor, and a healthy dose of skepticism, Bosker takes the reader inside underground tasting groups, exclusive New York City restaurants, California mass-market wine factories, and even a neuroscientist’s fMRI machine as she attempts to answer the most nagging question of all: what’s the big deal about wine? What she learns will change the way you drink wine—and, perhaps, the way you live—forever.
This updated edition of the bestseller continues to explain the need for candid, courageous conversations about race so that educators may understand why achievement inequality persists and learn how they can develop a curriculum that promotes true educational equity and excellence.
Billie Breslin has traveled far from her home in California to take a job at Delicious!, New York’s most iconic food magazine. Away from her family, particularly her older sister, Genie, Billie feels like a fish out of water—until she is welcomed by the magazine’s colorful staff. She is also seduced by the vibrant downtown food scene, especially by Fontanari’s, the famous Italian food shop where she works on weekends. Then Delicious! is abruptly shut down, but Billie agrees to stay on in the empty office, maintaining the hotline for reader complaints in order to pay her bills. To Billie’s surprise, the lonely job becomes the portal to a miraculous discovery. In a hidden room in the magazine’s library, Billie finds a cache of letters written during World War II by Lulu Swan, a plucky twelve-year-old, to the legendary chef James Beard. Lulu’s letters provide Billie with a richer understanding of history, and a feeling of deep connection to the young writer whose courage in the face of hardship inspires Billie to comes to terms with her fears, her big sister and her ability to open her heart to love.
This groundbreaking volume brings together major figures in Disability Studies in Education (DSE) and Critical Race Theory (CRT) to explore some of today's most important issues in education. Scholars examine the achievement/opportunity gaps from both historical and contemporary perspectives, as well as the overrepresentation of minority students in special education and the school-to-prison pipeline. Chapters also address school reform and the impact on students based on race, class, and dis/ability and the capacity of law and policy to include (and exclude). Readers will discover how some students are included (and excluded) within schools and society, why some citizens are afforded expanded (or limited) opportunities in life, and who moves up in the world and who is trapped at the ''bottom of the well.''
Breastfeeding is the natural and healthy way to nourish your baby, yet it's not always easy. New mothers need practical information about getting off to a good start and solving breastfeeding challenges. Health professionals need this information too, because it is rarely taught in medical school. Dr. Jack Newman's Guide to Breastfeeding covers the most common problems and questions that mothers encounter: - How do I help my baby to get a good latch - How can I know if my baby is getting enough milk - How can I help him get more? - Can I avoid sore nipples? - Will my medication affect my baby? - How do I fit breastfeeding into my life when I'm so busy? The answers are here. Dr. Jack Newman and Teresa Pitman are two of the world's foremost lactation experts and have helped tens of thousands of new mothers find solutions that work. In this comprehensive guide, they share the most current information about breastfeeding and provide new, effective strategies and solutions to make breastfeeding work for you.
Desegregation has failed. Schools filled with black and brown students have become plantations of social control, where the policing of behavior trumps the expanding of minds. Radical teachers and organizers in American public schools must help young people fashion an insurgency. That means, at the very least, seeing each student’s rebellion not as violation, but as communication. Jay Gillen writes with passion and compassion about the daily lives of poor students trapped in institutions that dismiss and degrade them. In the spirit of Paulo Freire, and using the historical models of slave rebellions and Civil Rights struggles as guides, Gillen explains what sort of insurgency is needed and how to create it: the tools and techniques required to build social, intellectual, and political power.
While we are all familiar with the lives of prominent Black civil rights leaders, few of us have a sense of what is entailed in developing a White anti-racist identity. Few of us can name the White activists who joined the struggle against discrimination, let alone understand the complexities, stresses and contradictions of doing this work while benefiting from the privileges they enjoyed as Whites. This book fills that gap by vividly presenting – in their own words – the personal stories, experiences and reflections of fifteen prominent White anti-racists. They recount the circumstances that led them to undertake this work, describe key moments and insights along their journeys, and frankly admit their continuing lapses and mistakes. They make it clear that confronting oppression (including their own prejudices) – whether about race, sexual orientation, ability or other differences – is a lifelong process of learning. The chapters in this book are full of inspirational and lesson-rich stories about the expanding awareness of White social justice advocates and activists who grappled with their White privilege and their early socialization and decided to work against structural injustice and personal prejudice. The authors are also self-critical, questioning their motivations and commitments, and acknowledging that – as Whites and possessors of other privileged identities – they continue to benefit from White privilege even as they work against it. This is an eye-opening book for anyone who wants to understand what it means to be White and the reality of what is involved in becoming a White anti-racist and social justice advocate; is interested in the paths taken by those who have gone before; and wants to engage reflectively and critically in this difficult and important work.
Train your dog yourself with this humane and scientifically-based training program. Covers basic skills including: Sit, Down, Heel, Come, etc. and troubleshoots common training and behavior challenges.
Every college and university has a story, and no one tells those stories like former New York Times education editor Edward B. Fiske. That's why, for more than 30 years, the Fiske Guide to Colleges has been the leading guide to 320+ four• year schools, including quotes from real students and information you won't find on college websites. Fully updated and expanded every year, Fiske is the most authoritative source of information for college-bound students and their parents. Helpful, honest, and straightforward, the Fiske Guide to Colleges delivers an insider's look at what it's really like to be a student at the "best and most interesting" schools in the United States, plus Canada, Great Britain, and Ireland ― so you can find the best fits for you.
In the past 30 years, childhood obesity has more than doubled in children and quadrupled in adolescents. Obese youth are more likely to have cardiovascular disease, high cholesterol, high blood pressure, and diabetes. On the emotional front, things are even worse. The plight of overweight children and their families is devastating, and something must be done to stop this downward spiral. Spurred to action after hearing countless stories from overweight kids who were bullied and shamed on a daily basis, weight loss authority, Jon Gabriel, along with pediatric obesity specialist, Patrica A. Ronald Riba, MD, partnered to write an extremely timely new book: Fit Kids Revolution: The Parent's Diet-Free Guide to Raising Healthy Children. No restrictive meal plans, no extreme exercise routines, no guilt, and no more shame. This book teaches parents to take a "whole child," holistic approach to feeding and nurturing their kids from the inside out.
Make way for Mighty Salads, in which the editors of Food52 present sixty salads hefty with vegetables, meats, grains, beans, fish, seafood, pasta, and bread. Think shrimp and radicchio tossed in a bacon vinaigrette, a make-ahead jumble of white beans with charred lemon and fennel, slow-roasted duck and apples scattered across spicy greens. It’s comforting food made captivating by simply charring one ingredient or marinating another—shaving some, or roasting a bunch.
Food, Love, Family: A Practical Guide to Child Nutrition explores the many facets of healthy eating for families around the world. The book summarizes the latest scientific findings and medical recommendations while providing practical tips and real-life examples of how to make wise food choices with the available resources. Readers learn about the nutrients needed to support growth and how to prepare simple, healthy foods that are appealing to children. With a foreword by Jamie Oliver, the chapters discuss infant feeding, the introduction of solid food to babies, and how parents and caregivers can teach children to love foods that will help them thrive. The guide also discusses school lunches around the world and the role of the family meal. Readers become aware of the impact of food marketing on children, how to manage food allergies, childhood obesity, the growing concern over environmental sustainability in food production, and the importance of prenatal nutrition.
After the trailblazing film Forks Over Knives helped spark a medical and nutritional revolution, more and more people continue to adopt a whole-food, plant-based lifestyle. Now, Doctors Alona Pulde and Matthew Lederman share those same values for the entire family. Filled with more than 125 quick and easy recipes, helpful tips, and the latest in scientific findings, The Forks Over Knives Family teaches you why whole food, plant-based eating is the best way to keep your family healthy and well-nourished. With a comprehensive look at every stage of a child’s development, the Forks Over Knives team will help get kids on track to a sustainable, whole foods lifestyle. Beginning with pregnancy, through birth and childhood, and continuing into the teenage years, this guide tackles all the most important topics to keep your children healthy, from dealing with allergies to traveling to sleepovers. The book addresses major obstacles and parenting concerns such as: Are supplements and vitamins necessary? Is my kid eating enough? How can we transition to plant-based living with a house full of kids? What about birthday parties and play dates? With easy-to-understand tips and tricks for a clean, sustainable lifestyle, The Forks Over Knives Family is the in-depth, go-to guide for the whole household to have healthier, more nutritious lives.
Shapiro, the creator of EMDR (Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing), explains how our personalities develop and why we become trapped into feeling, believing and acting in ways that don't serve us. Through detailed examples and exercises readers will learn to understand themselves, and why the people in their lives act the way they do. Most importantly, readers will also learn techniques to improve their relationships, break through emotional barriers, overcome limitations and excel in ways taught to Olympic athletes, successful executives and performers. An easy conversational style, humor and fascinating real life stories make it simple to understand the brain science, why we get stuck in various ways and what to do about it. Don't let yourself be run by unconscious and automatic reactions. Read the reviews below from award winners, researchers, academics and best selling authors to learn how to take control of your life.
The Anchor Hocking Glass Company, once the world’s largest maker of glass tableware, was the base on which Lancaster’s society was built. As Glass House unfolds, bankruptcy looms. With access to the company and its leaders, and Lancaster’s citizens, Alexander shows how financial engineering took hold in the 1980s, accelerated in the 21st Century, and wrecked the company. We follow CEO Sam Solomon, an African-American leading the nearly all-white town’s biggest private employer, as he tries to rescue the company from the New York private equity firm that hired him. Meanwhile, Alexander goes behind the scenes, entwined with the lives of residents as they wrestle with heroin, politics, high-interest lenders, low wage jobs, technology, and the new demands of American life: people like Brian Gossett, the fourth generation to work at Anchor Hocking; Joe Piccolo, first-time director of the annual music festival who discovers the town relies on him, and it, for salvation; Jason Roach, who police believed may have been Lancaster’s biggest drug dealer; and Eric Brown, a local football hero-turned-cop who comes to realize that he can never arrest Lancaster’s real problems.
HEALTH, SAFETY, AND NUTRITION FOR THE YOUNG CHILD, 8th Edition, covers the contemporary health, safety, and nutrition needs of infant through school-age children in one comprehensive volume, with extensive coverage of topics critical to the early identification of children's health conditions and the promotion of children's well-being. Concepts are backed by the latest research findings and linked to the key professional standards of the field. Collaboration with families, sensitivity to individual differences, and the critical importance of health, safety, and nutrition education continue to be stressed. Written in a clear, concise, and thought-provoking manner, this time-proven book is filled with easy-to-access checklists, guidelines, and lesson plans that no early childhood student or professional should be without!
Just before dawn on a Sunday morning, three teenage boys go surfing. While driving home exhausted, the boys are involved in a fatal car accident on a deserted road. Two of the boys are wearing seat belts; one goes through the windshield. The doctors declare him brain-dead shortly after arriving at the hospital, but his heart is still beating. The Heart takes place over the twenty-four hours surrounding the resulting heart transplant, as life is taken from a young man and given to a woman close to death. In gorgeous, ruminative prose, it examines the deepest feelings of everyone involved as they navigate decisions of life and death.
HIPAA FOR HEALTH CARE PROFESSIONALS, 2nd Edition, clearly explains the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act, including fundamentals, privacy, security, and common myths. This updated edition also shows you where and how HIPAA affects health care and insurance through modifications to other related laws. Offered in an easy-to-follow format, the text includes examples, real-life scenarios, and optional interactive features to help you better understand important concepts, test that understanding, and prepare you for a rewarding career in health care.
Build your own winery! Learn how to set up a home winery and construct all the basic equipment for just a fraction of what commercially manufactured products would cost. Leading you through the entire winemaking process, Steve Hughes includes building plans and step-by-step instructions for making more than 30 essential winemaking tools. From fashioning presses and pumps to the best way to fill and cork bottles, The Homebuilt Winery covers everything you need to know to affordably enjoy delicious, high-quality homemade wine.
The Monks of New Skete have achieved international renown as breeders of German shepherds and as outstanding trainers of dogs of all breeds. Their unique approach to canine training, developed and refined over four decades, is based on the philosophy that "understanding is the key to communication, compassion, and communion" with your dog. In its scope, its clarity, and its authority, How to Be Your Dog's Best Friend remains unrivaled as a basic training guide for dog owners. Like no other book, this guide can help you understand and appreciate your dog's nature as well as his or her distinct personality--and in so doing, it can significantly enrich the life you share with your dog.
How Your House Works, Second Edition reinforces the fact that it pays to be an informed consumer. Knowledge of your home's systems helps you control repair and construction costs and makes sure the correct elements are being installed or replaced. How Your House Works uncovers the mysteries behind just about every major appliance and building element in your house. Clear, full-color drawings show you exactly how these things should be put together and how they function, including what to check if they don't work. Covering topics such as electrical systems, heating and air conditioning, plumbing, major household appliances, foundation, framing, doors, and windows, this updated Second Edition has considerable additional information, with new chapters related to sustainability in and outside the house, as well as new topics, including clock thermostats, ventless gas heaters, moisture and mold, and passive solar heating.
To compose his stunning documentary film I Am Not Your Negro, acclaimed filmmaker Raoul Peck mined James Baldwin’s published and unpublished oeuvre, selecting passages from his books, essays, letters, notes, and interviews that are every bit as incisive and pertinent now as they have ever been. Weaving these texts together, Peck brilliantly imagines the book that Baldwin never wrote. In his final years, Baldwin had envisioned a book about his three assassinated friends, Medgar Evers, Malcolm X, and Martin Luther King. His deeply personal notes for the project have never been published before. Peck’s film uses them to jump through time, juxtaposing Baldwin’s private words with his public statements, in a blazing examination of the tragic history of race in America.
In Kingdom of Olives and Ash, Michael Chabon and Ayelet Waldman, two of today's most renowned novelists and essayists, have teamed up with the Israeli NGO Breaking the Silence—an organization comprised of former Israeli soldiers who served in the occupied territories and saw firsthand the injustice there—and a host of illustrious writers to tell the stories of the people on the ground in the contested territories. Kingdom of Olives and Ash includes contributions from several of today’s most esteemed storytellers including: Colum McCann, Jacqueline Woodson, Colm Toibin, Geraldine Brooks, Dave Eggers, Hari Kunzru, Raja Shehadeh, Mario Vargas Llosa and Assaf Gavron, as well as from editors Chabon and Waldman. Through these incisive, perceptive, and poignant essays, readers will gain unique insight into the narratives behind the litany of grim destruction broadcasted nightly on the news, as well as deeper understanding of the conflict as experienced by the people who live in the occupied territories. Together, these stories stand witness to the human cost of the occupation.
In this brilliantly researched book, Boser maps out the new science of learning, showing how simple techniques like comprehension check-ins and making material personally relatable can help people gain expertise in dramatically better ways. He covers six key steps to help you “learn how to learn,” all illuminated with fascinating stories like how Jackson Pollock developed his unique painting style and why an ancient Japanese counting device allows kids to do math at superhuman speeds. Boser’s witty, engaging writing makes this book feel like a guilty pleasure, not homework. Learn Better will revolutionize the way students and society alike approach learning and makes the case that being smart is not an innate ability―learning is a skill everyone can master. With Boser as your guide, you will be able to fully capitalize on your brain’s remarkable ability to gain new skills and open up a whole new world of possibilities.
As a small business owner, you can’t afford to farm paperwork and contracts out to a lawyer―you have to deal with them yourself. With Legal Forms for Starting & Running a Small Business, you can act with confidence.
Here you’ll find the forms you need to start and grow your business. Each document comes with thorough, plain-English, line-by-line instructions to help you:
*record minutes of meetings
*hire employees and consultants
*borrow or lend money
*protect your trade secrets
*buy a business
*create non-compete agreements
*lease commercial space
*prepare corporate bylaws
*buy real estate, and
*prepare an LLC operating
Loaded with useful information, including the best way to cook and sauce pasta, suggestions for substituting pasta shapes, and advance preparation and storage notes, Mastering Pasta offers you all of the wisdom of a pro. For cooks who want to take their knowledge to the next level, Vetri delves deep into the science of various types of flour to explain pasta’s uniquely satisfying texture and how to craft the very best pasta by hand or with a machine. Mastering Pasta is the definitive work on the subject and the only book you will ever need to serve outstanding pasta dishes in your own kitchen.
MATH FOR THE AUTOMOTIVE TRADE, 5E is an up-to-date, highly practical book that helps readers develop a real-world understanding of math concepts and applications in the modern automotive repair trade. Written at a beginner's level, this book is a comprehensive instructional workbook that shows readers how to solve the types of math problems faced regularly by automotive technicians. Unique to MATH FOR THE AUTOMOTIVE TRADE, 5E are realistic practice exercises that allow readers to determine if their answers fall within manufacturers' specifications and repair orders that are completed by finding the appropriate information in the professional literature and reference material, included in the book's valuable appendices.
Ideal for students and working professionals, Math for the Professional Kitchen explains all the essential mathematical skills needed to run a successful, profitable operation. From scaling recipes and converting units of measure, to costing ingredients and setting menu prices, it covers crucial information that will benefit every foodservice provider. Written by three veteran math instructors from The Culinary Institute of America, the book utilizes a teaching methodology based on daily in-classroom practice. The entirety of the standard culinary math curriculum is covered, including conversions, determining yields, purchasing, portioning, and more.
How do categories of people come to be seen as “different”? How does being “different” affect people’s lives? What does difference mean at the level of the individual, social institutions, or society? What difference does “difference” make? The Meaning of Difference offers a conceptual structure and up-to-date readings on the differences distinctive to American life―differences of race and ethnicity, sex and gender, social class, sexuality, and disability.
This workbook offers a step-by-step curriculum of classroom-ready mindfulness lessons for personal and professional development. It’s a trove of fun, easy activities specially designed to help educators engage K-12 students and cultivate mindful attributes like attention, compassion, and well-being. Rich with simple and effective tips, techniques, worksheets, and guided exercises developed through extensive on-the-ground experience with real students and teachers, The Mindful Education Workbook empowers readers with all the tools they need to integrate mindful education in the school day.
Consciousness: a set of principles that support living a life of empathy, care, courage, and authenticity
Language: understanding how words contribute to connection or distance
Communication: knowing how to ask for what we want, how to hear others even in disagreement, and how to move toward solutions that work for all
Means of influence: sharing “power with others” rather than using “power over others” Nonviolent Communication serves our desire to do three things:
1: Increase our ability to live with choice, meaning, and connection
2: Connect empathically with self and others to have more satisfying relationships
3: Sharing of resources so everyone is able to benefit
For nearly two decades, Off-Premise Catering Management has been the trusted resource professional and aspiring caterers turn to for guidance on setting up and managing a successful off-premise catering business. This comprehensive reference covers every aspect of the caterer's job, from menu planning, pricing, food and beverage service, equipment, and packing, delivery, and set-up logistics, to legal considerations, financial management, human resources, marketing, sanitation and safety, and more. This new third edition has been completely revised and updated to include the latest industry trends and real-life examples.
Celebrated chef Barbara Lynch credits the defiant spirit of her upbringing in tough, poor “Southie,” a neighborhood ruled by the notorious Whitey Bulger gang, with helping her bluff her way into her first professional cooking jobs; develop a distinct culinary style through instinct and sheer moxie; then dare to found an empire of restaurants ranging from a casual but elegant “clam shack” to Boston’s epitome of modern haute cuisine. Out of Line describes Lynch’s remarkable process of self-invention, including her encounters with colorful characters of the food world, and vividly evokes the magic of creation in the kitchen. It is also a love letter to South Boston and its vanishing culture, governed by Irish Catholic mothers and its own code of honor. Through her story, Lynch explores how the past—both what we strive to escape from and what we remain true to—can strengthen and expand who we are.
How mindfulness can help -- Practicing with children in Plum Village -- Cultivating our own mindfulness -- Mindful breathing and listening to the bell -- I am free : meditation -- Strengthening connections to each other and the earth -- Understanding and compassion -- Cooperative games and enjoying nature -- Growing our happiness, embracing our suffering -- A loving classroom : healing difficulties -- Everything is connected, everything continues. "A complete overview of all of Thich Nhat Hanh's practices for children. Planting seeds is full of hand-on activities to help children and adults relieve stress, increase concentration and confidence, deal with difficult emotions, and improve communication. It includes over 30 full-color illustrations and an audio CD with songs and easy to follow practices"
Adolescence can be a time of great stress and turmoil—not only for kids going through it, but for their parents as well. It’s normal for teens to explore a new sense of freedom and to redefine the ways in which they relate to their parents, and that process can sometimes leave parents feeling powerless, alienated, or excluded from their children’s lives. These effects can be magnified even further in this modern age of social networks, cell phones, and constant digital distraction. This newly revised and updated edition of Positive Discipline for Teenagers shows parents how to build stronger bridges of communication with their children, break the destructive cycles of guilt and blame that occur in parent-teen power struggles, and work toward greater mutual respect with their adolescents. At the core of the Positive Discipline approach is the understanding that teens still need their parents, just in different ways—and by better understanding who their teens really are, parents can learn to encourage both their teens and themselves, and instill good judgment without being judgmental. The methods in this book work to build vital social and life skills through encouragement and empowerment—not punishment. Truly effective parenting is about connection before correction.
Over the years millions of parents have used the amazingly effective strategies of Positive Discipline to raise happy, well-behaved, and successful children. Research has shown that the first three years in a child's life are a critical moment in their development, and that behavior patterns instilled during that time can have profound implications for the rest of a child's life. Hundreds of thousands of parents have already used the advice in Positive Discipline: The First Three Years to help set effective boundaries, forge strong foundations for healthy communication, and lay the groundwork for happy and respectful relationships with their young children. Now this classic title has been revised and updated to reflect the latest neuroscientific research and developments in positive discipline parenting techniques.
In this eagerly anticipated guide, Eanes shares her hard-won wisdom for overcoming limiting thought patterns and recognizing emotional triggers, as well as advice for connecting with kids at each stage, from infancy to adolescence. This heartfelt, insightful advice comes not from an "expert," but from a learning, evolving parent. Filled with practical, solution-oriented advice, this is an empowering guide for any parent who longs to end the yelling, power struggles, and downward spiral of acting out, punishment, resentment, and shame--and instead foster an emotional connection that helps kids learn self-discipline, feel confident, and create lasting, loving bonds.
The ups and downs of potty training your little one can drive you crazy and make you feel clueless. No one knows this better than Brandi Brucks, former nanny turned potty training consultant and behavioral specialist, who shares her hard-earned wisdom in Potty Training in 3 Days for you to get the job done. Providing an intensive 3-day plan with clear step-by-step guides that cover everything you need to know and do, Potty Training in 3 Days is your key to ditching diapers without losing your marbles.
Radical in its implications, this original and important work may change forever the views we hold about the nature of learning. In The Power of Mindful Learning, Ellen Langer uses her innovative theory of mindulness, introduced in her influential earlier book, to dramatically enhance the way we learn. In business, sports, laboratories, or at home, our learning is hobbled by certain antiquated and pervasive misconceptions. In this pithy, liberating, and delightful book she gives us a fresh, new view of learning in the broadest sense. Such familiar notions as delayed gratification, ”the basics”, or even ”right answers”, are all incapacitating myths which Langer explodes one by one. She replaces them with her concept of mindful or conditional learning which she demonstrates, with fascinating examples from her research, to be extraordinarily effective. Mindful learning takes place with an awareness of context and of the ever-changing nature of information. Learning without this awareness, as Langer shows convincingly, has severely limited uses and often sets on up for failure.With stunning applications to skills as diverse as paying attention, CPR, investment analysis, psychotherapy, or playing a musical instrument, The Power of Mindful Learning is for all who are curious and intellectually adventurous.
Part 1: Pre-suasion: the frontloading of attention. Pre-suasion: an introduction ; Privileged moments ; The importance of attention ... is importance ; What's focal is causal ; Commanders of attention 1: the attractors ; Commanders of attention 2: the magnetizers -- Part 2: Processes: the role of association. The primacy of associations: I link, therefore I think ; Persuasive geographies: all the right places, all the right traces ; The mechanics of pre-suasion: causes, constraints, and correctives -- Part 3: Best practices : the optimization of pre-suasion. Six main roads to change: broad boulevards as smart shortcuts ; Unity 1: being together ; Unity 2: acting together ; Ethical use: a pre-pre-suasive consideration ; Post-suasion: aftereffects. Examines the art of effective persuasion to argue that its secret lies in a key moment before messages are delivered, sharing strategies for how to psychologically prepare one's listeners to render them most receptive.
From one of the foremost authorities on education in the United States, former U.S. assistant secretary of education, an incisive, comprehensive look at today’s American school system that argues against those who claim it is broken and beyond repair; an impassioned but reasoned call to stop the privatization movement that is draining students and funding from our public schools.
In a chapter-by-chapter breakdown she puts forth a plan for what can be done to preserve and improve our public schools. She makes clear what is right about U.S. education, how policy makers are failing to address the root causes of educational failure, and how we can fix it.
Now any homeowner can successfully navigate the remodeling minefield. You will learn how to identify and select the perfect remodeler for your project, save thousands of dollars in the process, and preserve your sanity too.
Richard O’Connor’s bestselling book Undoing Depression has become a touchstone in the field, helping thousands of therapists and patients overcome depressive patterns. In Rewire, O’Connor expands those ideas, showing how we actually have two brains—a conscious deliberate self and an automatic self that makes most of our decisions—and how we can train the latter to ignore distractions, withstand temptations, and interrupt reflexive, self-sabotaging responses. Rewire gives readers a road–map to overcoming the most common self-destructive habits, including procrastination, excessive worrying, internet addiction, overeating, risk-taking, and self-medication, among others.
Chopped, tossed, shredded, composed—salads are versatile in both form and flavor. They’re an appealing and healthy way to showcase favorite seasonal produce. From light starters to protein-rich main course salads to palate–cleansing accompaniments, these much-loved adaptable dishes can play a delicious role in virtually every lunch or dinner, every day of the year. This is a revised and revamped edition of Williams-Sonoma Salad of the Day—the bestselling 2012 title, including new images and over 90 new recipes.
The Small Business Start-Up Kit shows you how to set up a small business in your state, quickly and efficiently clearing state and local bureaucratic hurdles along the way.
We’ll show you how to:
• choose between an LLC and other business structures
• write an effective business plan
• pick a winning business name and protect it
• hire and manage staff
• comply with legal and tax issues affecting home businesses
• price, bid, and bill your projects
• manage finances and taxes
• get your website up and running, and
• market your business effectively, online and off.
What will people think if you play Van Morrison at your funeral? When was the last time you listened to Pet Sounds? How does a mandolin solo illustrate or clarify the plight of Eskimos, anyway? In 26 song profiles that are hilarious, nostalgic, and deeply personal, one of our greatest music critics reminds us how much pop songs affect our lives. After all, as Hornby says, “There’s something in us that is beyond the reach of words . . . It’s the best part of us, probably, the richest and strangest part.”
Ideas are the currency of the twenty-first century. In order to succeed, you need to be able to sell your ideas persuasively. This ability is the single greatest skill that will help you accomplish your dreams. Many people have a fear of public speaking or are insecure about their ability to give a successful presentation. Now public speaking coach and bestselling author Carmine Gallo explores what makes a great presentation by examining the widely acclaimed TED Talks, which have redefined the elements of a successful presentation and become the gold standard for public speaking. TED ? which stands for technology, entertainment, and design ? brings together the world's leading thinkers. These are the presentations that set the world on fire, and the techniques that top TED speakers use will make any presentation more dynamic, fire up any team, and give anyone the confidence to overcome their fear of public speaking. In his book, Carmine Gallo has broken down hundreds of TED talks and interviewed the most popular TED presenters, as well as the top researchers in the fields of psychology, communications, and neuroscience to reveal the nine secrets of all successful TED presentations. Gallo's step-by-step method makes it possible for anyone to deliver a presentation that is engaging, persuasive, and memorable.
Failure to discuss race prevents White students from getting a real, critical and deep understanding of our society and their place in it. It is essential for the well-being of all students that they learn to have constructive conversations about the history of race in this country, the impact of racism on different ethnic communities, and how those communities and cultures contribute to society. The need to model for our students how to talk openly and comfortably about race is critical in America today, but it is still an issue that is difficult to tackle. For any teacher grappling with addressing race in the classroom, and for pre-service teachers confronting their anxieties about race, this book offers a rich resource of insights, approaches and guidance that will allay fears, and provide the reflective practitioner with the confidence to initiate and respond to discussion of race, from the pre-school and elementary classroom through high school.
Stunning Digital Photography is much more than a book; it's a hands-on, self-paced photography class with over 12 hours of online training videos and free help from the author and other readers. That's why award-winning author and photographer Tony Northrup's book is the #1 photography e-book with over 100,000 readers.
Making a cake and decorating it beautifully for a special occasion deserves a round of applause, and with The Ultimate Guide to Sugarcraft, the praise will keep on coming! This book is divided into two parts, with each section comprised of a set of 20 lessons. Part One teaches how to make perfect cakes, icings and frostings, as well as master ribbon work, frills, collars, lettering, modeling and piped decorations. It is the ideal foundation for people who have never decorated a cake before—and an excellent refresher for those who already have some basic skills. Part Two builds on that foundation, teaching the intricate skills of tube and brush embroidery, lace, fondant, figure modeling, sugar-flower sprays, bas relief, pastillage and filigree. Packed with ideas, each one illustrated with color photographs and accompanied by step-by-step instructions, this inspirational guide is written by six internationally acclaimed sugercraft artists, each one chosen for their expertise in a particular field of sugarcraft. This is the most comprehensive sugarcraft and cake decorating book ever published. This cake decorating guide contains over 70 ideas for cake decorations and designs.
Information on 1.5 million scholarships, grants, and prizes is easily accessible in this revised directory with more than 300 new listings that feature awards indexed by career goal, major, academics, public service, talent, athletics, religion, ethnicity, and more. Each entry contains all the necessary information for students and parents to complete the application process, including eligibility requirements, how to obtain an application, how to get more information about each award, sponsor website listings, award amounts, and key deadlines. With scholarships for high school, college, graduate, and adult students, this guide also includes tips on how to conduct the most effective search, how to write a winning application, and how to avoid scams.
Understanding Narrative Inquiry: The Crafting and Analysis of Stories as Research is a comprehensive, thought-provoking introduction to narrative inquiry in the social and human sciences that guides readers through the entire narrative inquiry process―from locating narrative inquiry in the interdisciplinary context, through the philosophical and theoretical underpinnings, to narrative research design, data collection (excavating stories), data analysis and interpretation, and theorizing narrative meaning. Six extracts from exemplary studies, together with questions for discussion, are provided to show how to put theory into practice. Rich in stories from author Jeong-Hee Kim’s own research endeavors and incorporating chapter-opening vignettes that illustrate a graduate student′s research dilemma, the book not only accompanies readers through the complex process of narrative inquiry with ample examples, but also helps raise their consciousness about what it means to be a qualitative researcher and a narrative inquirer in particular.
This is the first book to focus specifically on Schemas and children under three. The authors trace the development of schemas from motor level through to symbolic representation, and show how to use schema theory to understand young children′s learning and behaviour. The book is aimed at early childhood professionals and practitioners in ECEC settings, as well as those on initial training courses, teacher education, Early Years courses, and higher degrees.
In The Vanishing American Adult, Sasse diagnoses the causes of a generation that can't grow up and offers a path for raising children to become active and engaged citizens. He identifies core formative experiences that all young people should pursue: hard work to appreciate the benefits of labor, travel to understand deprivation and want, the power of reading, the importance of nurturing your body―and explains how parents can encourage them. Our democracy depends on responsible, contributing adults to function properly―without them America falls prey to populist demagogues. A call to arms, The Vanishing American Adult will ignite a much-needed debate about the link between the way we're raising our children and the future of our country.
Packed with new information, the revised edition of this best-selling manual was designed for use by all food service serving staff members. The guide covers all aspects of customer service for the positions of host, waiter or waitress, head waiter, captain, and bus person. Step-by-step instructions cover hosting, seating guests, taking/filling orders, loading/unloading trays, table side service, setting an elegant table, folding napkins, promoting specials, upselling, handling problems, difficult customers, tips and taxes, and handling the check and money.
With attention spans waning and stress on the rise, many teachers are looking for new ways to help students concentrate, learn, and thrive. The Way of Mindful Education is a practical guide for cultivating attention, compassion, and well-being not only in these students, but also in teachers themselves. Packed with lesson plans, exercises, and considerations for specific age groups and students with special needs, this working manual demonstrates the real world application of mindfulness practices in K-12 classrooms. Decades of research indicate the impressive benefits of mindfulness in social, emotional, and cognitive development, and as an antidote to emotional dysregulation, attention deficits, and social difficulties. This book invites teachers, administrators, and anyone else involved in education to take advantage of this vital tool and become purveyors of a mindful, compassionate, ethical, and effective way of teaching.
Navigate Windows 10 quickly, easily, and efficiently
Get online with the sleek new Microsoft Edge web browser
Make the most of the new Cortana personal assistant
Efficiently manage your email, calendar, contacts, and more
Access your files from anywhere with Microsoft OneDrive
Help secure your computer and protect your data
Here’s HOW You’ll Learn It:
Jump in wherever you need answers
Follow easy steps and screenshots to see exactly what to do
Get handy tips for new techniques and shortcuts
Use Try This! exercises to apply what you learn right away
It’s no secret that breastfeeding is the normal, healthy way to nourish and nurture your baby. Dedicated to supporting nursing and expectant mothers, the internationally respected La Leche League has set the standard for educating and empowering mothers in this natural art for generations. Now their classic bestselling guide has been retooled, refocused, and updated for today’s mothers and lifestyles. Working mothers, stay-at-home moms, single moms, and mothers of multiples will all benefit from the book’s range of nursing advice, stories, and information—from preparing for breastfeeding during pregnancy to feeding cues, from nursing positions to expressing and storing breast milk.
The Reading Strategies Book made the New York Times Best Seller List by making it simpler to match students' needs to high-quality instruction. Now, in The Writing Strategies Book, Jen Serravallo does the same, collecting 300 of the most effective strategies to share with writers, and grouping them beneath 10 crucial goals. Whether you use Writing Workshop, 6+1 Traits, Daily 5's "Work on Writing," a scripted writing program, the writing exercises in your basal, or any other approach, you'll discover a treasure chest of ways to work with whole classes, small groups, or individual writers.
All writers bring a unique set of skills to their work: One author might write outstanding characters, while another might dazzle with dialogue. You don't have to master every aspect of the craft in order to succeed, but the one quality required of every writer is a compelling, original voice. Your voice, which is often difficult to define and even more difficult to master, can transform your writing from pedestrian to powerful. In Writing Voice, you'll discover effective instruction and advice from best-selling authors and instructors like Donal Maass, Adair Lara, Paula Munier, Dinty W. Moore, James Scott Bell, and many others, plus exercises, techniques, and examples for making your prose stand out, be it fiction or memoir.