It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Library Materials: August 2017
Keep up to date on what the Library is adding to the collections
A one-of-a-kind guide to fifty of the most important cultural and historic sites in the United States guaranteed to fascinate, educate, and entertain—selected and described by the former director of the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History. Sites you would expect to read about—in Boston, New York, and Washington, DC—are here, as well as plenty of surprises, such as the Palace of the Governors in Santa Fe, or Ebenezer Baptist Church in Atlanta, or the Village Green in Hudson, Ohio; less obvious places that, together with the more well-known destinations, collectively tell the story of America. For families who want to take a trip that is both educational and entertaining, for history enthusiasts, or anyone curious about our country’s greatest places, this book is the perfect guide.
Build real-world Artificial Intelligence applications to intelligently interact with the world around you, explore real-world scenarios, and learn about the various algorithms which can be used to build AI applications. Packed with insightful examples and topics such as predictive analytics and deep learning, this book is a must-have for Python developers. Starting with AI basics you’ll move on to learn how to develop building blocks using data mining techniques. Discover how to make informed decisions about which algorithms to use, and how to apply them to real-world scenarios. This practical book covers a range of topics including predictive analytics and deep learning.
Each section of the test has a comprehensive review that goes into detail to cover all of the content likely to appear on the TEAS Exam. The practice test questions are each followed by detailed answer explanations. If you miss a question, it's important that you are able to understand the nature of your mistake and how to avoid making it again in the future. The answer explanations will help you to learn from your mistakes and overcome them. Understanding the latest test-taking strategies is essential to preparing you for what you will expect on the exam. A test taker has to not only understand the material that is being covered on the test, but also must be familiar with the strategies that are necessary to properly utilize the time provided and get through the test without making any avoidable errors. Anyone planning to take the TEAS Exam should take advantage of the review material, practice test questions, and test-taking strategies contained in this study guide.
Designed to be reused and shared, learning objects are digital content and assessments centered on student learning outcomes. The promise of sharing online instruction across libraries, campuses, or a consortium holds time-saving appeal. An easy to follow tutorial for creating online library instruction with learning objects, this manual is written by three librarians with the New Literacies Alliance. Winner of the 2016 ACRL IS Innovation Award, NLA is an interinstitutional information literacy consortium that addresses the new literacies required for academic success and lifelong learning.
Designed for the novice in the kitchen, or for someone who wants to brush up on their culinary skills. Basic Food Preparation concentrates on tips & techniques. How to select and prepare the very best ingredients so that we get a recipe that works every time we make it. Learn how to cut, chop, slice, dice, mince, julienne, blanch, clean, debone, braise, roast, sautee, boil, fry, poach, and more!
Call Number: MEDIA 641.5945 SMALL 2011i SUMMER V0173
Publication Date: 2011
Chef Tom Small provides instructional cooking covering such Italian favorites as: watermelon salad with feta and mint, wedge salad with pancetta, tomato and blue cheese vinaigrette, turkey burger with provolone, grilled pork chop with nectarines and balsamic honey glaze, grilled vegetables and fresh mozzarella, and more. Other recipes include nectarines and blueberries with granola and yogurt sorbet.
Call Number: MEDIA 641.853 FREDERI 2011c MOLDIN V0170
Publication Date: 2011
The Chocolate Man Bill Fredericks follows up on his Basic Truffles program by teaching more advanced molding and decorating techniques for coloring, flavoring, airbrushing, painting, texturizing, and using transfer papers. Learn to make coronets and lines, use white chocolate accents, cocoa butter color accents, air brush techniques, transfer sheet variations, molding of both white and dark chocolate, cleanup, ganache, and finally sealing truffles.
Call Number: MEDIA 641.81 FOOD-C 2011a ADVANC V0178
Publication Date: 2011
Chef Ray Duey picks up where The Basics left off with teaching more advanced carving techniques. He gives in-depth instruction on how to create: apple turtles, turkeys, swans, and butterflies. He teaches garnishes made of mushrooms, zucchini, and tomatoes, potato roses, Japanese watermelon lanterns, Thai praline leaves, and more, all resulting in an impressive centerpiece using most of the items carved in this program.
Fruit and vegetable carving projects covered in program include: root flowers, bell pepper poinsettias, apple luminary, leek chrysanthemums, layered cantaloupe, zucchini flowers, banana dolphin. Covers basic techniques, including tool handling.
Call Number: MEDIA 641.81 FOOD-C 2011a ULTIMA V0177
Publication Date: 2011
Chef Ray Duey gets into the intricate details of the ultimate creations: fun with carrots, rutabaga ginger flowers, Tuscan cantaloupe, cucumber lobster, turnip flowers, layered turnip, reversed watermelon, canary melon geometric patterns, watermelon outside in, papaya vase, watermelon wonder, and the Mozart grand finale. Also learn Chef Ray's cut & paste to create the ultimate centerpiece!
Call Number: MEDIA 641.5945 SMALL 2011i SPRING V0174
Publication Date: 2011
Chef Tom Small provides instructional cooking covering such Italian favorites as: citrus vinaigrette, tricolor salad, hand-torn croutons, spring panzanella, penne pasta, gnocchi dumplings, lamb chops, chicken alla diavola, spring frittata, and more. Desserts include such favorites as chocolate hazelnut crespelle and strawberries in port.
Call Number: MEDIA 641.5945 SMALL 2011i FALL V0176
Publication Date: 2011
Chef Tom Small provides instructional cooking covering such Italian favorites as: acorn squash with spinach and goat cheese salad, Tuscan white bean soup, cabbage and Italian sausage soup, simple tomato soup, spaghetti all'Amatriciana, stracotto, braised pork with apples and spaghetti squash, and more. Special features: all about knives and how to make link sausage without special equipment!
Call Number: MEDIA 641.5945 SMALL 2011i WINTER V0175
Publication Date: 2011
Chef Tom Small provides instructional cooking covering such Italian favorites as: goat cheese torta, roasted beet salad, red wine vinaigrette, butternut squash lasagna, bolognese pappardelle, pork tenderloin with garlic and sage on a bed of roasted cauliflower, braised lemon chicken, and more. Desserts include such favorites as flourless chocolate cake, and caramelized apple bread pudding.
Whether you are just starting out or an Excel novice, the Excel 2016 Bible is your comprehensive, go-to guide for all your Excel 2016 needs. Whether you use Excel at work or at home, you will be guided through the powerful new features and capabilities by expert author and Excel Guru John Walkenbach to take full advantage of what the updated version offers. Learn to incorporate templates, implement formulas, create pivot tables, analyze data, and much more.
If the thought of looking at spreadsheet makes your head swell, you've come to the right place. Whether you've used older versions of this popular program or have never gotten a headache from looking at all those grids, this hands-on guide will get you up and running with the latest installment of the software, Microsoft Excel 2016. In no time, you'll begin creating and editing worksheets, formatting cells, entering formulas, creating and editing charts, inserting graphs, designing database forms, and more. Plus, you'll get easy-to-follow guidance on mastering more advanced skills, like adding hyperlinks to worksheets, saving worksheets as web pages, adding worksheet data to an existing web page, and so much more.
Experienced with Excel? Don’t let Excel 2016 make you feel like a beginner again! This new full-color edition of the bestselling book has been completely overhauled. Gone is unnecessary and rarely used content; emphasis is on the most-used and new aspects of Excel 2016. The result is a focused book where every topic is relevant and worth learning. Excel 2016 In Depth is the fastest, smartest way to master Excel 2016’s full power and updated interface. You’ll discover how to leverage Excel’s new tools for charting, business analysis, data visualization, forecasting, and more.
Throughout this compassionate, insightful, and practical book, Dr. Greene provides a new conceptual framework for understanding their difficulties, based on research in the neurosciences. He explains why traditional parenting and treatment often don’t work with these children, and he describes what to do instead. Instead of relying on rewarding and punishing, Dr. Greene’s Collaborative Problem Solving model promotes working with explosive children to solve the problems that precipitate explosive episodes, and teaching these kids the skills they lack.
From planting vines to savoring the finished product, Jeff Cox covers every aspect of growing flawless grapes and making extraordinary wine. Fully illustrated instructions show you how to choose and prepare a vineyard site; build trellising systems; select, plant, prune, and harvest the right grapes for your climate; press, ferment, and bottle wine; and judge wine for clarity, color, aroma, and taste. With information on making sparkling wines, ice wines, port-style wines, and more, this comprehensive guide is an essential resource for every winemaker.
The record-breaking records annual is back and packed with more incredible accomplishments, stunts, cutting-edge science and amazing sporting achievements than ever before. With more than 3,000 new and updated records and 1,000 eye-popping photos, it has thousands of new stats and facts and dazzling new features. There is so much to explore inside. Go on a whirlwind tour of the planet’s most amazing places, from the largest swamps to the deepest points on Earth. Find out what happens when you give an octopus a Rubik’s Cube, and why all you need to defend yourself from a crocodile is a rubber band! You’ll also find all your favorite records and categories such as Big Stuff, Collections, Mass Participation and Fun with Food, plus the year’s most significant sporting achievements.
Step-By-Step Guidance for Using Healing TouchTM for Self-Care Healing Touch for Beginners shows us, step-by-step, how to use this powerful healing modality for our own personal health and wellness. In this guided video program, you will learn the fundamentals of the human energy system and how Healing Touch works with it. Healing Touch for Beginners covers: Centering and grounding practices Energetic awareness and self-assessment methods Clearing and balancing the energy system How to focus with intention and meditation Techniques to direct healing energy with the hands Pain relief and management, and more Healing Touch for Beginners provides you with essential principles, practices, and guidance for you to begin using this effective energy healing modality which uses your hands and intention to impact personal health, healing, and wellness. Taught by Healing Touch senior instructor Janna Moll. The Healing Touch Program is the founding organization and recognized training source for Healing Touch Practitioner certification. They have been peer-reviewed and are endorsed by the American Holistic Nurses Association. HTP is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's (ANCC) Commission on Accreditation and approved by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork as a continuing education provider.
Making pasta at home has never been easier! The Silver Spoon Italian Cooking School: Pasta teaches everything you need to know about making pasta shapes and dishes. Each chapter starts with step-by-step instructions for a technique so the reader is well versed in making pasta shapes and dishes. The book begins with a basic pasta dough recipe, then shows you how to create basic ribbon pastas, lasagnas, cannellonis, ravioli and tortellis. From creamy Pappardelle with Mushrooms and a Vegetarian Lasagna to a Spinach and Ricotta Ravioli, Italian Cooking School: Pasta features 75 versatile, everyday recipes to cook at home and for friends and family. Readers build their cooking repertoire as they progress through the books, building confidence with simple recipes at the start and advancing to more challenging dishes. The Silver Spoon Italian Cooking School series is designed for modern cooks to prepare healthy, delicious, and authentic recipes in their own home.
This is learning made easy. Get more done quickly with Office 2016. Jump in wherever you need answers - brisk lessons and colorful screenshots show you exactly what to do, step by step.
*Covers Word, Excel, PowerPoint and Outlook
*Includes Office 365 subscription information
*Discover how to use cloud storage with OneDrive and your Office 365 subscription
*Format Word documents for maximum visual impact
*Build powerful, reliable Excel workbooks for analysis and reporting
*Prepare highly effective PowerPoint presentations
*Use Outlook to organize your email, calendar, and contacts
*Includes downloadable practice files
Perplexed by PowerPoint? Looking to excel at Excel? From Access to Word—and every application in between—this all-encompassing guide provides plain-English guidance on mastering the entire Microsoft Office suite. Through easy-to-follow instruction, you'll quickly get up and running with Excel, Word, PowerPoint, Outlook, Access, Publisher, Charts and Graphics, OneNote, and more—and make your work and home life easier, more productive, and more streamlined. Microsoft Office is the leading productivity tool in the world. From word processing to business communication to data crunching, it requires a lot of knowledge to operate it—let alone master it. Luckily, Office 2016 All-in-One For Dummies is here to deliver the breadth of information you need to complete basic tasks and drill down into Office's advanced features.
Whatever your Microsoft Office experience, don’t let Office 2016 make you feel like a beginner! This book is packed with intensely useful knowledge, tips, and shortcuts you just won’t find anywhere else. It’s the fastest, best way to master Office 2016’s full power, and the great new features built into Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, Publisher, and OneNote. This friendly, expert guide will make you way more productive… whether you’re creating documents, analyzing data, delivering presentations, designing newsletters, taking quick notes, or managing your life!
Office Simplified is the quick, easy, full-color guide to the new features and tools of the latest version of Office. With a clear, highly visual, introductory style of instruction, this book gives you step-by-step directions alongside illustrative screen shots to help you learn Microsoft's bestselling productivity software. You'll take a tour through all Office applications, and learn how the new tools can make your workday easier. The simplified approach eliminates unnecessary information, focusing instead on the essentials you need to know to get things done. Organized for easy navigation, this helpful guide is designed to be used both as a start-to-finish tutorial and as a handy desk reference when you run into unfamiliar territory. Whether you're upgrading from a previous version or using the Office suite of applications for the first time, this book has you covered every step of the way. You'll find the answers you need, new tools you can use, and the step-by-step guidance that helps you get it right on the first try.
Worried about potty training? Let Jamie Glowacki, potty-training expert at OhCrapPottyTraining.com, show you how it’s done. Her 6-step, proven process to get your toddler out of diapers and onto the toilet has already worked for tens of thousands of kids and their parents. Here’s the good news: your child is probably ready to be potty trained EARLIER than you think (ideally, between 20–30 months), and it can be done FASTER than you expect (most kids get the basics in a few days—but Jamie’s got you covered even if it takes a little longer). Oh Crap! Potty Training can solve all of these (and other) common issues. This isn’t theory, you’re not bribing with candy, and there are no gimmicks. This is real-world, from-the-trenches potty training information—all the questions and all the ANSWERS you need to do it once and be done with diapers for good. And check out OhCrapPottyTraining.com for more information—including expert advice, support from parents just like you, and instructions for how to take part in the next Great Potty Challenge!
In The Professional Server, students get an introduction to the many aspects of being a professional server, and experienced servers get an excellent reference to consult for various techniques and service situations they face in their day-to-day work. This popular resource features easy-to-read, self-contained chapters, which flow in a logical sequence and allow flexibility in teaching and learning. Coverage includes areas such as professional appearance, guest communication, table settings, food, wine, and beverage service, and current technologies. Restaurant Reality stories and step-by-step photographs give students an insider’s look into what makes an effective server.
Salad—with its infinite possibilities—is a game of endless combinations, not stifling rules. And with that in mind, Salad for President offers a window into how artists approach preparing their favorite dishes. She visits sculptors, painters, photographers, and musicians in their homes and gardens, interviewing and photographing them as they cook. Utterly unique in its look into the worlds of food, art, and everyday practices, Salad for President is at once a practical resource for healthy, satisfying recipes and an inspiring look at creativity.
It's easy to fall into the rut of making the same salads over and over, but the excuses end now. Salads That Inspire is a cookbook of the most creative, delicious salads you've yet to eat, featuring original combinations of fresh fruits, vegetables, nuts, spices, proteins, grains, cheeses, and dressings. Healthy eating never tasted so good
Scholarships, Grants & Prizes 2018 provides up-to-date information on millions of privately funded awards available to college students. It contains detailed profiles of awards based on academic fields and career goals, ethnic heritage, talent, employment experience, military service, and other categories that are available from private sources such as foundations, corporations, and religious and civic organizations.
Teach Yourself VISUALLY Windows 10 Anniversary Update is the quick and easy way to get up and running with Windows 10 and Windows 10 Update. From setting up to shutting down and everything in between, this book guides you through everything you need to know to start working with Windows 10. Learn how to customize Widows 10, pin an app to the Start menu, work with files and digital media, customize the interface, optimize performance, set up email, go online, and so much more. Two-page spreads, detailed instruction, and expert content walk you through more than 150 Windows tasks. Coverage includes the Windows 10 release, along with the newest features of the Windows 10 Anniversary Update.
Are you a visual learner who prefers to see how Word works instead of hear a long-winded explanation?Teach Yourself Visually Word offers you a straightforward 'show me, don't tell me' approach to working with the newest version of the top-selling application in the Microsoft Office suite. Packed with visually rich tutorials and step-by-step instructions that will help you come to grips with all of Word's capabilities, this accessible resource will quickly and easily get you up and running on using the world's most widely used word processing program. With Teach Yourself Visually Word, you'll learn how to perform dozens of tasks, including how to set up and format documents and text in Word; work with diagrams, charts, and pictures; use Mail Merge; post documents online; and much more. Covering the newest additions and changes to the latest version of Word, a series of easy-to-follow, full-color tutorials helps you to quickly get up and running with Word like a warrior!
In the last five years, the world of work has changed dramatically. Thanks to technology companies like Uber, TaskRabbit, and Instacart, the new “gig economy” seems to constantly be in the news. But most of the media focus is on the low end of the skill spectrum; little attention is being paid to the best-in-class professionals who have chosen an independent path. New digital talent platforms are developing at a rapid clip with a wide variety of business models, many catering to very precise, high-value skill sets. Thriving in the Gig Economy is an actionable guidebook outlining ways to maneuver in this new world to create a path that optimizes success.
Information on 1.5 million scholarships, grants, and prizes is easily accessible in this revised directory with more than 300 new listings that feature awards indexed by career goal, major, academics, public service, talent, athletics, religion, ethnicity, and more. Each entry contains all the necessary information for students and parents to complete the application process, including eligibility requirements, how to obtain an application, how to get more information about each award, sponsor website listings, award amounts, and key deadlines. With scholarships for high school, college, graduate, and adult students, this guide also includes tips on how to conduct the most effective search, how to write a winning application, and how to avoid scams.
Windows 10 For Dummies covers the latest version of Windows and gets you up and running with the changes and new features you'll find in this updated operating system. Packed with time-saving tips to help you get the most out of the software, this helpful Windows 10 guide shows you how to manage Windows tasks like navigating the interface with a mouse or touchscreen, connecting to the web, and troubleshooting problems and making quick fixes. Assuming no prior knowledge of the software, Windows 10 For Dummies addresses the updates to Windows and shows you how to get things accomplished. Focusing on the features you'll go to again and again, this new edition of this bestselling tech book will have you quickly finding files, connecting to the Web, gathering your email and social accounts in one spot, managing apps, creating and managing accounts, using online tools, customizing your settings, and so much more—making you a Windows whiz in no time.
Windows 10 Simplified is your absolute beginner's guide to the ins and outs of Windows. Fully updated to cover Windows 10, this highly visual guide covers all the new features in addition to the basics, giving you a one-stop resource for complete Windows 10 mastery. Every page features step-by-step screen shots and plain-English instructions that walk you through everything you need to know, no matter how new you are to Windows. You'll master the basics as you learn how to navigate the user interface, work with files, create user accounts, and practice using the tools that make Windows 10 the most efficient Windows upgrade yet.
With Windows 8, Microsoft completely reimagined the graphical user interface for its operating system, which now runs on both desktop PCs and tablets, but the overhaul was not without hitches and its dueling UIs (one designed for touch, the other for keyboards and mice) created significant confusion for users. Windows 10 (a free update to users of Windows 8 or Windows 7) fixes a number of the problems introduced by the revolution in Windows 8 and offers plenty of new features, such as the new Spartan web browser, Cortana voice-activated “personal assistant,” new universal apps (that run on tablet, phone, and computer), and more. But to really get the most out of the new operating system, you’re going to need a guide.
This lushly illustrated history of popular entertainment takes a long-zoom approach, contending that the pursuit of novelty and wonder is a powerful driver of world-shaping technological change. Steven Johnson argues that, throughout history, the cutting edge of innovation lies wherever people are working the hardest to keep themselves and others amused. Johnson’s storytelling is just as delightful as the inventions he describes, full of surprising stops along the journey from simple concepts to complex modern systems. He introduces us to the colorful innovators of leisure: the explorers, proprietors, showmen, and artists who changed the trajectory of history with their luxurious wares, exotic meals, taverns, gambling tables, and magic shows. In Wonderland, Johnson compellingly argues that observers of technological and social trends should be looking for clues in novel amusements. You’ll find the future wherever people are having the most fun.
If you're a professional who uses Word, but aren't aware of its many features or get confused about how they work best, Word 2016 For Professionals For Dummies answers all your burning questions about the world's number-one word processing software. Offering in-depth coverage of topics you won't find in Word 2016 For Dummies, this guide focuses on the professional's needs, giving you all you need to know not only do your job well, but to do it even better. As Microsoft continues to hone Word with each new release, new features are added beyond basic word processing. From using Word to create blog posts to importing data from Excel to expertly flowing text around objects, it covers the gamut of Word's more advanced capabilities—including those you probably don't know exist. Whether you're looking to use Word to build a master document, collaborate and share, publish an ebook, or anything in between, the thorough, step-by-step guidance in Word 2016 For Professionals For Dummies makes it easier.