It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Library Materials: September 2017
Keep up to date on what the Library is adding to the collections
Addictions take many forms, and know no boundaries of race, religion, gender, or class. For many, addictions not only lead to emotional and physical misery, but also lead into the criminal justice system. This video views addictions from a holistic perspective -- mind, body and spirit -- with an explanation for the increasing rate of addiction in our culture as being reflective of a loss of a fundamental element -- rituals that initiate the individual into the society. This view sees rituals that have historically satisfied psychological needs related to being and belonging as, for the most part, now lost to us. This perspective also addresses the significance of several other origins of addiction including biochemical/genetic predisposition, undiagnosed medical problems, primary psychiatric illness, personality disorders, and disruptions of social structures.
2018 Almanac of American Politics remains the gold standard of accessible political information, relied on by everyone involved, invested or interested in politics in America. Highly regarded for its in-depth analysis and comprehensive profiles of every congressional district, state, governor and member of Congress, The Almanac is the tool you need to better understand the context of the people and perspectives shaping the issues that matter to you.
Joel Spring’s American Education introduces readers to the historical, political, social, and legal foundations of education and to the profession of teaching in the United States. In his signature straightforward and concise approach to describing complex issues, Spring illuminates events and topics and that are often overlooked or whitewashed, giving students the opportunity to engage in critical thinking about education. In this edition he looks closely at the global context of education in the U.S. Featuring current information and challenging perspectives―with scholarship that is often cited as a primary source, students will come away from this clear, authoritative text informed on the latest topics, issues, and data and with a strong knowledge of the forces shaping of the American educational system.
Our 350+ ATI TEAS Version 6 Practice Test Questions are just like the ones you will see on the real exam and organized so that you will improve your knowledge and test taking skills. Working through practice questions is the most important and one of the most effective methods possible for preparing for an exam. If you don’t know what is it on the exam, how can you be ready for test day? These TEAS 6 practice test questions can be used by themselves or in addition to our study guide if you want extra practice. Either way, you get high quality questions just like on the exam to ensure you are prepared for the exam. We understand that not everyone needs or wants a comprehensive study guide, so if you feel you know the material and just want to hone your skills and get some practice, you will find no better ATI TEAS practice test questions than these. If you already have our study guide, you can get even more practice with new questions in this book too!
*A detailed overview of what you need to know forATI TEAS 6, so that you know exactly what to expect on the ATI TEAS Version 6 exam
*Accepted Inc.’s TEAS VI study guide also covers all of the subjects over which you will be tested
*Includes over 300 TEAS 6 practice questions for you to practice and improve
Test tips and strategies to help you score higher on the ATI TEAS Sixth Edition
Trivium Test Prep study guides are streamlined and concept driven - not filled with excess junk, silly attempts at humor, or confusing filler - so you get better results through more effective study time. Why spend days or even weeks reading through meaningless junk, trying to sort out the helpful information from the fluff? We give you everything you need to know in a concise, comprehensive, and effective package.
Bioethics: Principles, Issues, and Cases, Third Edition, explores the philosophical, medical, social, and legal aspects of key bioethical issues. Opening with a thorough introduction to ethics, bioethics, and moral reasoning, it then covers influential moral theories and the criteria for evaluating them. Integrating eighty-nine readings--twelve of them new to this edition--numerous classic bioethical cases, and abundant pedagogical tools, this text addresses the most provocative and controversial topics in bioethics.
Harvard Law Review Association. The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation. 20th Edition. Compiled by the editors of Columbia, Harvard, University of Pennsylvania and Yale Law Reviews. The Harvard Law Review Association, June 2015. xx, 560 pp. ISBN: 9780692400197. Spiral bound. New. For bulk orders (20+ copies), special discounts are available. * Twentieth edition. The definitive style guide for legal citation in the United States. This edition of The Bluebook retains the same basic approach to legal citation established by its predecessors. The layout of The Bluebook has been updated to make the information easier to access. Some citation forms have been expanded, elaborated upon, or modified from previous editions to reflect the ever-expanding range of authorities used in legal writing and to respond to suggestions from the legal community. For generations, law students, lawyers, scholars, judges, and other legal professionals have relied on The Bluebook's system of citation in their writing. In a diverse and rapidly changing legal profession, The Bluebook continues to provide a systematic method by which members of the profession communicate important information about the sources and legal authorities upon which they rely in their work.
Blue planet: View Earth from space. Orbiting 200 miles above Earth's surface, see familiar landforms: the majestic Himalayas, giant Namib desert sand dunes, jewel-like Caribbean islands. From this unique vantage point see how natural forces - volcanoes, earthquakes and hurricanes - affect our planet, and how a powerful new force - mankind, has begun to alter the face of Earth. The dream is alive: Share with space shuttle astronauts the delight of zero gravity while working, eating and sleeping in orbit around the Earth. Float as never before over the towering Andes, the boot of Italy, Egypt and the Nile. Witness firsthand a tension-filled satellite capture and repair, and the historic first spacewalk by an American woman.
On the day after the Orlando nightclub shooting, James Martin S.J. posted a video on Facebook in which he called for solidarity with our LGBT brothers and sisters. "The largest mass shooting in US history took place at a gay club and the LGBT community has been profoundly affected," he began. He then implored his fellow Catholics—and people everywhere—to "stand not only with the people of Orlando but also with their LGBT brothers and sisters." A powerful call for tolerance, acceptance, and support—and a reminder of Jesus' message for us to love one another—Father Martin's post went viral and was viewed more than 1.6 million times. Now, Martin expands on his reflections in this moving and inspiring book, offering a powerful, loving, and much-needed voice in a time marked by anger, prejudice, and divisiveness. Adapted from an address he gave to New Ways Ministry, a group that ministers to and advocates for LGBT Catholics, Building a Bridge provides a roadmap for repairing and strengthening the bonds that unite all of us as God's children. Martin uses the image of a two-way bridge to enable LGBT Catholics and the Church to come together in a call to end the "us" versus "them" mentality. Turning to the Catechism, he draws on the three criteria at the heart of the Christian ministry—"respect, compassion, and sensitivity"—as a model for how the Catholic Church should relate to the LGBT community.
An obsessive historian's quest for the remains of the founder of Quebec, Samuel de Champlain, ends in murder. Could a secret buried with Champlain for nearly 400 years be so dreadful that someone would kill to protect it? Although he is supposed to be on leave, Chief Inspector Gamache cannot walk away from a crime that threatens to ignite long-smoldering tensions between the English and the French. Meanwhile, he is receiving disquieting letters from the village of Three Pines, where beloved Bistro owner Olivier was recently convicted of murder.
Corrections such as this one from the Miami Herald have become a familiar sight for readers, especially as news cycles demand faster and faster publication. While some factual errors can be humorous, they nonetheless erode the credibility of the writer and the organization. And the pressure for accuracy and accountability is increasing at the same time as in-house resources for fact-checking are dwindling. Anyone who needs or wants to learn how to verify names, numbers, quotations, and facts is largely on their own. Enter The Chicago Guide to Fact-Checking, an accessible, one-stop guide to the why, what, and how of contemporary fact-checking. Brooke Borel, an experienced fact-checker, draws on the expertise of more than 200 writers, editors, and fellow checkers representing the New Yorker, Popular Science, This American Life, Vogue, and many other outlets. She covers best practices for fact-checking in a variety of media—from magazine articles, both print and online, to books and documentaries—and from the perspective of both in-house and freelance checkers. She also offers advice on navigating relationships with writers, editors, and sources; considers the realities of fact-checking on a budget and checking one’s own work; and reflects on the place of fact-checking in today’s media landscape.
In The Complete Handbook of Novel Writing, 3rd Edition, you'll learn from established writers about how to make your novel a reality. Discover techniques and strategies for generating ideas, connecting with readers emotionally, and finding inspiration you need to finish your work. This fully revised edition includes an updated marketing section for navigating the unique challenges and possibilities of the evolving literary marketplace. You'll also find interviews with some of the world's finest and most popular writers, including David Baldacci, Lee Child, Robert Crais, Khaled Hosseini, Hugh Howey, Stephen King, Dennis Lehane, George R.R. Martin, Jojo Moyes, Anne Rice, Jane Smiley, and Garth Stein. Their insights on the craft and business of fiction will provide you with invaluable mentorship as you embark on your writing journey.
Brad C. Phillips and Jordan E. Horowitz offer a research-based model and actionable approach for using data strategically at community colleges to increase completion rates as well as other metrics linked to student success. They draw from the fields of psychology, neuroscience, and behavioral economics to show how leaders and administrators can build good habits for engaging with data constructively. At the core of their approach is a strategic effort to help administrators and faculty identify leading indicators that they can affect and monitor before student failure occurs. The book also helps educators make better use of common sources of data, clarify problems to be solved, match research-based interventions to problems, and evaluate results. The authors incorporate strategies for college personnel to engage with data more effectively by integrating student stories into presentations and embedding these discussions into existing meetings and routines. Three case studies from Long Beach City College, Southwestern College, and Odessa College further illustrate how this approach was implemented as part of comprehensive reform efforts
Today’s students rely heavily on using electronic resources; they expect to be able to access library resources from any location and at any time of the day. More and more schools, from K-12 through graduate level universities, are offering online education, and libraries must be prepared to guide learners in how to use library resources when and where they are needed. Online tutorials are the library’s answer to providing this immediate instruction, and today’s learners are expecting to have these guides available. Many librarians don’t have the technical expertise needed to create online tutorials. Creating Online Tutorials: A Practical Guide for Librarians will help guide them through the basics of designing and producing an online tutorial. Through practical examples, the book will guide librarians just starting the process of creating an online tutorial from start to finish and will provide tips that will be useful to librarians with more experience in designing online tutorials.
What is identity theft? How do criminals steal personal information? How can we protect ourselves? What steps can we take to restore our identities, should we fall victim? Experts and real victims of identity theft reinforce the narrator's solid information and sensible suggestions.
Helps viewers hold a mirror to their own culture" (container). Includes footage of Mexico's Day of the Dead celebration, a Balinese funeral, street life in New Delhi, and compares these to cultural norms in modern American society.
"We believe many of our cultural beliefs are simply te most 'natural' or 'best' way to behave and so everyone should behave that way; therein lies the roots of prejudice. Travel by video to Mexico for a Day of the Dead celebration, witness a funeral in Bali, explore food in Hong Kong, and see street life in New Delhi to learn more about our 'invisible' culture.
Stunning and brutally powerful, Falconer tells the story of a man named Farragut, his crime and punishment, and his struggle to remain a man in a universe bent on beating him back into childhood. Only John Cheever could deliver these grand themes with the irony, unforced eloquence, and exhilarating humor that make Falconer such a triumphant work of the moral imagination.
As World War I winds to a close, two men--Dr. William Rivers, a psychologist whose dedicated healing sends men back to the brutal front, and Billy Prior, a shell-shocked soldier determined to rejoin the final English offensive--are profounded affected by the events of the era. Winner of the 1995 Booker Prize.
“A screaming comes across the sky. . .” A few months after the Germans’ secret V-2 rocket bombs begin falling on London, British Intelligence discovers that a map of the city pinpointing the sexual conquests of one Lieutenant Tyrone Slothrop, U.S. Army, corresponds identically to a map showing the V-2 impact sites. The implications of this discovery will launch Slothrop on an amazing journey across war-torn Europe, fleeing an international cabal of military-industrial superpowers, in search of the mysterious Rocket 00000, through a wildly comic extravaganza that has been hailed in The New Republic as “the most profound and accomplished American novel since the end of World War II.”
On the morning after harvest, the inhabitants of a remote English village awaken looking forward to a hard-earned day of rest and feasting at their landowner's table. But the sky is marred by two conspicuous columns of smoke, replacing pleasurable anticipation with alarm and suspicion. One smoke column is the result of an overnight fire that has damaged the master's outbuildings. The second column rises from the wooded edge of the village, sent up by newcomers to announce their presence. In the minds of the wary villagers a mere coincidence of events appears to be unlikely, with violent confrontation looming as the unavoidable outcome. Meanwhile, another newcomer has recently been spotted taking careful notes and making drawings of the land. It is his presence more than any other that will threaten the village's entire way of life.
Topics include: How to develop good savings and spending habits by designing a personal money management plan -- The power of compound interest -- How to avoid credit card traps -- The TOTAL cost of buying a car. Maria, the narrator, is already living on her own and gives tips to teens on what they can do now to get a head start financially to live on their own. Topics include: how to develop good savings and spending habits by designing a personal money management plan; the power of compound interest; how to avoid credit card traps; the total cost of buying a car, and more.
Ladders: Safety and Litigation is the answer to the thousands of injuries and death each year that take place during ladder use both at home and the workplace, despite new developments and warnings designed to enhance ladder safety. It approaches all aspects of ladder use using a human factors/ergonomics system perspective, with a focus on the three elements involved: the person, ladder, and environment. This book addresses the many facets of ladder use, including safety issues both at home and in the workplace. It covers the legal aspects, such as if there is any legal recourse for the injuries sustained in a ladder accident, allowing you to quickly evaluate a case and determine which accidents will justify a full forensic investigation.
Lippincott Review for NCLEX-PN, 11E is designed to help pre-licensure nursing students in practical and vocational nursing programs prepare to take the licensing examination. The book content is divided into comprehensive yet manageable sections. More than 2,000 questions are organized across five major units. The first four units correspond to specialty areas of nursing practice: (1) The Nursing Care of Adults with Medical-Surgical Disorders; (2) The Nursing Care of the Childbearing Family; (3) The Nursing Care of Children; (4) The Nursing Care of Clients with Mental Health Needs. The four major units are further subdivided into a total of 17 separate review tests, with the bulk of the tests aligned with the medical-surgical nursing unit, which is the most common clinical area where new practical nurses are employed. All questions reflect a specific category and subcategory of client need. A fifth unit consists of a two-part Comprehensive Examination containing a total of 263 items. Taken in total, the Comprehensive Examination provides practice with more than the maximum of 205 questions asked on the NCLEX-PN. Another feature is the sections containing the Correct Answers and Rationales and Test Taking Strategies, which follow each review test and comprehensive examination. These sections provide the best answer to each test question; the rationale for the correct answer, and reasons why the other answer choices are incorrect; a test taking strategy to guide the selection of the answer to the question; the Cognitive Level of the question; and the Test Plan Category and Subcategory. Additionally, the book contains a detailed review of Frequently Asked Questions, designed to provide information about the NCLEX-PN testing process, how the test is designed, and suggestions on how to prepare for the examination.
English, Complete Edition is a unique multimedia program that is designed for speakers of any language. It takes you from a beginner to an advanced level in one convenient package. At the core of English, Complete Edition is the Living Language Method™, based on linguistic science, proven techniques, and over 65 years of experience. Our method teaches you the whole language, so you can express yourself, not just recite memorized words or scripts.
It is 1866, and Walter Moody has come to stake his claim in New Zealand's booming gold rush. On the stormy night of his arrival, he stumbles across a tense gathering of 12 local men who have met in secret to discuss a series of unexplained events: a wealthy man has vanished, a prostitute has tried to end her life, and an enormous cache of gold has been discovered in the home of a luckless drunk. Moody is soon drawn into a network of fates and fortunes that is as complex and exquisitely ornate as the night sky. Richly evoking a mid-nineteenth-century world of shipping, banking, and gold rush boom and bust, THE LUMINARIES is at once a fiendishly clever ghost story, a gripping page-turner, and a thrilling novelistic achievement. It richly confirms that Eleanor Catton is one of the brightest stars in the international literary firmament.
Revised to fully align with the 2017 NEC®, this on-the-job reference contains the trusted advice and analysis you need to interpret and effectively work with the current set of regulations. In-depth coverage of the background and rationale for specific rules enhances your understanding of both meaning and application. Key points are illuminated through thousands of detailed diagrams and photos; in-depth discussions with owners and inspectors provide valuable, real-world insight. This book doesn’t duplicate the text of the NEC®. Instead, it is entirely comprised of explanatory text, specifically addressing every single code article, providing the most analytical content available. Because the book is published completely independently from NFPA, it is free to―and frequently does―offer detailed analysis of technically questionable and editorially convoluted provisions in the NEC®, along with strategies for discussing those issues with owners and inspectors before financial commitments are made.
McGraw-Hill’s National Electrical Safety Code® (NESC®) 2017 Handbook thoroughly explains how to apply and meet the NESC® rules for electric supply stations and equipment, as well as overhead and underground electric supply and communications lines. Designed to be used alongside the Code itself, this comprehensive resource has been fully updated to reflect the record number of change proposals for the 2017 NESC®. Focusing on practical application of the 2017 Code, this Handbook delivers a rule-by-rule annotation of the NESC® that clarifies potentially confusing Code text and allows you to perform your work safely and confidently. Hundreds of diagrams, photos, and practical examples make this the most complete and useful handbook available on the topic.
Successful mixed-media art starts with selecting the best materials and tools for the job. Here's where the very thing that attracts many artists to the genre--the vast array of available supplies and media--can also pose the greatest challenge: How to choose from the wide variety of options for any given project? Mixed Media Handbook makes your decisions easier and more confident by providing a complete and current working guide to today's traditional and unconventional materials, including tools; substrates; adhesives & mediums; paper, photographs & other collage resources; natural materials, building supplies & household items; drawing materials, and painting media.
Call Number: RESERVES 306.8740866 OUTFAM 2008 - DVD
Publication Date: 2008
This animated video shows six families, from a wide range of backgrounds, coming to terms with the developing sexual or gender identity of a son or daughter. It aims to help parents and others understand more about the issues facing their LGBT teenagers, and how to best help them.
Young Reuben Land has little doubt that miracles happen all around us, suspecting that his own father is touched by God. When his older brother flees a controversial murder charge, Reuben, along with his older sister and father, set off on a journey that will take them to the Badlands and through a landscape more extraordinary than they could have anticipated. Enger’s novel is at once a heroic quest and a haunting meditation on the possibility of magic in the everyday world.
Privilege, Power, and Difference is a groundbreaking tool for students and non-students alike to examine systems of privilege and difference in our society. Written in an accessible, conversational style, the 3rd edition links theory with engaging examples in ways that enable readers to see the underlying nature and consequences of privilege and their connection to it. This extraordinary book has been used across the country, both inside and outside the classroom, to shed light on issues of power and privilege. The thoroughly updated 3rd edition includes a new epilogue about the conflicting worldviews that can make these issues so difficult.
Pronounced obscene when it was first published in 1915, The Rainbow is the epic story of three generations of the Brangwens, a Midlands family. A visionary novel, considered to be one of Lawrence’s finest, it explores the complex sexual and psychological relationships between men and women in an increasingly industrialized world. “Lives are separate, but life is continuous—it continues in the fresh start by the separate life in each generation,” wrote F. R. Leavis. “No work, I think, has presented this perception as an imaginatively realized truth more compellingly than The Rainbow.”
The frozen wastes of North America are Michael Collins's heart of darkness, a territory he maps with infinite precision in this novel of murder and menace. Twenty years ago, when Frank was five, his parents burned to death in a remote Northern town. Now, his uncle is dead too, shot by a mysterious stranger with a dead man's name, a stranger who now lies in a coma in the local hospital. Frank heads north to dig up the past ' back to the town where he never belonged, to find out why his uncle died, and why people shrink when they hear his name.
Put the language of nursing, medicine and the healthcare professions at your fingertips. In hand, online, or on your mobile device—anywhere and everywhere, Taber’s 23 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team of expert consulting editors and consultants representing nearly every health care profession ensures that the content reflects the most current healthcare information.
Known as the official handbook of the federal government, this annual resource provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches, as well as quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, boards, commissions, and committees. Each agency's description consists of a list of principal officials; a summary statement of the agency's purpose and role in the federal government; a brief history of the agency, including its legislative or executive authority; and a description of consumer activities, contracts and grants, employment, and publications.
Call Number: MEDIA 959.7043409 VIETNAM 2017w - DVD
Publication Date: 2017
he Vietnam War, an immersive ten-part, eighteen hour documentary film series directed by acclaimed filmmakers Ken Burns and Lynn Novick, tells the epic story of one of the most divisive, consequential and misunderstood events in American history, as it has never before been told on film.
When The Wapshot Chronicle was published in 1957, John Cheever was already recognized as a writer of superb short stories. But The Wapshot Chronicle, which won the 1958 National Book Award, established him as a major novelist. Based in part on Cheever’s adolescence in New England, the novel follows the destinies of the impecunious and wildly eccentric Wapshots of St. Botolphs, a quintessential Massachusetts fishing village. Here are the stories of Captain Leander Wapshot, venerable sea dog and would-be suicide; of his licentious older son, Moses; and of Moses’ adoring and errant younger brother, Coverly. Tragic and funny, ribald and splendidly picaresque, The Wapshot Chronicle is a family narrative in the tradition of Trollope, Dickens, and Henry James.
Welding is a fun and surprisingly affordable activity, with complete welding kits available at home-improvement stores for a few hundred dollars. This book shows you everything you need to know to become a competent and safe welder of a wide variety of metal projects. Featured projects include a coffee table, magazine rack, wine rack, truck rack, firepit, and gate. The time has never been better to learn to weld. New tools and equipment are lower in price and easier to use. Growing interest in metalworking has made supplies easier to come by, with most home-improvement stores now stocking a variety of metals and fuels. As interest in welding expands, the number of great plans and designs continues to grow. For evidence you need only open this updated edition of Welding Complete. Packed with fresh designs and up-to-date information, this new book is your personal metal shop teacher.
Daniel Mattson once believed he was gay. Raised in a Christian family, and aware of attractions to other boys at age six, Mattson's life was marked by constant turmoil between his faith in God and his sexual attractions. Finding the conflict between his sexual desires and the teachings of his church too great, he assumed he was gay, turned his back on God, and began a relationship with another man. Yet freedom and happiness remained elusive until he discovered Christ and his true identity. In this frank memoir, Mattson chronicles his journey to and from a gay identity, finding peace in his true identity, as a man, made in the image and likeness of God. Part autobiography, part philosophy of life, and part a practical guide in living chastely, the book draws lessons from Mattson's search for inner freedom and integrity, sharing wisdom from his failures and successes. His lifelong search for happiness and peace comes full circle in his realization that, above all else, what is true about him is that he is a beloved son of God, loved into existence by God, created for happiness in this life and the next. Mattson's book is for anyone who has ever wondered who he is, why he is here, and, in the face of suffering, where to find joy, happiness, and the peace that surpasses all understanding.
We first meet Ruth Cole in the summer of 1958 when she walks in on her mother having sex with 16-year-old Eddie O'Hare, the assistant to Ruth's alcoholic father. The death of Ruth's older brothers (years before she was born) turns her mother, Marion, into a zombie who is unable to love her surviving daughter. Ted Cole is a semisuccessful writer and illustrator of disturbingly creepy children's novels. His womanizing habits prove he's "as deceitful as a damaged condom," but he remains the only stable figure in Ruth's life. The tempestuous tale fast-forwards to the year 1990 when Ruth's soaring writing career is faring far better than her lackluster love life. The final segment of the novel ends in 1995 when 41-year-old Ruth is ready to fall in love for the first time. This profoundly absorbing story expresses the depths of misery and the healing power of love. Irving writes as a true storyteller, and Guidall executes the narrative with vigor and enthusiasm.
This is the life and times of T. S. Garp, the bastard son of Jenny Fields, a feminist leader ahead of her time. This is the life and death of a famous mother and her almost-famous son; theirs is a world of sexual extremes, even of sexual assassinations. It is a novel rich with lunacy and sorrow, yet the dark, violent events of the story do not undermine a comedy both ribald and robust. In more than thirty languages, in more than forty countries–with more than ten million copies in print–this novel provides almost cheerful, even hilarious evidence of its famous last line: “In the world according to Garp, we are all terminal cases.”
An engaging, high-impact program addresses a crucial need for honest, open financial advice in a pivotal stage of life. Through the compelling real-life stories of young people dealing with various financial and lifestyle scenarios, the program raises fiscal consciousness and knowledge on everything from banking and credit to investments, budgeting, insurance and self-employment. It features personal financial advice from respected national financial advisors.