It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Library Materials: March 2018
Keep up to date on what the Library is adding to the collections
This exciting book follows the life story of Abraham Lincoln, from his boyhood on the frontier, to his election as president, to his leadership during the Civil War. Along the way, readers will learn important facts about slavery, politics, and other aspects of American history.
Explore one of the most recognized scientists in the world with this biography of physicist Albert Einstein. Kids will learn about his life, achievements, and the challenges he faced along the way. The level 3 text provides accessible, yet wide-ranging, information for independent readers.
Amelia Earhart is one of the first of many National Geographic Readers that highlight important historical figures. This Level 1 Reader brings an understanding of Amelia Earhart's historical significance to a whole new audience. Young readers will learn about the fascinating life and legacy of this pioneering pilot and adventurer, whose disappearance over the Pacific in 1937 has intrigued audiences for decades (Level 1).
Anne Frank is one of the first of many National Geographic Readers that highlight important historical figures. This level-3 reader brings an understanding of her historical significance to a whole new audience. Young readers will learn about the brave and tragic life of the young girl whose diary kept while in hiding from Nazis is one of the most important and insightful books of the World War II era. National Geographic Readers: Anne Frank explores not just the diary, but her life and the important role she played in 20th-century history.
Beyond ADHD weaves Emmerson’s personal story of his ADHD diagnosis, exploring along the way the latest medical, scientific and societal explanations and tools for managing and living with the condition. Including interviews with a number of experts at the forefront of next-generation ADHD diagnostics and treatment, he questions the cookie-cutter way ADHD is commonly diagnosed and treated. Suggesting that the list of symptoms often used to identify ADHD can be attributed to many other disorders and conditions, he explores how and why ADHD diagnoses have increased by 50% in the last ten years.
Emmerson advocates a different approach to ADHD, arguing that it should be a diagnosis of exclusion rather than the other way around, and that we must look past the label, recognizing that individual symptoms vary and treatment plans should be better tailored to the individual. He examines mental and behavioral issues from all sides, including the possibility that nurturing – rather than trying to alter or suppress – the active, “360-degree” mind is a viable way for those diagnosed with ADHD to realize their gifts and lead purposeful lives.
New and updated, the Third Edition of the best-selling Pearson Reviews & Rationales: Comprehensive Review for NCLEX-RN® offers a comprehensive outline review of the essential content areas tested on the NCLEX-RN® exam, including critical areas such as management, delegation, leadership, decision-making, pharmacology, and emergency care. These topics are incorporated throughout, with ample practice questions that simulate actual difficulty levels on the NCLEX-RN® exam. Organized by the Categories of Client Needs, each unit represents one of the Categories of Client Needs and contains chapters that integrate concepts from across the nursing curriculum, providing a uniquely synthesized approach to preparing for the real exam.
The Third Edition provides students with access to Pearson Test Prep–a new web-based application that enables students to practice for the NCLEX anytime and anywhere using their smartphone, tablet, or computer. Pearson Test Prep includes all 1,600 questions from the book, plus an additional 4,000 questions, and features all NCLEX-style question formats. Students can customize their practice experience to focus on specific topics, question types, and areas of difficulty, or simulate a realistic NCLEX-RN® exam. Detailed reporting features help students identify and focus on improving the areas where they need the most attention so they arrive prepared and confident on test day.
Learn about the night sky in this Level 2 nonfiction reader featuring photographs, diagrams, fun facts, and strong visual clues, and perfect for 5–7 year old beginning to read fluently with support. Explore the stars and constellations of the Milky Way and beyond in Stars and Galaxies. From dwarfs to supergiants, learn about the glowing balls of hot gas that make the night sky come alive.
Most people spend a good deal of time and a little more than half of their energy, money and resources in an effort to make their homes more efficient, for both themselves and the planet. But five days a week nearly all of America goes to work, and some spend almost as much time at their place of work as they do at home. With more than 30 million of these workplaces are small businesses, and 18,500 firms of 500 employees or more, the workplace is largely responsible for the other half of the consumption of resources in the United States. More and more people are becoming progressively interested and committed to contributing to the health and “greening” of their workplace, as well as the world at large. Although many people desire to do their part and play a role in the conservation of energy and resources at their workplace most think that it is harder to conserve at work due to circumstances beyond their control, and aren’t aware of how, which or in what ways they can contribute to change. In order to inspire workers to engage in the lowering of the company’s carbon footprint a company must know how to improve and implement change. Jeff Dondero tackles topics such as reorganizing thoughts about traditional ways of supervising employees, alternatives for offsetting carbon footprints, environmental effects businesses have on cities, smarter practices for recycling, and how to effectively use and audit resources.The Energy Wise Workplace provides practical suggestions and innovative ways for increasing the environmental and technological aspects of an efficient office, as well as improving productivity and work environment to keep employees happy and healthy and at the same time saving money. Therefore, whether you’re a worker or the queen bee, “green” is the new black.
This celebration of the Georgian sailor’s diet reveals how the navy’s administrators fed a fleet of more than 150,000 men, in ships that were often at sea for months on end and that had no recourse to either refrigeration or canning. Contrary to the prevailing image of rotten meat and weevily biscuits their diet was a surprisingly hearty mixture of beer, brandy, salt beef and pork, pease, butter, cheese, hard biscuit and the exotic sounding lobscouse, not to mention the Malaga raisins, oranges, lemons, figs, dates and pumpkins which were available to ships on far-distant stations. In fact, by 1800 the British fleet had largely eradicated scurvy and other dietary disorders. While this scholarly work contains much of value to the historian, the author’s popular touch makes this an enthralling story for anyone with an interest in life at sea in the age of sail.
Each section of the test has a comprehensive review that goes into detail to cover all of the content likely to appear on the GED. The practice test questions are each followed by detailed answer explanations. If you miss a question, it's important that you are able to understand the nature of your mistake and how to avoid making it again in the future. The answer explanations will help you to learn from your mistakes and overcome them. Understanding the latest test-taking strategies is essential to preparing you for what you will expect on the exam. A test taker has to not only understand the material that is being covered on the test, but also must be familiar with the strategies that are necessary to properly utilize the time provided and get through the test without making any avoidable errors. Anyone planning to take the GED should take advantage of the review material, practice test questions, and test-taking strategies contained in this study guide.
Trivium Test Prep is an independent test prep study guide company that produces and prints all of our books right here in the USA. Our dedicated professionals know how people think and learn, and have created our GED Review Book based on what research has shown to be the fastest, easiest, and most effective way to prepare for the exam. Unlike other study guides that are stamped out in a generic fashion, our GED Review Book is specifically tailored for your exact needs.
With realistic practice, proven strategies, and expert guidance, Kaplan's GED Test Prep 2018 gives you everything you need to pass the test. Kaplan is the official partner for live online prep for the GED test and our content is 100% aligned with the GED test objectives. While other GED guides are intended for classroom use, our book is designed for self-study so you can prep at your own pace, on your own schedule.
With realistic practice, proven strategies, and expert guidance, Kaplan's GED Test Prep Plus 2018 gives you everything you need to pass the test. Kaplan is the official partner for live online prep for the GED test and our content is 100% aligned with the GED test objectives. While other GED guides are intended for classroom use, our book is designed for self-study so you can prep at your own pace, on your own schedule.
This biography of one of the most famous and recognizable American presidents mark DK's commitment to bringing US history-based biographies to the DK Readers series. In George Washington, the young reader will learn about our first president's childhood, his life as a farmer, statesman, general, and his days as president. The 48-page Level 3 books, designed for children who can read on their own, contain more complex sentence structure and more detail.
Take a bite into the fascinating history of peanut butter and the man who invented it. Through leveled text and engaging photos, kids meet George Washington Carver and learn about his important work with peanuts and other plants. This level 1 reader is carefully leveled for an early independent reading or read aloud experience, perfect to encourage the scientists and explorers of tomorrow!
Readers will be inspired by the amazing story of Helen Keller in this informative biography. They will learn all about her life, her achievements, and the challenges she faced along the way. The Level 2 text provides accessible, yet wide-ranging, information for independent readers.
The most effective method used to influence children to read is to incorporate the information that interests them the most. National Geographic Readers are educational, high-interest, and comprehensive for children. In this title, readers will learn about the fascinating life and legacy civil rights leader Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
Blast off on a trip to discover the fascinating world of meteors. In this image-packed book, kids will learn all about these objects hurtling through space—and into our atmosphere. This level 3 reader is written in an easy-to-grasp style to encourage the scientists and explorers of tomorrow!
Why were mummies mummified? These mysterious corpses provide a fascinating window on the past of cultures worldwide. Mummies has plenty of ghoulish intrigue to keep young readers reading. This irresistible title provides the solid science behind the myths and guarantees a successful and rewarding reading experience for kids at level 2. Mummies is a compelling combination of fun, facts, jokes and captivating photography.
What biography series is complete without a title on the current U.S. President: Barack Obama? The election of an African American president was truly a monumental day in American history. His legacy will live on as a barrier-breaker and a pioneer. Learn all about our 44th President in this fascinating leveled reader.
Discover the fascinating world of Mars in this colorful book packed with amazing imagery. In this inviting and entertaining format, kids will learn about the newest information on Mars, the Mars Rover, and our ongoing exploration of the Red Planet. This level 3 reader is written in an easy-to-grasp style to encourage the scientists and explorers of tomorrow!
NCLEX-PN Q&A Plus! Made Incredibly Easy, 2E is designed to help pre-licensure nursing students in practical and vocational nursing programs prepare to take the licensing examination. Used with Lippincott NCLEX-PN PassPoint, the digital and print resources together act as an ongoing assessment tool to monitor progress throughout the curriculum. The book is divided into seven parts. Part 1 explains the basics of NCLEX test construction and gives ideas to students about how they should prepare. Parts II to V are designed to support the four major content areas of pre-licensure programs: medical-surgical, psychiatric/mental health, maternity, and pediatric nursing. Within these four sections, each begins with a bulleted content review of essential concepts, followed by multiple questions and answers in a side-by-side format. Part VI, "Coordinated Care," emphasizes content areas that go across all the other content areas and are critical for any nurse to know to be a safe and effective practitioner: management/supervision and ethical/legal issues. Part VII consists of two comprehensive tests. One contains 85 questions (the minimum number of items any student taking the NCLEX-PN will receive) and the other contains 205 questions (the maximum number of items any student taking the NCLEX-PN will receive). The product offers more than 4,000 questions that prompt active learning and higher-order thinking. The questions align with the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) 2017 PN test plan, and are written in the style used on the licensing examination. Other features include the use of all alternate-format questions found on the licensing examination, detailed rationale for both correct and incorrect answers, and information about the NCLEX-PN.
Passing the NCLEX-RN exam is not just about what you know--it's about how you think. With expert critical thinking strategies and targeted practice, Kaplan's NCLEX-RN 2017 Strategies, Practice & Review shows you how to leverage your content knowledge to think like a nurse.
Trivium Test Prep’s study materials are created by industry and educational experts. Other study guides simply tell you what is on the test, not how that material is applied or, more importantly, HOW TO STUDY FOR IT. Trivium study guides are different. Our dedicated professionals know how people think and learn, and have created the NCLEX-RN book based on what research has shown to be the fastest, easiest, and most effective way to prepare for the exam. Unlike other study guides that are stamped out in a generic fashion, our NCLEX-RN Practice Test study guide is specifically tailored for your exact needs. We refuse to pad a study guide as a means to convince people there is more information; this is a devious trick used to make you think you are getting more, when really it’s all just wasting your time.
This ultimate NCLEX-RN; review book that "helps you think like a nurse" has been fully updated to incorporate the 2016 test plan. Including more complex case studies to reflect the difficulty of the exam, this comprehensive review encourages active learning to master the content. Each evolving case study is broken down into realistic clinical problems that students can solve only by using the critical thinking skills necessary for the NCLEX-RN exam. Interspersed with over 700 interactive questions and rationales, audio-based questions, and electronic learning resources, the case studies mimic real-life nursing situations and provide models to help students problem-solve when taking the actual test. The review is presented in an enjoyable format without the drudgery of question after unrelated question or medical terminology flashcards. Multiple-choice questions, select all that apply, hot spots, matching, true and false, prioritizing, gaming, and calculations replicate the actual NCLEX-RN exam and keep students engaged throughout the review process. Each nursing specialty features a chapter on its specific pharmacology principles, culminating in a stand-alone chapter solely dedicated to reviewing pharmacological principles. Beyond its utility as an exam review, this resource is also a unique case study book designed to assist instructors in delivering content in an innovative format
Nelson Mandela, who courageously dealt with adversity and emerged a world leader, has been an inspirational role model for millions of people around the world, from students to presidents. After being imprisoned for 27 years, in 1994 he became South Africa's first democratically-elected president and shared the Nobel Peace Prize. Mandela died in 2013, but his legacy lives on as a barrier-breaker and humanitarian. Learn all about his life, especially the challenges he faced and how he persevered, in this thoughtful biography.
This brilliantly illustrated book taps into children's natural curiosity about the vast world of space. This level 2 reader, written in simple language that is easy for young readers to understand, introduces children to our solar system, including all of the planets and dwarf planets, and lots of fascinating fun facts. This reader helps cultivate the explorers of tomorrow!
What won’t we try in our quest for perfect health, beauty, and the fountain of youth?
Well, just imagine a time when doctors prescribed morphine for crying infants. When liquefied gold was touted as immortality in a glass. And when strychnine—yes, that strychnine, the one used in rat poison—was dosed like Viagra. Looking back with fascination, horror, and not a little dash of dark, knowing humor, Quackery recounts the lively, at times unbelievable, history of medical misfires and malpractices. Ranging from the merely weird to the outright dangerous, here are dozens of outlandish, morbidly hilarious “treatments”—conceived by doctors and scientists, by spiritualists and snake oil salesmen (yes, they literally tried to sell snake oil)—that were predicated on a range of cluelessness, trial and error, and straight-up scams. With vintage illustrations, photographs, and advertisements throughout, Quackery seamlessly combines macabre humor with science and storytelling to reveal an important and disturbing side of the ever-evolving field of medicine.
Discover the coolest robots of today and tomorrow in this colorful, photo-packed book. In this inviting and entertaining format, kids will learn about the science behind these amazing machines. This Level 3 reader is written in an easy-to-grasp style to encourage the scientists of tomorrow! National Geographic supports K-12 educators with ELA Common Core Resources.
From dazzling gemstones to sparkling crystals to molten lava, this brilliantly illustrated book introduces children to the exciting world of rocks and minerals, including both the building blocks and the bling. This level two reader, written in easy-to-grasp text, will help cultivate the geologists of tomorrow!
Find out about the life of Rosa Parks and how her actions in Montgomery, Alabama, in 1955 helped end racial segregation in America. This book follows the same standards as other National Geographic Readers with the same careful text, brilliant photographs, and fun approach that kids love. The life story of Rosa Parks has enduring lessons to teach us and this biography should appeal to kids, parents, and teachers.
Explore one of the most recognized figures in American history with this biography of Sacagawea. Kids will learn about her crucial role in the Lewis and Clark expedition and her influential legacy. The level 3 text provides accessible, yet wide-ranging, information for independent readers.
Practice makes perfect with Saunders Q&A Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 7th Edition. This popular review offers more than 6,000 test questions, giving you all the Q&A practice you need to pass the NCLEX-RN® examination! Each question enhances review by including a test-taking strategy, rationales for correct and incorrect answers, and page references to major nursing textbooks. Questions are organized to match the Client Needs and Integrated Processes found in the most recent NCLEX-RN test plan. Q&A practice is also provided on an Evolve companion website, with many study and testing options. From the most trusted name in NCLEX review, Linda Anne Silvestri, this resource is part of the popular Saunders Pyramid to Success.
Why do trees lose their leaves in winter? How do insects hide on bare branches? Let the trees themselves reveal their many secrets to you. Longer sentences and an expanded vocabulary make this series of 48-page books slightly more challenging: Level 2 is appropriate for children who have started to read but still need help. Information boxes full of background information will stimulate inquisitive minds. Written by leading children's authors and compiled in consultation with literacy experts, these engaging books build reader confidence along with a lifelong appreciation for nonfiction, classic stories, and biographies. There is a DK Reader to interest every child at every level, from preschool to grade 4. Stunning photographs combine with lively illustrations and engaging, age-appropriate stories in DK Readers, a multilevel reading program guaranteed to capture children's interest while developing their reading skills and general knowledge.
DK Readers now have a fresh new look featuring redesigned jackets and interiors, and up-to-date vocabulary throughout! Stunning photographs combine with lively illustrations and engaging age-appropriate stories in DK Readers, a multi-level reading program guaranteed to capture children's interest while developing their reading skills and general knowledge.
With DK Readers, children learn to read — then read to learn!
Learn fascinating information about stars with this fact-filled children’s book that includes stunning photographs. Find out how a star is born and how it dies. Watch the stunning sky as it changes during the day. Discover the names of constellations with an exclusive telescope view of your favorites! Explore the vastness of outer space and distant galaxies! All you need is a little imagination
Find out how explorer Christopher Columbus survived great danger on the high seas on his voyages to the New World. Longer sentences and an expanded vocabulary make this series of 48-page books slightly more challenging: Level 2 is appropriate for children who have started to read but still need help. Information boxes full of background information will stimulate inquisitive minds. These books contain between 700 and 850 words, and they are approximately 70 percent pictures and 30 percent text. The Dorling Kindersley Readers combine an enticing visual layout with high-interest, easy-to-read stories to captivate and delight young bookworms who are just getting started. Written by leading children's authors and compiled in consultation with literacy experts, these engaging books build reader confidence along with a lifelong appreciation for nonfiction, classic stories, and biographies. There is a DK Reader to interest every child at every level, from preschool to grade 4.
For each of the 366 days of the year, Brandus offers little-known, fascinating facts; historical anecdotes; and pithy quotations from and about the 45 presidents of the United States--from George Washington to Donald Trump. This Day in Presidential History will surprise its readers with the inside information that Brandus has uncovered in his years on the White House beat.
Learn all about Thomas Edison, one of the most important figures in American history, in this colorful, inviting, and entertaining biography. This carefully leveled reader is written in an easy-to-grasp style to encourage the inventors of tomorrow!
Water is all around us; we drink it every day. In this level 3 reader, kids will learn about the water cycle, discovering how rain and snow flow into our lakes, rivers, and oceans, and later evaporate into the sky again. Vivid photography and accessible text make this book an ideal introduction to the science of water.
What causes thunder and lightning? How do different clouds form? What makes a tornado twist? Kids will discover the answers to these questions and more in this colorful, photo-packed book. In this inviting and entertaining format, kids will discover what causes the weather they experience every day. This level 1 reader is written in an easy-to-grasp style to encourage the meteorologists of tomorrow!
Find out what the president does as you learn about the executive branch of government and see what a day in the life of the commander in chief is really like. This leveled DK Reader will build reading skills while teaching exciting political vocabulary and showing how the leader of the United States helps decide the country's laws, what traditions the president takes part in, and how the POTUS meets with other countries to make sure there is peace and goodwill. Travel to Washington, DC, and take a sneak peek inside the Oval Office to see what it takes to be president in What is the President's Job? Perfect for 5–7 year olds beginning to read fluently with support, Level 2 titles contain carefully selected photographic images to complement the text, providing strong visual clues to build vocabulary and confidence. Additional information spreads are full of extra fun facts, developing the topics through a range of nonfiction presentation styles such as diagrams and activities.
Did you take the right classes in college? Will your major help you get the right job offers? For more than a decade, the national spotlight has focused on science and engineering as the only reliable choice for finding a successful post-grad career. Our destinies have been reduced to a caricature: learn to write computer code or end up behind a counter, pouring coffee. Quietly, though, a different path to success has been taking shape. In YOU CAN DO ANYTHING, George Anders explains the remarkable power of a liberal arts education - and the ways it can open the door to thousands of cutting-edge jobs every week. The key insight: curiosity, creativity, and empathy aren't unruly traits that must be reined in. You can be yourself, as an English major, and thrive in sales. You can segue from anthropology into the booming new field of user research; from classics into management consulting, and from philosophy into high-stakes investing. At any stage of your career, you can bring a humanist's grace to our rapidly evolving high-tech future. And if you know how to attack the job market, your opportunities will be vast. In this book, you will learn why resume-writing is fading in importance and why "telling your story" is taking its place. You will learn how to create jobs that don't exist yet, and to translate your campus achievements into a new style of expression that will make employers' eyes light up. You will discover why people who start in eccentric first jobs - and then make their own luck - so often race ahead of peers whose post-college hunt focuses only on security and starting pay. You will be ready for anything.