Image Map Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion: Recommended Reading and Viewing: 2020 Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month

This guide provides information on books and online resources related to the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion.

About Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month

May is Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month, a celebration of the rich diversity and histories of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in the United States. 

Helpful Community Resources

  • Asian Pacific American Directory- Washington State: An online directory serves as your gateway to connect with Asian American and Pacific Islander community resources. Use this directory to locate organizations that can help you on a wide range of issues, such as social services, cultural organizations, or advocacy groups in your community.

  • Asian Pacific Islander Community Leadership Foundation: ACLF Northwest is a community-based, nonprofit organization that trains and supports the leadership and civic engagement of Asian Pacific Islanders with a commitment to social justice, community empowerment and public service.  

  •  APIChaya:   "API Chaya seeks to end systemic violence in our communities. We have served thousands of people and worked with dozens of community groups for community organizing and education regarding prevention of sexual and domestic violence, exploitation, and human trafficking." 

  • Asian Counseling and Referral Services: ACRS promotes social justice and the well-being and empowerment of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders and other underserved communities – including immigrants, refugees, and American-born – by developing, providing and advocating for innovative, effective and efficient community-based multilingual and multicultural services. ACRS offers counseling and community referral services, a free legal clinic, citizenship/language classes, computer/media workshops, and actively partners with other community organizations for ongoing programming.

  • Asian American Organizations You Need to Know: a list of key career and business organizations serving the Asian-American and Pacific Islander community.

  • Organization of Chinese Americans – Greater Seattle Chapter:  OCA is a national organization dedicated to advancing the social, political, and economic well-being of Asian Pacific Americans in the United States. It supports the civil and voting rights as well as sponsors community needs, such as youth scholarship and healthcare. 

  • NPIEN, National Pacific Islander Education Network: An organization that not only serves the Pacific Islander community, also help any student or community pursue their educational goals. It provides scholarships and awards to students and curriculum resources to educators.

Non-Fiction, Poetry and Pros, Cook Books

Websites for Asian American and Pacific Islander Culture and History

Celebrate Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month with resources compiled by The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.

More online resources:

  • Asian Pacific American Heritage Month - PBS: A collection of documentaries by PBS that explore the history, traditions and culture of Asians and Pacific Islanders in the United States
  • Asian American History Websites – PBS: A rich curricula resource of Asian American subdivided by original Asian countries.
  • Dansho: A Seattle based project with a mission to preserve and share history of the WWII incarceration of Japanese Americans to promote equity and justice today. They provides oral history recording, reference collection and curriculum tools for public.
  • Asian Americans and Seattle's Civil Rights History: A gateway to the Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project resources for exploring the civil rights activism of Asian Americans in the Pacific Northwest.

e-Books

You can access all the following books and many more on Asian American and Pacific Islander in EBSCO Community College eBook Collection on RTC Library Database page.