LibGuides: Medical Assisting: Websites

Need help?

If you're not sure what you need, or how to begin, come in to the RTC Library, call us at (425) 235-2331, or email us at librarian@RTC.edu. We'll be glad to help!

Medical Assisting Web Sites

These are some websites we think you'll find useful. They offer information about national associations and state licensing, sites with information on anatomy, medical terminology, medications, and much more.

American Association of Medical Assistants
News and continuing education opportunities from the professional association of medical assistants.
Drugs.com
Find information about drugs and conditions. Includes an interactions checker, side effects, FDA alerts, a new drugs section, and more.
RxList
RxList provides detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs. Includes a pill-identifier and side-effects information.
EthnoMed
EthnoMed is Harborview Medical Center’s website with medical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups in the Seattle area.
Find a Hospital - Washington Hospital Directory
Looking for work as a hospital custodian? Search for hospitals in Washington state. Information includes links to the hospital home pages and map information.
Healthfinder
A highly recommended gateway to federal government information on health matters.
Human Anatomy Online
Interactive graphics and animations of ten systems, including digestive, muscular, nervous, cardiovascular, and reproductive systems. Also includes information about a variety of health products and tests.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library. Research disease and wellness information in journal articles or a medical encyclopedia, check for drug information, or check your spelling in a medical dictionary.
MedlinePlus en Español
Manténgase actualizado sobre su información de salud con MedlinePlus.
MedTerms.com
MedicineNet.com doctors have defined difficult medical language in easy-to-understand explanations of over 19,000 medical terms.
This medical dictionary provides quick access to hard-to-spell and often misspelled medical definitions through an extensive alphabetical listing.
PubMed
PubMed®, from the National Library of Medicine, contains more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations often include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. (Ask us about Interlibrary Loan if you need an article that is not full text.)
Washington State Department of Health Publications
Information on health issues, listed alphabetically from Abortion to Zoonotic disease.
Washington State Hospital Association
News and links to hospital healthcare in Washington state.
What Did My Doctor Say?
The Medical Library Association created this page to help you understand what a doctor or nurse tells you. You’ll find tips on how to understand many health words.

RTC Medical Assisting Program Page

Medical Assistant
Students in this program learn how to set up patients for examinations, draw blood for basic lab studies, administer medications, perform EKGs, assist with minor surgical procedures, and perform front office tasks related to medical records and billing.
Nursing Assistant - Certified
The Nursing Assistant program prepares students to earn the certification to work in a healthcare setting. It is the first step for students to become Licensed Practical or Registered Nurses.
Registered Nurse, Associate Degree
The two-year Registered Nurse Program will prepare you for a challenging and rewarding career in health care.