Automotive: Automotive

This page provides tips for choosing the best resources for your automotive research.

Deciding What You Need

If you are researching something that isn't repair oriented - for example, new car information, trends in the transportation industry, job searching - try journal and newspaper articles through ProQuest, or the web.

Broad Searches  If you want to see large amounts of information - books, journal articles, DVDs and more -  and you don’t mind glancing at a few things that you might not need, use RTC's OneSearch.

Try OneSearch Now:

Focused Searches  When you know exactly what you need.

• If you need journal articles, click on the Articles tab above, and learn about ProQuest, eLibrary, and other databases.
• If you need books, click on the Books tab, and learn how to find books in the RTC Library Catalog, or eBooks in RTC databases.
• If you need web resources, click on the Web Sites tab. This page lists helpful web sites on many automotive topics. 

Not Finding What You Want?

• Try another way of describing your topic.  Instead of "car" try "automobile". Instead of "movie" try "motion picture".

• Think about the age of the material you need.
  • If you are researching something that is a established fact, try books or encyclopedias (found in the RTC Library Catalog or online in the Gale eBook encyclopedia collection), or eBooks (found in Credo Reference or the Community College eBook collection through the RTC Library Database page). Examples of established facts include "custom car painting", or "shop safety".
  • If you are researching something new, like "the newest Mustang model", try magazine and newspaper articles (found in Gale General OneFile or ProQuest on the database page.)

Need More Help?

If you're not sure what you need, or how to begin, come in to the RTC Library, call us at (425) 235-2331, or email us at librarian@RTC.edu. If it's after hours, try our reference chat service AskWA.  We'll be glad to help.