LibGuides: Culinary Arts: Home

About this page

This page provides tips for choosing the best resources to assist with your culinary research.

Featured Library Resource

Eat a Peach by David Chang; Gabe Ulla
Call Number: 641.5092 CHANG 2020
ISBN: 9781524759216
Publication Date: 2020-09-08
The biography of David Chang, founder of the famous Momofuku Noodle Bar.
Out of Line: A Life of Playing with Fire by Barbara Lynch
Call Number: 641.5092 LYNCH 2017
ISBN: 9781476795447
Publication Date: 2017
"A memoir by the "Top Chef" judge traces her rise from a hard-knocks south Boston childhood to culinary stardom...."
Dumplings All Day Wong by Lee Anne Wong
Call Number: 641.595 WONG-L 2014
ISBN: 9781624140594
Publication Date: 2014-08-19
BECOME A DUMPLING MASTER WITH HELP FROM A TOP CHEF Making delicious, unique dumplings has never been easier with celebrity chef Lee Anne Wong's most coveted recipes and techniques. Each recipe in Dumplings All Day Wong will have you creating one-of-a-kind dumplings that wow your family and friends. Folds such as Potstickers, Gyozas, Shumai, Har Gow, Wontons and more, along with countless fillings and different cooking methods such as steaming, pan-frying, baking or deep-frying, allow you to create awe-inspiring dumplings in innumerable ways.

Resources for Your Culinary Studies

How To Find the Information You Need.

Recipes. If you need recipes, these can be found in the library's large collection of cookbooks, or on the web. To find cookbooks in our collection, click on the Books tab above, and learn how to find books and eBooks in the library catalog. If you want to search for recipes on the web, click on the Web Sites tab. This page lists helpful web sites on many culinary topics.

Some Other Searches: Menu planning, recipe costing, catering skills, and much more.

Broad Searches If you want to see large amounts of information - books, journal articles, DVDs and more - and you don’t mind looking at a few things that you might not need, use RTC's OneSearch or Advanced OneSearch.

Try OneSearch Here:

Focused Searches When you know exactly what you need.

If you need journal articles, click on the Articles tab, and learn about ProQuest, eLibrary, and other databases.
If you need chef biographies, wine resources, or other books, click on the Books tab, and learn how to find books and eBooks in the RTC Library Catalog, as well as finding eBooks in the RTC databases.
If you need web resources, click on the Web Sites tab. This page lists helpful web sites on many culinary topics.

Not Finding What You Want?

Try another way of describing your topic. Instead of "doughnuts" try "pastries". Instead of "Escoffier" try "French cooking".

Think about the age of the material you need.
- If you are researching something that is a established fact, try books or encyclopedias (found in the RTC Catalog or online in the Gale eBook encyclopedia collection), or eBooks (found in Credo Reference or the Community College eBook Collection through the RTC Library Database page). Examples of established facts include "chemistry of cooking", or "life of Antonin Carême".
- If you are researching something new, like "the latest restaurant trends" , try journal and newspaper articles (found in ProQuest or eLibrary on the database page.)

Need More Help?

If you're not sure what you need, or how to begin, come in to the RTC Library, call us at (425) 235-2331, or email us at librarian@RTC.edu. If it's after hours, try our reference chat service AskWA. We'll be glad to help!