Psychology Resources: Articles

This page provides tips for finding journal and magazine articles on psychology topics.

Learn to cite articles by clicking on the "Using APA" tab above.

If you're not sure what you need, or how to begin, come in to the RTC Library, call us at (425) 235-2331, or email us at librarian@RTC.edu. We'll be glad to help!

Two RTC Subscription Databases Offering Millions of Journal and Magazine Articles

• ProQuest - journal and magazine articles on all subjects.
• eLibrary - magazine and newspaper articles and books.

The databases below can be found on the RTC Library Database Page.

Searching ProQuest

Video on Searching ProQuest

Searching ProQuest Quick Start:

• Go to the RTC Library Database Page
• Click on “ProQuest”.
• If you want to limit your search to only databases specializing in certain subjects like health or literature, click the subject where it says "Search Subject Areas".
• Type your terms into the search box. (See image below.)
• Select Scholarly Journals if the article must be from a journal. Select Peer-reviewed if you want research articles.
• Click on the search button. It looks like a magnifying glass.

ProQuest Search Screen

Searching eLibrary

Searching eLibrary Quick Start:

• Go to the RTC Library Database Page.
• Click on “eLibrary”.
• Type your terms into the search box.
• Uncheck the boxes of any format you don't want, in the list below the search box.
• Click on the search button.

eLibrary Search Screen

Searching Directory of Open Access Journals

Searching DOAJ Quick Start

• Go to the DOAJ search link:
• Choose to search for a journal title or an article, and type your search terms in the correct box.
• Review your results.

DOAJ Search Screen

Other databases with journal and magazine articles include: SIRS Discoverer and History Study Center.

Google Scholar is another non-subscription way to find articles.

Wikipedia can often be a good place for some terminology, basic information, and links to better sources for your topic. [Any information you get from Wikipedia must be verified by other sources.]

The library also provides access to the following databases as starting points:

• Credo Reference
• Issues and Controversies
• Opposing Viewpoints, via KCLS (log in with your KCLS library card or RTC Student Account. [mouseover])
• EBSCO Community College eBook Collection – Over 47,000 non-fiction books on science, the humanities and social sciences.
• EBSCOhost eBook Open Access – Over 2700 ebooks from university presses and scholarly publishers on all topics from history to the sciences.
• Exploring Race in Society – Articles, reports, and more covering important issues related to race, diversity, and inclusivity in society today.

Can't Find the Full Text of Your Article in the Database?

We can get the full text of articles from other libraries for your class-related use through Interlibrary Loan. Remember to request your article early, because it sometimes takes a few weeks to obtain it.