LibGuides: Surgical Technologist: Operating Room Hazards

About this page

This page offers books and weblinks to information on hazards in the operating room.

Need help?

If you're not sure what you need, or how to begin, come in to the RTC Library, call us at (425) 235-2331, or email us at librarian@RTC.edu. We'll be glad to help!

Web Sites on Surgery and Safety

This is a sampling of websites dealing with occupational hazards in operating rooms. For more, go to Google and type in a description of your chosen hazard (for example, "surgical smoke")

Healthcare Wide Hazards Module
OSHA training on hazards and solutions to healthcare hazard issues. (Look under 'Modules' for the training modules. "Home" has an extensive glossary.)
Laser Safety and the Eye
Discusses the dangers lasers pose to eyes and how to protect your eyes.
Laser/Electrosurgery Plume
Information from OSHA on 'surgical smoke', methods of preventing or controlling it, and information on labor safety standards.
Occupational Health for Healthcare Providers
Information from OSHA about occupational hazards, information on prevention and screening, statistics, research, and links to articles.
OSHA on Waste Anesthetic Gases
Information about the hazards of waste anesthetic gas and how to mitigate them.
OSHA Technical Manual - Hospital Investigations - Health Hazards
Information on common hospital hazards, and the steps that should be taken to prevent injury.
Technological Advances in Lighting and Booms for the OR: Impact on Infection Control and OR Efficiency
An article from Infection Control Today looking at a new technology affecting safety in the operating room.

Journal Articles on Surgery and Safety

This is a small sampling of articles dealing with occupational hazards in operating rooms. For more, go to the RTC library home page, choose Online Databases, then CINAHL With Full Text, and type in a description of your chosen hazard. (If you are off-campus you will need to log-in with your RTC credentials.)

Gilmore GK. Infection control: IC advances decrease patient and staff risk. Nursing Management. 2001; 32(12): 54-56. doi:10.1097/00006247-200112000-00016. Retrieved from CINAHL with Full Text database.

Norris JL. Fire safety in the operating room. AANA Journal. 1994; 62(4): 342-345. Accessed December 5, 2022. https://search-ebscohost-com.ezproxy.rtc.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=rzh&AN=107456095&site=ehost-live. Retrieved from CINAHL with Full Text database.

Scott E, Beswick A, Wakefield K. The hazards of diathermy plume: part 1: the literature search. British Journal of Perioperative Nursing. 2004; 14(9): 409-414. doi:10.1177/175045890401400904. Retrieved from CINAHL with Full Text database.

Taylor DL III. Home study program. Bloodborne pathogen exposure in the OR -- what research has taught us and where we need to go. AORN Journal. 2006; 83(4): 833-852. doi:10.1016/S0001-2092(06)60004-5. Retrieved from CINAHL with Full Text database.