Image Map Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English: English

Library and web resources for English - speech and writing.

About this page

This page provides tips for choosing the best resources to assist with your English research. NOTE: English Language Acquisition (or ESL) is a separate guide.

Featured Library Resource

Resources for Your English and Speech Studies

RTC Learning Resource Center Writing Support

Bring your assignment or project, including any instructions or rubrics, and a flash drive to building C, Room 102 at the following times:

Monday - Thursday, 11 AM - 6 PM

RTC Tutors will work one-on-one with students from all programs, backgrounds, and skill levels.They will discuss writing strategies, help you identify the strengths and weaknesses of your writing, and show you how to become your own independent editor to proofread and correct errors.

Research for Your Assignments

Broad Searches  If you want to see large amounts of information - books, journal articles, DVDs and more -  and you don’t mind looking at a few things that you might not need, use RTC's OneSearch.

 

Try OneSearch Now:

 

 

Focused Searches  When you know exactly what you need.

  • If you need journal articles, click on the Articles tab, and learn about CINAHL, ProQuest, and other databases.
  •  If you need books, click on the Books tab, and learn how to find books in the RTC Library Catalog, or eBooks in RTC databases.
  • If you need web resources, click on the Web Sites tab. This page lists helpful web sites on many accounting topics. 

 

Not Finding What You Want?

  • Try another way of describing your topic.  Instead of "car" try "automobile". Instead of "movie" try "motion picture".
  • Think about the age of the material you need.
    • If you are researching something that is a established fact, try books or encyclopedias (found in the RTC Catalog or online in the Gale eBook encyclopedia collection), or eBooks (found in Credo Reference or the Community College eBook collection through the RTC Library Database page). Examples of established facts include "the speeches of Franklin D. Roosevelt", or "how to write an essay".
    • If you are researching something new, try journal and newspaper articles (found in ProQuest or eLibrary on the database page.)

 

Need More Help?

 If you're not sure what you need, or how to begin, come in to RTC Library, call us at (425) 232-2331, or email us at librarian@RTC.edu. If it's after hours, try our reference chat service AskWA.  We'll be glad to help.

Subject Guide