Image Map Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Culinary Arts: Home

Library and web resources for culinary and baking students.

About this page

This page provides tips for choosing the best resources to assist with your culinary research.

Featured Library Resource

Resources for Your Culinary Studies

How To Find the Information You Need.

Recipes. If you need recipes, these can be found in the library's large collection of cookbooks, or on the web.  To find cookbooks in our collection, click on the Books tab above, and learn how to find books in the library catalog or eBooks. If you want to search for recipes on the web, click on the Web Sites tab.  This page lists helpful web sites on many culinary  topics.

 

Other Topics.  Menu planning, recipe costing, catering skills, and much more.

Broad Searches  If you want to see large amounts of information - books, journal articles, DVDs and more -  and you don’t mind looking at a few things that you might not need, use RTC's OneSearch.

 

Try OneSearch Now:

 

 

Focused Searches  When you know exactly what you need.

  • If you need journal articles, click on the Articles tab, and learn about ProQuest, eLibrary, and other databases.
  •  If you need chef biographies, wine resources, or other books, click on the Books tab, and learn how to find books in the RTC Library Catalog, or eBooks in RTC databases.
  • If you need web resources, click on the Web Sites tab. This page lists helpful web sites on many culinary topics. 

 

Not Finding What You Want?

  • Try another way of describing your topic.  Instead of "doughnuts" try "pastries". Instead of "Escoffier" try "French cooking".
  • Think about the age of the material you need.
    • If you are researching something that is a established fact, try books or encyclopedias (found in the RTC Catalog or online in the Gale eBook encyclopedia collection), or eBooks (found in Credo Reference or the Community College eBook collection through the RTC Library Database page). Examples of established facts include "chemistry of cooking", or "life of Antonin Carême ".
    • If you are researching something new, like "the latest restaurant trends" , try journal and newspaper articles (found in ProQuest or eLibrary on the database page.)

 

Need More Help?

 If you're not sure what you need, or how to begin, come in to RTC Library, call us at (425) 232-2331, or email us at librarian@RTC.edu. If it's after hours, try our reference chat service AskWA.  We'll be glad to help.

 

Subject Guide