Media Literacy: Resources for Educators

Created by the National Association for Media Literacy Education (NAMLE)

Created by the National Association for Media Literacy Education (NAMLE)

OER Commons has over 100 resources to teach media literacy in the classroom.

News Literacy Project provides a variety of tools to explore news literacy in the classroom, including The Sift, a weekly newsletter about news coverage and recent examples of misinformation, along with prompts and tips for classroom discussions and activities.

Created by the Center for Black Health and Equity, the 30 minute Truth Check course introduces crucial media literacy concepts and strategies for avoiding misinformation. It even includes some practice with realistic scenarios.

The MisinfoDay Library offers a wide range of free virtual content and resources – from workshop recordings from previous MisinfoDay events to gamified learning activities – for educators to bring MisinfoDay to their classrooms and campus! Also, a new MisinfoDay toolkit makes implementation even easier.

Students will reflect on their own media environment, understand how cognitive bias and social media algorithms influence that environment, and learn how to investigate new sources and claims online. These activities culminate in a student-led "social science fair" MisinfoNight event where they present their new skills and knowledge to family members to help them become more savvy information users.

The initiative is developing national guidelines for AI education for K-12, an online, curated resource Directory to facilitate AI instruction, and a community of practitioners, researchers, resource and tool developers focused on the AI for K-12 audience. Click the title link to learn more about this initiative.

As a result of legislation passed in 2019, California is now compiling a collection of resources for teachers, teacher-librarians, administrators, and others. These resources include media literacy curriculum, collections of media literacy lessons, and media production resources.

Downloadable short activities or MediaLit Moments for classrooms. One example is an activity entitled “Checking the Fact-Checkers.”

Critical Media Literacy is defined as the ability to "engage with media through critically examining representations, systems, structures, ideologies, and power dynamics that shape and reproduce culture and society." Use this research guide to find ways to integrate critical media literacy into your classroom activities.

Resources for educators from USC Annenberg examine media literacy and issues such as gender, race and ethnicity, and sexual orientation.

The Digital Inquiry Group (DIG for short) is an independent nonprofit organization established by the team behind the Stanford History Education Group (SHEG). Recent work focuses on preparing young people to be more discerning consumers of the information they encounter online. Empowering learners to make sense of the past and present!

Extensive database of classroom resources organized by medium, concept, and teaching standard.

Founded by Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor to improve civic knowledge and participation. Includes a Media and Influence unit.

A resource for exploring information literacy in the classroom by Ohio State University.

Free online teacher resources and classroom tools from Canada’s Center for Digital and Media Literacy.

Teachers for an Informed Public (TiP) is an organization of teachers and librarians dedicated to bringing digital media literacy skills to their students and communities to help them tell fact from fiction online.

Dennis Small, Educational Technology Director, Washington’s Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction, has compiled a list of resources based on suggestions from Washington educators.

Click for the full list of media literacy education resources recommended by Action for Media Education (AME).

A great way to introduce the concept of "greenwashing," which deceptive marketing to influence customers to believe that a company's products are environmentally friendly or have a greater positive environmental impact than what is true.

Americans tend to agree that online misinformation is a critical problem. There is less agreement about what misinformation is — or how we should address it. This essay describes a framework for examining online rumors, conspiracy theories, and disinformation through the lens of collective sensemaking. This perspective could produce better understandings, new ways to study these phenomena, and alternative approaches for addressing them.

An thought-provoking interview with Harvard Business School professor emerita and author of "Surveillance Capitalism" Shoshana Zuboff.

By Sofiya Noble, author of "Algorithms of Oppression," for Time

By Shirin Ali, for The Hill

By Jonathan Jarry, McGill University. Looks at the moral panic over bicycles and how people react to symbols of changing culture.

"A new national study by Stanford researchers showing a woeful inability by high schoolers to detect fake news on the internet suggests an urgent need for schools to integrate new tools and curriculum into classrooms that boost students’ digital skills, the study's authors say..."

A report by science educators about how to addressing competency in evaluating science information.

This article discusses the evolving nature of search engines, as they begin to generate, index, and distribute content created by generative artificial intelligence (GenAI). Search engines are already answering queries with error-laden, generated content, blurring the origin of the information and impacting the integrity of the information ecosystem.

By Katherine Schulten, for The New York Times

"Information about you, what you buy, where you go, even where you look is the oil that fuels the digital economy."