LibGuides: Databases A-Z: Databases By Subject

Subjects

Subjects include:

Health and Medicine Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Directories

Databases with a $ after them are premium databases RTC Library pays for. (If you're off campus, you may need to log in with your user name (your RTC email address) and your email password.)

Health and Medicine

CINAHL Plus with Full Text $
Nursing and Allied Health journals and magazines. Over 770 titles are full-text.
Gale Academic OneFile
Scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals.
Gale eBooks $
Search Gale encyclopedias for information these subjects: Nursing, Medicine, Biotechnology, Psychology and Mental Health, Education, Law, Multicultural studies, Science, and History.
Gale OneFile Health and Medicine
Health information for students, researchers, and health care professionals.
Nursing Reference Center $
Current information on diseases, patient education resources, drug information, continuing education, lab & diagnosis detail, best practice guidelines, and more.
ProQuest $
Offers journals, magazines, and reference books. Search all of these databases at once: ABI/Inform Trade & Industry, ProQuest Family Health, Research Library, ProQuest Newspapers - including the New York Times and Washington Newsstand.
Kanopy Streaming Video
Hundreds of streaming videos on nursing, culinary arts, sociology, politics, seeking and succeeding at work, and much more.
Directory of Open Access Journals
More than 9000 free full text scholarly and scientific journals.
Drugs.com
Consumer and professional information on over 24,000 medications.
MedlinePlus
Index to articles and webpages on health. MedlinePlus is published by NLM and NIH.
National Academy Press
The publisher of the books authored by the US National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council makes more than 4,000 of those books available free as PDF files.

Automotive

ProQuest $
Offers journals, magazines, and reference books. Search all of these databases at once: ABI/Inform Trade & Industry, ProQuest Family Health, Research Library, ProQuest Newspapers - including the New York Times and Washington Newsstand.
Kanopy Streaming Video
The "Workshop Safety" series includes the video "Working Safely in an Auto Shop." The "Induction" Series includes videos on Safe Lifting, Electrical safety, and eye and ear safety.

Business

EBSCO Community College eBook Collection $
Over 47,000 non-fiction books on science, the humanities and social sciences.
eLibrary $
Search books, journals, newspaper, and magazine articles and television transcripts.
Gale Business Entrepreneurship
Resources for small businesses: sample business plans, how -o guides, articles, and more.
Gale Business Insights: Global
Compare global economies, countries, and industries.
ProQuest $
Offers journals, magazines, and reference books. Search all of these databases at once: ABI/Inform Trade & Industry, ProQuest Family Health, Research Library, ProQuest Newspapers - including the New York Times and Washington Newsstand.
Kanopy Streaming Video
Videos such as "Entrepreneur's Guide On Launching A Business", "Success at Work", and more.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Directories

Credo $
Credo offers 600+ encyclopedias and dictionaries on health, food, history, business, music, literature, biography and more
EBSCO Community College eBook Collection $
Over 47,000 non-fiction books on science, the humanities and social sciences.
Gale eBooks $
Search Gale encyclopedias for information these subjects: Nursing, Medicine, Biotechnology, Psychology and Mental Health, Education, Law, Multicultural studies, Science, and History.

History and Culture

Credo $
Credo offers 600+ encyclopedias and dictionaries on health, food, history, business, music, literature, biography and more
CultureGrams $
Information on the daily life of over 180 world cultures. Also includes population statistics, maps, and pictures.
EBSCO Community College eBook Collection $
Over 47,000 non-fiction books on science, the humanities and social sciences.
Gale eBooks $
Search Gale encyclopedias for information these subjects: Nursing, Medicine, Biotechnology, Psychology and Mental Health, Education, Law, Multicultural studies, Science, and History.
History Study Center $
Learn about US and world history with these books and original documents.
ProQuest $
Offers journals, magazines, and reference books. Search all of these databases at once: ABI/Inform Trade & Industry, ProQuest Family Health, Research Library, ProQuest Newspapers - including the New York Times and Washington Newsstand.
JSTOR
A searchable database of thousand of journals, 1200 of them available in full text. Sign up for Register & Read to get access to free articles.
Kanopy Streaming Video
Videos such as "Race - the Power of an Illusion", "People Like Us - Social Class in America" and the series "Unnatural Causes" explore culture in America and the world.
Gale in Context: College
Magazines, journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links.
Gale in Context: Global Issues
Information on global issues and events.

Literature

Credo $
Credo offers 600+ encyclopedias and dictionaries on health, food, history, business, music, literature, biography and more
EBSCO Community College eBook Collection $
Over 47,000 non-fiction books on science, the humanities and social sciences.
ProQuest $
Offers journals, magazines, and reference books. Search all of these databases at once: ABI/Inform Trade & Industry, ProQuest Family Health, Research Library, ProQuest Newspapers - including the New York Times and Washington Newsstand.
ProQuest Learning: Literature $
Research authors, literary works and literary criticism.
JSTOR
A searchable database of thousand of journals, 1200 of them available in full text. Sign up for Register & Read to get access to free articles.
Directory of Open Access Journals
More than 9000 free full text scholarly and scientific journals.
Kanopy Streaming Video
Videos such as "Shakespeare Behind Bars - A Theater Troupe in Prison."

Technology and Computers

Advanced Technologies and Aerospace
Articles on computers, aerospace, and advanced technology.
Credo $
Credo offers 600+ encyclopedias and dictionaries on health, food, history, business, music, literature, biography and more
EBSCO Community College eBook Collection $
Over 47,000 non-fiction books on science, the humanities and social sciences.
eLibrary $
Search books, journals, newspaper, and magazine articles and television transcripts.
Gale OneFile Computer Science
Business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.
Gale Academic OneFile
Scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals.
ProQuest $
Offers journals, magazines, and reference books. Search all of these databases at once: ABI/Inform Trade & Industry, ProQuest Family Health, Research Library, ProQuest Newspapers - including the New York Times and Washington Newsstand.
Kanopy Streaming Video
Includes videos such as "Parallel Computing" "Working Around Electricity" and "Success at Work".
National Academy Press
The publisher of the books authored by the US National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council makes more than 4,000 of those books available free as PDF files.
Directory of Open Access Journals
More than 9000 free full text scholarly and scientific journals.