Image Map Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Telework: Employee Assistance, Wellness, and Self-Care

Resources and tips for Renton Technical College employees engaged in teleworking during the current coronavirus situation.

SmartHealth (Washington State Health Care Authority)

SmartHealth (Washington State Health Care Authority) offers activities to help you reach your wellness goals.

Why SmartHealth?    Who is eligible?    What are the incentives?   How do I qualify?

This page includes sections on:

  • Employee Assistance Program
    Orientation
  • Online Learning Resources for
    Workforce Development
  • Online Safety Training (WA State
    Dept. of Labor and Industries
  • Dealing with Stress
  • Suicide Prevention
  • Finances and Retirement Planning
  • Work and Career Related Podcasts
  • Managing Bias in the Workplace
  • Ethics as a State Employee

Employee Assistance Program Orientation

Employee Assistance Program (EAP) Webinars
EAP is offering webinars on a variety of COVID-19 related topics to support emotional and mental health and wellbeing. Register for an upcoming live session or view a pre-recorded session on-demand. 

Employee Assistance Program (EAP) Orientation
This is a link to a 14-minute video from the Washington State Employee Assistance Program (EAP).  The EAP helps Washington State public employees find solutions to personal and work-related problems.

Online Learning Resources for Workforce Development

Online Learning Resources for Workforce Development

This websites, prepared by Washington State Department of Enterprise Services, provides the following information;

Technical

Comprehensive, step-by-step instruction on how to effectively usecomputer apps (e.g. Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint, OneNote, etc.) as well as manual skills (e.g. how to use a fire extinguisher, lift a box, etc.).

Customer Service
Taking care of customer needs by providing professional service and assistance before, during, and after customer requirements are met.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI)
This training pathway provides foundational DEI learning and growth opportunities that are a part of successful workplace culture where inclusion and belonging are centered.

Leadership

  • General leadership
    development expands the capacity of individuals to perform in supervisory and influencer roles within teams and organizations.
  • Self-leadership
    is the practice of intentionally influencing your thinking, feeling and actions towards your objectives.
  • Leadership During Crisis
    how leaders can effectively support and influence others and teams to navigate and mitigate times of crisis

Human Resources Training
Resources and information to support the learning and development of human resource professionals.

Workforce Support During Extraordinary Times
resources offered through the Employee Assistance Program (EAP). This pathway is focused on resources of impacts of COVID-19 in our lives and connected to our roles as state employees.

Working Remotely

These resources will help you learn new technology tools, set up your home office, maintain relationships with your colleagues,

Virtual Training

Resources to help training professionals operate in a virtual environment. This includes converting in-person trainings to an online setting, and how to use online tools.

Online Safety Training (WA State Dept. of Labor and Industries)

Online Safety Training Materials
The Washington State Dept. of Labor and Industries (L&I)  has produced a variety of online safety training materials related to the safety and the workplace. 

Accident Prevention Program (APP)

Chemical Hazard Communication

Chemicals

Emergency Washing

Ergonomics and WMSDs

Fire Safety

First Aid

Janitorial Services

Job Safety Analysis

Office Safety and Health

Recordkeeping

Slips, Trips and Falls

Working Alone

Violence on the Job

  Workplace Violence Prevention - Module 1

  Workplace Violence Prevention - Module 2

Dealing With Stress

Videos

Depression & Anxiety: Relations to Stress
From the National Alliance on Mental Health. This video will help you "become more familiar with the impact of depression and anxiety, learn self-care best practices and know about available help and resources." 

Stress Management
The Stress Management workshop will give participants a three-option method for addressing any stressful situation, as well as a toolbox of personal skills, including using routines, relaxation techniques, and a stress log system. 

Anger Management
The Anger Management workshop will help teach participants how to identify their anger triggers and what to do when they get angry. Brought to you by the Washington State Employee Assistance Program, part of the Department of Enterprise Services."

Suicide Prevention

Suicide Prevention
"This webpage, focused on suicide and suicide prevention, is geared toward health, behavioral health, and integrated care leadership, providers, and patients/consumers."  From the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

Suicide in America: Frequently Asked Questions
a 6-page document from the Florida Center of Child Welfare. It includes sections on Who is at Risk, the Warning Signs, and "What Should I Do if I Am in Crisis or Someone I Know Is Considering Suicide?"

Suicide Prevention - What You Need to Know (video)
Presented by: David Luxton, Ph.D., M.S. – a nationally recognized expert and trainer in suicide prevention, telehealth, and innovative technologies in behavioral healthcare. (63 minutes)

Finances and Retirement Planning

Financial Well-Being

In 2015, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) published a 112-page report focusing on financial well-being defined as “a state of being wherein you:

  • Have control over day-to-day, month-to-month finances;
  • Have the capacity to absorb a financial shock;
  • Are on track to meet your financial goals; and
  • Have the financial freedom to make the choices that allow you to enjoy life.”

             See the 3-page summary of the report

TIAA Training Topics  
articles from TIAA (Teachers Insurance and Annuity Association of America) on “Personal Finance 101”, offering “resources to answer your questions on budgeting, saving, investing and buying a home.”

Small Steps Can Make a Big Difference in Financial Well-Being
a short compilation of advice From Rutgers University

Podcasts

Forbes 9 Money Podcasts You Should Be Listening To 

Afford Anything with Paula Pant (podcast)
"On Afford Anything, Paula Pant interviews experts and answers listeners questions on finance, real estate, entrepreneurship, personal development and more. 

Listen, Money Matters with Andrew Fiebert & Thomas Frank
"Andrew and Thomas offer uncensored, straight shooter advice every week over a cold beer. Listen, Money Matters covers tough topics without all the lecturing and while making room for real life."


Retirement

Retirement Planning
Text, video, and webinar information on retirement planning from the WA State Dept. of Retirement Systems.

Consumer Reports articles

Work and Career Related Podcasts

WorkLife with Adam Grant: A TED original podcast
“Organizational psychologist Adam Grant takes you inside the minds of some of the world’s most unusual professionals to explore the science of making work not suck. From learning how to love criticism to harnessing the power of frustration, one thing’s for sure: You’ll never see your job the same way again.”

Finding Mastery with Dr. Michael Gervais
Finding Mastery explores how the best in the world master their craft. Host and high performance psychologist, Dr. Michael Gervais, interviews people excelling in the most hostile environments to discover the mental skills used to push the boundaries

Lead to Win by Michael Hyatt
“On Lead to Win join New York Times bestselling author Michael Hyatt and discover how current research combines with timeless wisdom for lasting success.”

The Tim Ferriss Show
“Each episode, I deconstruct world-class performers from eclectic areas (investing, sports, business, art, etc.) to extract the tactics, tools, and routines you can use. This includes favorite books, morning routines, exercise habits, time-management tricks, and much more.”

Safe For Work
“From Wondery, the network behind Business Wars, Safe For Work is helpful career advice that's lively and fun, just like your work life should be. In every episode, Liz and Rico talks with callers, business leaders and noted know-it-alls who share their hard-earned wisdom from the trenches.”

Managing Bias in the Workplace

Proven Strategies for Managing Bias in the Workplace

In addition to short case studies of workplaces, this 20 page document has sections on :

  • Exploring Unconscious Bias
  • The Necessary Purpose of Bias
  • Exercise of the Unconscious
  • The Deep Impact of Unconscious Bias in the Workplace
  • The Organizational Unconscious
  • How to Deal With Unconscious Bias in the Workplace ... For Better or For Worse
  • Top 10 Ways to Combat Hidden Bias

From Diversity Best Practices, a division of Working Mother Media.


How to Overcome Our Biases: Walk Boldly Towards Them   (TED Talks video)
"
Our biases can be dangerous, even deadly — as we've seen in the cases of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri, and Eric Garner, in Staten Island, New York. Diversity advocate Vernā Myers looks closely at some of the subconscious attitudes we hold toward out-groups. She makes a plea to all people: Acknowledge your biases. Then move toward, not away from, the groups that make you uncomfortable. In a funny, impassioned, important talk, she shows us how.." (18 min.)

Ethics as a State Employee

The Washington State Ethics Board has prepared handouts to be used for ethics training.  While these were prepared for "supervisors, leads and ethics advisors to provide mini training sessions during agency staff meetings on the Ethics in Public Service Act," any state employee can view them.  According to the Board, "each handout discusses one main aspect of the Ethics in Public Service Act and provides scenarios to help state employees understand the issues in a work context."

You can also test your knowledge of Washington State's ethics laws by taking the Online Ethics Quiz

CC License