Image Map Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Telework: Library and Web Resources for Professional Development

Resources and tips for Renton Technical College employees engaged in teleworking during the current coronavirus situation.

RTC Library E-Resources for Professional Development

Articles, E-Books, and Streaming Video:
While engaging in telework, you can still undertake professional development using the many e-resources available through the RTC Library. 
RTC librarians and staff will be accessible to answer any questions you have in using Library resources. 

These resources are limited to RTC students, staff, and faculty so at some point in using them you will be asked to log in with your RTC email login and password.   

‚ÄčIf you need help with the search, please ask a librarian

 

RTC Library LibGuide: RTC Library has prepared LibGuide for a varrious of subjects and learning activities. The followings guides are related to e-resources for professional development. 

Specific Databases of Interest

RTC Library Databases

Renton Technical College Library offers students, faculty and staff in-library and Internet access to these subscription databases. If you are accessing these databases from off-campus, you will be asked for your Renton Technical College email username and password.

  • List of databases by subjects: include Health and Medicine, Automotive, Business, Technology and Computing, History and Culture, Kiterature, and Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Directories. 
  • Help with searching databases: include how to log in, tutorial videos, handouts on searching databases, and how to work on citation with APA nad MLA. 

If you have problem access databases, please click here. You can also arrange an time with librarians for assistance. 

Remote Information Literacy Library Workshop

Library Instruction for Remote Learning

The Renton Technical College Library offers a variety of information literacy workshops for RTC students, faculty and staff. These workshops teach how to find, evaluate and use information more effectively, efficiently and independently. Your RTC Librarians are ready to teach many topics including: 

  • Evaluating information and fake news
  • Avoiding plagiarism/using APA citations
  • General Research skills 

For more workshop topics, go to https://www.rtc.edu/library-workshops, or contact us for materials to use in your own courses through the links below.

How to set up an Instruction Session with a Librarian by:

  • Email: librarian@rtc.edu
  • Form: Request a session here

Professional Development - Print Books

RTC Library has a special "Teaching and Learning Collection" on teaching adults. Faculty are encouraged to check out those books for professional development. Following are some of the books in the collection, there are many more in the library.

Professional Development - Selected Web-Based Resources

The Chronicle of Higher Education - RTC has an institutional account to the Chronicle of Higher Education, which means you have access to the full-content online. To get this access you can

  1. Go to Chronicle.com and click on the “Log In” link at top, right-hand side of the page or go to: www.Chronicle.com/account/create
  2. Choose the “Create an Account” option
  3. Create a free account using your institutional email address

Faculty Focus (Magna Publications)  "free newsletter and website that’s dedicated to higher ed and instructors ... Faculty Focus publishes articles on effective teaching strategies for the online and college classroom."

Inside Higher Ed  "a leading digital media company serving the higher education space. Since our founding in 2004, we have become the go-to online source for higher education news, thought leadership, careers and resources."


Selected Blogs

Educause "EDUCAUSE staff synthesize current topics and invited guest-bloggers share their thoughts on a wide variety of issues and themes important to higher education."

Higher Education Today  "This blog from the American Council on Education features short takes on current news along with longer thought pieces from the Council’s senior leadership"

Diverse Issues in Higher Education  "This blog provides a look at education from many different angles. As the name suggests, it highlights the issues of concern to minorities in education."

Academic Tech Tips  "This blog takes a look at the newest tools and trends that professors and administrators can use in schools. It also provides some help on common tools and how to get the most out of them."


Selected Podcasts (Education)

Higher Ed (NPR)

dotEDU (American Council on Education)

Podcasts  (Lumina Foundation)

Teaching in Higher Education (Association of College and University Educators)

2019 Podcast Favorites (Teaching in Higher Ed)

Teaching in Higher Ed  (Teaching in Higher Ed)

Top 10 Downloaded Teaching in Higher Ed Podcast Episodes (Teaching in Higher Ed)
 

Selected Video Sources

TED Talks   (Possible subjects of interest:  Science, Social Change, Communication, Health,  Personal Growth, Society, Collaboration)

Free Ivy League Courses (Free online courses from Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Penn, Princeton, and Yale)

Khan Academy  (Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more).