LibGuides: Native American Resources: Heritage & Culture

Books in the Library

Native Seattle by Coll Thrush; William Cronon (Foreword by)
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION 979.7772004 THRUSH 2007
Publication Date: 2008
The Coast Salish Peoples by Frank W. Porter (Editor)
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION 970.00497 PORTER 1989
Publication Date: 1989
Northwest Coast Native and Native-Style Art by Lloyd J. Averill; Daphne K. Morris; Wash
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION 704.039797 AVERILL 1995
Publication Date: 1995
A Feast for All Seasons by Andrew George Jr.; Robert Gairns
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION 641.5929707 GEORGE 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Indians and Wannabes: Native American Powwow Dancing in the Northeast and Beyond by Ann M. Axtmann
Call Number: eBook
Coming of Age in Samoa: A Psychological Study of Primitive Youth for Western Civilisation by Margaret Mead
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION 306.0996 MEAD-M 1973
Publication Date: 2001
Tulalip, from My Heart by Harriette Shelton Dover; Darleen Fitzpatrick (Editor); Wayne Williams (Foreword by)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013

Web Resources

HawaiiHistory.org
Indigenous Peoples of California: Related Resources at The Bancroft Library
List of Tribal Museums and Cultural Centers in the U.S.
National Museum of the American Indian
A diverse and multifaceted cultural and educational enterprise, the National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) is an active and visible component of the Smithsonian Institution, the world's largest museum complex.
more...less...
The NMAI cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts, including objects, photographs, archives, and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere, from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego.
National Park of American Samoa
Native American Heritage
Native American cultural resources presented by the National Park Service
Native Land Digital Maps
Native Land Digital creates conversations about the history of colonialism and settler-Indigenous relations, through educational resources such as their maps and Territory Acknowledgement Guide. The maps include the original lands and languages of native groups in the Americas, Oceania, Australia, and parts of Africa. The territories covered by various treaties are also mapped.
Sequoyah National Research Center
University of Washington Libraries Digital Collections: American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection
Introductory essays, 2300 original photographs and 1500 pages of textual sources about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures constitute an award-winning project developed for the Library of Congress' American Memory in partnership with the Museum of History and Industry and the Northwest Museum of Arts & Culture.

Image Archives

Hiser, David. Newspaper Rock Is a Large Cliff Mural of Ancient Indian Petroglyphs and Pictographs, Remarkable for the Clarity of Its Numerous Figures, 05/1972. 1972. The U.S. National Archives. Flickr. Yahoo. 19 Nov. 2015.

American Philosophical Society: Native American Images
National Archives: November - Native American Heritage Month
Northwestern University: Edward S. Curtis's The North American Indian
University of Washington Libraries Digital Collections: American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection
Introductory essays, 2300 original photographs and 1500 pages of textual sources about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures constitute an award-winning project developed for the Library of Congress' American Memory in partnership with the Museum of History and Industry and the Northwest Museum of Arts & Culture.
SovereignStyle Suquamish
Fundraising for the Suquamish community through traditional & contemporary art, culture, hosting and play. Building community, joy & resilience.

Online Streaming Videos

from Seattle Public Library Kids, premiered August 31, 2020.

From Matika Wilbur on July 22, 2017

Thursday July 20, 2017. Day 4 of Canoe journey. Muckleshoot to Suquamish. As we paddled into Suquamish, we could feel the spirit of Salish hospitality— not only by the smell of alder smoked bar-bbq’d salmon and clam bakes in the air, but by the robust melodic songs welcoming us onto their land. In fact, we were so moved by Suquamish’s powerful voices, we decided to inquire more about the significance of their songs…

from Seattle Public Library Kids, premiered August 20, 2020. Learn about Coast Salish Design and get some ideas to create bookmarks and carving soap! Summer of Learning Teaching Artist Ty Juvinel is a Tulalip Tribal member, artist and carver.

"There are many talented weavers within the community like James Bamba, Jose Cruz, and Thomas Torres whose goal is to preserve and perpetuate our culture through the art of weaving."

"UW Poly Day 2015: One Love. Our Love. Empowering Family, Culture, & Community. Featuring the Samoa Segment Pt. I"

Indigenous Cinema
The "National Film Board of Canada's award-winning online Screening Room, featuring over 3,000 productions. . . . [It] includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works. We showcase films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians—stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more."