LibGuides: Nursing Resources: Coronavirus (COVID-19, MERS, SARS)

Free Online News Sources

Many major news outlets were making their Coronavirus coverage available free, even if their content is usually restricted by a pay wall. These are reliable sources who currently offer free virus coverage. (Some of these news outlets have not recently updated their collection of Coronavirus coverage.)

The New York Times
Recently updated as of November 22, 2022.
The Los Angeles Times Coronavirus blog
The Wall Street Journal
The Atlantic
Recently updated as of November 22, 2022.

Library Resources: eBooks, Streaming Media and DVDs

SARS from East to West by Olssan, Eva-Karin.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780739170366
Publication Date: 2012
From the publisher: "(An) international collaboration investigating the first major pandemic in the new millennium, SARS. The SARS case is an excellent example of an emerging contagious disease in an interdependent and interconnected world and provided the bases for how subsequent pandemics, like the bird flu and swine flu, are viewed and managed..."
Rhetoric of a Global Epidemic: transcultural communication about SARS by Huiling Ding
Call Number: eBook.
ISBN: 9780809333202
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
From the publisher: "Huiling Ding uses SARS to explore how various cultures and communities made sense of the epidemic and communicated about it [and] the way knowledge production and legitimation operate in global epidemics..."
DVD - Viral outbreak: The science of emerging disease by DeRisi, Joseph L. et.al.
Call Number: MEDIA 616.9 VIRAL 2011o
Publication Date: 2011
Lectures on epidemiology and the science we use to understand and fight disease.

Outbreak! Contagion! The Next Pandemic!
(Kanopy Streaming Video) One of a 24-part series on infectious diseases, this asks the viewer to visualize the next pandemic.

Resources

Coronavirus/COVID-19 Global Cases
Shows confirmed cases by country and region, graphs of confirmed cases, deaths, and other information. By the Johns Hopkins Center for Systems Science and Engineering.
Center for Disease Control Coronavirus
A summary of the current situation, and links to information for health care professionals, laboratories, and travelers, and more.
Novel Coronavirus Information Center
What we know about Coronaviruses, from Elsevier. Last updated November 10, 2021.
PubMed Articles on the Coronavirus
This link will take you to a list of the latest Coronavirus research available in the National Library of Medicine's PubMed Database.
Seattle Times on the Coronavirus
For local coverage, this link goes to a list of articles published in the Seattle Times on the Coronavirus. (For full text, please contact the library.)
What Kids Want to Know About Coronavirus (NPR)
A comic to teach kids about Coronavirus.
COVID-19 information and resources from King County WA
"COVID-19 is not going away, so it’s important not to let our guard down." From King County Health.
Coronavirus Research Database
Free full text resources from ProQuest on Coronovirus and related diseases. (You'll have to log in, using your RTC email address and password to use this resource.)