LibGuides: Nursing Resources: Web Sites

Nursing Websites

These are some websites we think you'll find useful. They offer information about national associations and state licensing, sites with information on anatomy, medical terminology, medications, nursing dictionaries, state licensing agencies, medication guides, job listings, nursing study sites and more useful web links.

If you're not sure what you need, or how to begin, come in to the RTC Library, call us at (425) 235-2331, or email us at librarian@RTC.edu. We'll be glad to help!

American Nurses Association
Offers news, advocacy, continuing education, and professional networking for nurses.
Anatomy & Physiology by CrashCourse
This series of 49 YouTube videos brought to you by the Green Brothers and subject experts provides a fun and informative introduction to all major body systems and several anatomy and physiology concepts.
Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN)
The AORN website offers continuing education, clinical resources, healthcare news, Clinical FAQs, and more.
Build-A-Body
Build-A-Body is a drag and drop game where players are tasked with assembling an organ system from a set of organs. Players then attempt case studies where a functional problem with a system must be linked to the organ affected. (site sometimes requires multiple tries to load.)
Epocrates
A point-of-care tool that provides information on health conditions/diseases, clinical guidelines, drug information, drug interaction checkers, medical calculators, and more.
EthnoMed
EthnoMed is Harborview Medical Center’s website with medical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups in the Seattle area.
Evaluating Health Information on the Web
How do you evaluate health information you find on the web? This National Institute of Health website offers tips.
Find a Hospital - Washington Hospital Directory
Looking for work as a hospital custodian? Search for hospitals in Washington state. Information includes links to the hospital home pages and map information.
Free Medical Terminology Course through Des Moines University
A free self-paced 15 module online course
Healthfinder
A highly recommended gateway to federal government information on health matters.
Human Anatomy Online
Interactive graphics and animations of ten systems, including digestive, muscular, nervous, cardiovascular, and reproductive systems. Also includes information about a variety of health products and tests.
Immigrant and Refugee Health
This information helps clinicians, public health providers, and resettlement agencies facilitate medical screening, and determine appropriate interventions and services for individuals of a specific refugee group.
Mayo Clinic Resources-Diseases & Conditions
By browsing or keyword searching for a disease or condition, you can easily find images, texts, and resources related to symptoms & causes; diagnosis & treatment.
Medical Conditions
An A-Z list of medical conditions, their diagnosis and treatment. From Penn Medicine.
MedlinePlus
Medline Plus offers information on a variety of Health Topics, Drugs & Supplements, Genetics, Medical Tests, and Videos & Tools.
MedlinePlus en Español
Manténgase actualizado sobre su información de salud con MedlinePlus.
MedTerms.com
MedicineNet.com doctors have defined difficult medical language in easy-to-understand explanations of over 19,000 medical terms.
This medical dictionary provides quick access to hard-to-spell and often misspelled medical definitions through an extensive alphabetical listing.
Merck Manuals
The Merck Manuals are a comprehensive medical information source covering thousands of topics in all fields of medicine. They are offered as a free public service to health care professionals and the general public.
Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary
Brief definitions of medical terms and abbreviations.

Renton Technical College Program Page

Certified Nursing Assistant
Start your nursing career with our Certified Nursing Assistant program. This training prepares you to provide essential care in various settings, emphasizing patient rights, basic nursing skills, and safety. Graduates are ready for certification and have a clear path to advancing in nursing careers.
Registered Nurse
Our two-year Registered Nurse Program offers comprehensive training to prepare you for a rewarding and in-demand career in health care. You'll gain the skills necessary to work in various medical settings, including hospitals, doctor’s offices, and other medical centers. With practical training in our lab and hands-on experience on the job, our students often secure employment even before graduation.

More Nursing Websites

National HIV Curriculum
The National HIV Curriculum is an AIDS Education and Training Center Program and led by the University of Washington.
National Organization for Rare Disorders
The National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD) is “dedicated to individuals with rare diseases and the organizations that serve them”. The webpage, which is available in English and Spanish, has a comprehensive rare disease database and can also connect patients, families, and caregivers with assistance programs.
Nemours KidsHealth
Nemours KidsHealth includes information for parents, kids, teens, and educators. The Parents site, linked here, provides advice on the health, behavior, and development of children from before birth through the teen years, and has easy-to-follow articles, videos, animations, publications, and health instructions.
NNLM Guides and Resources
NNLM maintains more than 40 guides to resources on health related topics. Find a list of them here.
Nursing Commission (Washington State)
Information regarding health care providers, licensing requirements, and professional nursing practice.
Nursing Home Abuse
Different types of patient abuse that can occur in nursing homes and resources for victims and families.
Practical Clinical Skills
Features sample heart sounds, lung sounds, blood pressure and EKG reading lessons and quizzes.
PubChem
The world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations, and more.
PubMed
PubMed®, from the National Library of Medicine, contains more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations often include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. (Ask us about Interlibrary Loan if you need an article that is not full text.)
RxList
RxList provides detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs. Includes a pill-identifier and side-effects information.
TRIP Medical Database
A clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. The basic platform can be accessed for free and upgraded access is available by subscription.
Understanding Health Research
"A tool for making sense of health studies." If you're not sure if a research paper is reliable or not, this tool will give you some questions to consider.
Visual Medical Dictionary
Definitions of medical terms, lists of related terms, and medications.
Washington State Department of Health Publications
Information on health issues, listed alphabetically from Abortion to Zoonotic disease.
Washington State Hospital Association
News and links to hospital healthcare in Washington state.
Washington State Nurses Association
Health industry news and nursing links.
What Did My Doctor Say?
The Medical Library Association created this page to help you understand what a doctor or nurse tells you. You’ll find tips on how to understand many health words.