LibGuides: Nursing Resources: Allied Health Resources Handout

Handout

Printable 2023 Allied Health Resources Handout
A brief guide to journal and ebook databases, websites, and other RTC Library resources for Allied Health students, in a printable PDF handout.

Allied Health Resources

Allied Health Resources at Renton Technical College Library

Finding Paper and eBooks

Go to the RTC Library Home page
Click on Library Catalog.
Type in your search.

Finding Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Articles

To find everything (books, ebooks, and journal, newspaper, and magazine articles) all at once, type your search in the RTC One Search box on the library's main page. (You will also get some items that aren't what you wanted with this search.)

To get more precise results, search the individual databases below:

Go to the RTC Library Database page
Click on the name of the database you want to search. From off-campus you will need to log in, using your student email login and password.

Useful databases:

ProQuest Databases	Covers all subjects, from medicine to current events to the arts. Includes the full text of over 2000 journals, newspapers, and magazines.
CINAHL with Full Text	Covers nursing and allied health. Includes the full text of over 600 journals and magazines with articles on nursing, diseases, health administration, and more.
Gale eBooks	Encyclopedias on nursing, nutrition, psychology, and human development, history, alternative medicine, education, and much more.
Nursing Reference Center	Articles on nursing skills and procedures, diseases, drug information, patient information, and more.

More Help On Finding Resources

RTC Nursing LibGuide at http://libguides.rtc.edu/nursing

Finding Credible Health Information on the Internet

These are US government websites that offer credible, non-commercial health information:

MedlinePlus - http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ - Research disease and wellness information in journal articles or a medical encyclopedia, check for drug information, or check your spelling in a medical dictionary.

MedlinePlus en Español - http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/spanish/ - Póngase al día con su salud en MedlinePlus. Health information in Spanish
PubMed - https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/ - Search databases for professional health literature. Many items are full text.

Other useful sites include:

Washington State Department of Health - https://doh.wa.gov/ - Information on health issues, from adolescents to WIC. Scroll down or look through the drop-down options across the top of the page. A Search Box is also available in the upper right of the page.

RxList - https://www.rxlist.com/ - Information on prescription drugs, and their uses, interactions, side-effects, and a pill-identifier (includes drug comparisons and information on vitamins and supplements).

Questions? Please contact the Library at (425) 235-2331, or librarian@RTC.edu.