Library Resources and Services for Faculty: Linking Directly to Articles

The library subscribes to a variety of academic databases, which allows all RTC faculty and students to use works such as academic journal articles, for academic purposes, without worrying about violating copyright law or paying for individual licensing agreements. Using these works in online or face-to-face classrooms is a great option to help provide students with affordable course materials.

To successfully direct students to specific articles/works in library databases, you will need to provide a "persistent" link to the article. These links are also called "permalinks" or "stable URLs." Persistent links are necessary because library subscription databases are only available off campus by logging in with an RTC username and password.

The following vendors/databases already provide you with persistent links to individual articles:

• EBSCOhost databases (CINAHL, Community College eBook Collection, IT eBook Collection, etc.)
  • Select the title of the article to open the record. On the right, select the "Permalink" icon. Cut and paste the link that is generated. That's it, you're done!
• ProQuest databases (Advanced Technologies & Aerospace, ProQuest)
  • Select the title of the article to open the record, and then select the "Abstract/Details" tab. Cut and paste the "Document URL" that is listed toward that bottom of the page. That's it, you're done!

Here is an example of a persistent link: 

• http://ezproxy.rtc.edu:80/login?url=https://search-proquest-com.ezproxy.rtc.edu/docview/263625400?accountid=1232

If you see a mention of "ezproxy.rtc.edu" in the link, you've got the right link!