LibGuides: Culinary Arts: Web Sites

About this page:

Culinary dictionaries, recipe sites, histories of cooking and food, job listings, and other useful web links.

Need help?

If you're not sure what you need, or how to begin, come in to RTC Library, call us at (425) 235-2331, or email us at librarian@RTC.edu. We'll be glad to help.

Culinary Links

These are some websites we think you'll find useful. They offer information about national and local associations, nutrition, fine dining, recipes and more.

All Recipes.com
Links to recipes, cooking techniques, and product directories.
American Culinary Federation
Read about industry trends, post a resume, find out about competitions and awards.
CDKitchen
Over 120,000 recipes.
Cook's Thesaurus
Information on food, substitutions, and cooking utensils. Lots of pictures.
Cooks.com
One of the most popular recipe sites on the web.
Culinary History Timeline
Links to information on the history of food preparation in the US and around the world. Includes many recipe links.
Epicurious.com
"The world's greatest recipe collection."
Feeding America
"...(A)n online collection of some of the most influential and important American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century."
Food Network.com
Includes an encyclopedia of food, over 25,000 recipes, and information on the cooking shows of the Food Network.
Food.com
One of the most popular recipe sites on the Internet.
Nutrition.gov
Links to information on dietary guidelines, food labels, and the National Nutrient Database (listing nutrients for more than 6,000 foods.)
Recipe Scaler
Need to scale a recipe from 4 servings to 28? Use this tool.
RecipeBridge.com
A dedicated recipe search engine, indexing over 2 million recipes.
Splendid Table
This website for the Minnesota public radio show "The Splendid Table", covers fine dining and cooking. "Boiling Water 101" has tips for cooks of all skill levels.
StarChefs.com
Includes links to web pages of famous chefs! Post your own resume and check out the recipes and wine tips. And see Cookstr for more chef biographies.
Washington State Chefs Association
The state chef's association, for information about employment, education, or local networking opportunities
Washington Hospitality Association
The merged Washington Restaurant Association and Washington Lodging Association.

RTC Culinary Program Pages

Culinary Arts
Our program guides you through professional kitchen practices, from basic knife skills to advanced culinary techniques. Train professionally and qualify to become a certified Culinarian through the American Culinary Federation, ready to excel in the hospitality industry.
Professional Baking
From dough production to retail operations, learn intricate baking skills in a professional kitchen environment. Our curriculum covers bakery math, sanitary practices, and customer service, preparing you to operate a retail bakery to the highest industry standards.