Image Map Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Project-Based Learning: PBL Projects in Basic Studies

Information about various types of Problem-Based Learning and Project-Based Learning

PBL Projects in Basic Studies

Click on the above drop-down menu in this tab to select specific problems/projects that the ELA Foundations classes in Basic Studies are working on.  Each problem/project page includes lists of RTC Library materials available for checkout, links to websites, embedded videos, and other resources.

Finding Books in the RTC Library Catalog

Books will give you in-depth treatment of a subject.  Go to the RTC Library online catalog.

Watch a video on searching for books in the RTC Library catalog.

For electronic books (eBooks) that you can search and download anywhere from the web, go to the RTC Library Online Database page and click on Ebsco Community College eBook Collection. There you will find over 50,000 books on all topics.

Finding Articles in the RTC Library Online Subscription Databases

The RTC Library subscribes to many online databases that provide access to millions of magazine, journal and newspaper articles.  Three of the online databases that have articles on a wide variety of topics are:

  • eLibrary  
  • ProQuest  (the largest database but some of the articles are harder to read and understand)
  • SIRS Discoverer  (smaller database but articles are easier to read and understand)

These online databases can be found on the RTC Library Online Databases page at: http://www.rtc.edu/page/online-databases

To access the databases from off-campus or when using the wireless network, you will be asked to provide your 9-digit RTC student ID number and your last name.