Image Map Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Project-Based Learning: RTC Resources

Information about various types of Problem-Based Learning and Project-Based Learning

RTC Resources

Below are some information about resources that are available here at RTC to help students.  Ask your RTC Librarians for help in finding additional resources on this topic.

Click on this link to go to a page with some additional resources from local, state and national agencies and organizations.

Resources - RTC

RTC has a variety of resources to help students including the services listed below.  Also note the college campus map located at the bottom of this page.
 

Associated Student Government - Visit ASG's Facebook page at http://facebook.com/rentontechnicalcollege  See the Student LibGuide for more info about ASG.


ATM - There is an ATM cash machine in the I Building (Roberts Campus Center Building) outside the cafeteria.


Bookstore - The RTC Bookstore is located on the second floor of the I Building (Campus Center Building). In addition to textbooks, the Bookstore also sells supplies, gifts, snacks and more. The Bookstore also rents out laptop computers for the quarter.  The open hours vary.  For current hours, call the Bookstore at 425-235-2323, send an email to bookstore@rtc.edu or visit their website at http://www.bookstore.rtc.edu


Career Services - Help for students with writing resumes and cover letters, conducting mock interviews, filling out job applications and more!  Contact Michelle Iko at 425-235-2352, ext. 7785 or email her at miko@rtc.edu. http://www.rtc.edu/StudentServices/StudentSuccessCenter/CareerServices/


Certified Background Check for RTC Allied Health Students - Form and instructions for RTC students requesting a certified background check done by CertifiedBackground.com.  http://www.rtc.edu/docs/AlliedHealth_Background_Check.pdf


Computer Lab in the D Building - The D-Building Computer Lab is available for drop-in use whenever there are not classes using the lab.


Dental Clinic - The RTC Dental Clinic is open starting in January 2013. Examinations, cleanings, emergencies, and other dental needs are available by appointment at 425-235-2297. The RTC Dental Clinic accepts cash, Visa or MasterCard for all services.


Directions to College - http://www.rtc.edu/ContactUs/Map/


Email - Students do not need to create their own RTC email accounts as this is done automatically for them the first time they register.  See the full-sheet flyer with more details about student email. The Student Email Support Desk is available Monday - Friday from 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM at 425-235-5200 or send an email to support@rtc.edu.  You will need to provide your RTC Student ID number (SID) when you contact the Support Desk.


Employee Directory - http://www.rtc.edu/ContactUs/EmployeeDirectory/


Financial Aid - Many RTC students are eligible for and receive financial aid. Go to http://rtc.edu/StudentServices/FinancialAid/ for more info about getting financial aid at RTC.


Learning Assessment for Students - Visit http://www.rtc.edu/las or https://las.rtc.edu/Renton/


Learning Resource and Career Center (LRCC):  Free drop-in tutoring center open to all registered RTC students.  No appointment is necessary. It is located in Room C-102 on the first floor of the TRC Building.  The phone number is 425-235-2352, ext. 5721. The LRCC email address is LRC@rtc.edu.  Their math website is http://www.quia.com/files/quia/users/mtc1/home.htm  


Library - The RTC Library helps connect students with information. It has materials available for checkout, computer services, online databases, study rooms and more! It is located on the second floor of the TRC Building in Room C-202.  The Library's regular hours during Fall, Winter and Spring Quarters are:  Mondays - Thursdays from 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM and Fridays from 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM. Visit the Library's website at http://www.rtc.edu/library for more information.


Map of Campus - See the box on this page for a map of the RTC campus and Building Guide.


Online Curriculum Tools - Lists the CBEs (competency-based education) and SBEs (standards-based education) competencies, assessments, activities and assignments for courses at RTC.  http://www.rtccbe.org/


Parking - Free student parking is available in designated parking lots P2, P3, P9, P10 and P12 on the main college campus (see the college map).  Students may not park in staff or visitor parking lots, and may receive tickets and fines for parking in restricted areas. Students need to complete a short form and turn it in to the Registration Office in order to get a free parking permit sticker.


Pay Phones on Campus - There is one pay phone located in front of the D Building (Basic Studies).  Report any problems with the phones to the college's IT Department Help Desk at ext. 5801.


Security Department - Call extension 7871 from any campus telephone.  Call 425-235-7871 from any cell or pay phone or from off campus.  In case of an emergency, call 911.  The Security Department Office is located in the N Building.


Student Forms - At http://www.rtc.edu/StudentServices/Forms/ you will find various forms including registration forms, transcript request forms, certified background check forms and more.


Student Handbookhttp://www.rtc.edu/sites/default/files/pdf-files/publications/StudentHandbook/20140924_RTC_Student_handbook_14-15.pdf


Student Services - Vocational and career counseling is available in the Student Services Department which is located on the second floor of the I Building (Campus Center Building).  Call 425-235-5840 to schedule an appointment.  To correct address and phone number in student registration database, go to http://www.rtc.edu and click on Online Services, then click on Change My Contact Info, enter student ID number and PIN number (birthday in mmddyy format) and make appropriate changes.


Testing Center - The Testing Center administers COMPASS and GED tests.  It is located on the second floor of the J Building in J-219.  For more info, call 425-235-2352, ext. 5704 or visit their website at http://www.rtc.edu/StudentServices/TestingCenter/


Universal Design for Learning (UDL) - The College Spark grant provides workshops for students on studying and learning strategies and individual help for instructors on how to incorporate UDL into their curriculum.  Ask your instructor for more information about how UDL strategies can help you.


Wireless Internet Connection - The college has wireless network available throughout the campus.  The wireless connection is unsecured so please use it at your own risk and don't send sensitive or private info via the wireless network.