Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), a division of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), which is part of the Department of Health and Human Services, is the lead Federal government agency for behavioral health data and research.
| All SAMHSA Reports. A sortable list of over 2,500 reports, with links to sub-lists on the left and a Search Box in the upper left. Quick Statistics - Reports and Data Tables from four of their most used surveys. Frequently Asked Questions |
The Drug Abuse Warning Network (DAWN) is a nationwide public health system that collects anonymous data on emergency department visits related to recent substance use or misuse directly from the electronic health records of participating hospitals. The reports include both prescription and non-prescription drugs. (scroll down for reports) | The Mental Health Client-Level Data (MH-CLD) system works with states to collect data on the demographic, clinical, and outcome characteristics of individuals receiving mental health treatment services. Available as an annual report (scroll down, as of 6 September, 2023, the most recent report was 2020). |
| The National Mental Health Services Survey (N-MHSS) provides national- and state-level data on the mental health services delivery system, reported by both publicly and privately operated specialty mental health treatment facilities. | The National Survey of Substance Abuse Treatment Services (N-SSATS) is an annual census of treatment facilities. Information is collected on the location, organization, structure, services, and utilization of substance abuse treatment facilities in the United States. | The National Substance Use and Mental Health Services Survey (N-SUMHSS) surveys all substance use and mental health treatment facilities in the United States, its territories, and the District of Columbia. (scroll down for reports and tables) |
| The National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH), provides nationally representative data on the use of tobacco, alcohol, and illicit drugs; substance use disorders; receipt of substance use treatment; mental health issues; and the use of mental health services among the civilian, noninstitutionalized population aged 12 or older in the United States. (scroll down for reports) | Treatment Episode Data Set (TEDS) - When receiving substance abuse treatment, individual people can be admitted and discharged from treatment multiple times. TEDS contains demographic and drug history information about these individuals. (scroll down for Annual Reports) | The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) provides SAMHSA public use data with online analysis tools. SAMHSA collects data through multiple sources and surveys and provides access to public-use data files and documentation to support a better understanding of mental illness and substance use disorders in America. The data is drawn from the surveys described elsewhere in this grid. |
| Publications With SAMHSA Data - The SAMHDA list of publications provides quick access to an extensive searchable bibliography of the peer-reviewed studies that have used SAMHSA data to advance the field of research related to mental health and substance use. | Publications and Digital Products - over 700 SAMSHA publications available as free downloads. The publications can sorted by date and relevance, subdivided into categories (left side of page), and there is a keyword Search Box in the upper left. |
Back to Federal Statistical System List