The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) is a part of the Department of Energy. The EIA collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial information about energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports, and prices; preparing analyses and special reports on topics of current interest to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interactions with the economy and the environment.
The EIA's A-Z Index can help you find what you are looking for. It is an alphabetical listing of select content on the EIA website, structured so that synonyms, acronyms, and cross-referencing provide multiple ways for you to access information.
The EIA Glossary includes definitions of technical terms, acronyms, and more.
There is also a Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) page that addresses questions about Coal, Conversion & Equivalents, Diesel, Electricity, Environment, Gasoline, General Energy, Natural Gas, Nuclear, Oil/Petroleum, Prices, and Renewables.
The EIA website is organized into six different categories: Sources & Uses, Topics, Geography, Tools, Learn About Energy, and News ('More Resources' has nifty stuff that didn't fit elsewhere). These categories can be reached through the tabs near the top of this box.
Note: the 'Data', 'Analysis & Projections', and some other headings on various pages, have a drop-down triangle to their right, click the triangle for additional sub-categories.
Back to Federal Statistical System List
Sources & Uses contains links to:
| Petroleum & Other Liquids contains an Overview of petroleum information (scroll down the page). Data contains statistics on crude oil, gasoline, diesel, propane, jet fuel, ethanol, and other liquid fuels. Includes information on petroleum prices, crude reserves and production, refining and processing, imports/exports, movements, stocks, and consumption/sales. Analysis & Projections contains analyses about both the whole oil market and various sections of it. The database can be searched by Tags, Fuel Source, Reports, Geography, and Subject. The search results can be sorted by data and by publication type. This Week in Petroleum and Weekly Petroleum Status Report are also available. |
Coal contains an Overview of coal information (scroll down the page). Data contains Summary information, Prices, Reserves, Consumption, Production, Stocks, Imports, Exports & Distribution, Metallurgical coal, Coal-fired electric power plants, and Transportation costs to electric power sector. Analysis & Projections contains analyses about both the whole coal market and various sections of it. The database can be searched by Tags, Fuel Source, Reports, Geography, and Subject. The search results can be sorted by data and by publication type. The Quarterly Coal Report (QCR) provides detailed quarterly data on U.S. coal production, exports, imports, receipts, prices, consumption, quality, stocks and refined coal. Data on U.S. coke production, consumption, stocks, imports, and exports, is included. The Coal Data Browser enables you to search for statistics about coal, and many pre-generated reports. |
Natural Gas contains an Overview of Natural Gas information (scroll down the page). Data contains Summary Information, Prices, Exploration & Reserves, Production, Imports/Exports, Pipelines, Storage, and Consumption of Natural Gas. Analysis & Projections contains analyses about both the whole coal market and various sections of it. The database can be searched by Tags, Fuel Source, Reports, Geography, and Subject. The search results can be sorted by data and by publication type. The Weekly Natural Gas Storage Report and the Natural Gas Weekly Update are also available. |
Renewable & Alternative Fuels contains an Overview of Renewable & Alternative Fuels information (scroll down the page). Data contains Summary Information, Biofuels, Geothermal, Hydropower, Solar/Photovoltaic, Wind, and Alternative transportation fuels. Analysis & Projections contains analyses about both the whole Renewable & Alternative Fuels market and various sections of it. The database can be searched by Tags, Fuel Source, Reports, Geography, and Subject. The search results can be sorted by data and by publication type. Alternative Fuel Vehicle Data includes an Overview. Fleet & Fuel Data, and Supplier Data (several different energy sources are discussed) are also available. |
The Electricity page contains an Overview of Electrical information (scroll down the page). Data contains a lot of information - Summary Information, and information on Sales (consumption), Revenue, Prices & Customers, Net Metering, Generation and Thermal Output, Capacity of Electric Power Plants, Consumption of Fuels used to Generate Electricity, Receipts of Fossil-fuels for Electricity Generation, Average cost of Fossil-fuels for Electricity Generation, Fossil-fuel stocks for Electricity Generation, Cost, Revenue & Expenses, Electricity Transactions, Reliability, Demand-side Management Program, as well as Electricity and the Environment. Analysis & Projections contains analyses about both the whole Electricity market and various sections of it. The database can be searched by Tags, Fuel Source, Reports, Geography, and Subject. The search results can be sorted by data and by publication type. Electric Power Monthly and Electricity Data Browser are also worth looking at.
|
Nuclear & Uranium contains an Overview of information about (you guessed it!) nuclear reactors and their fuel. Data contains information about Nuclear power plants, Uranium (nuclear fuel), and Spent nuclear fuel (radioactive waste). Analysis & Projections contains analyses about both the use of Nuclear Power and related topics. The database can be searched by Tags, Fuel Source, Reports, Geography, and Subject. The search results can be sorted by data and by publication type. Information on the Status of Nuclear Outages is available (interactive map, plant names, and more).
|
| The Consumption & Efficiency page contains an Overview of the roles of consumption and efficiency in our power system. Data has information on Residential Energy Consumption, Commercial Buildings Energy Consumption, and Manufacturing Energy Consumption. Analysis & Projection covers the topics: Commercial, Efficiency, Forecasts/projections, Manufacturing, Residential, Transportation, and - of course - 'most popular reports' and 'all reports'. Much more information is available in the Residential Energy Consumption and the Commercial Building Energy Consumption surveys (including data as far back as 1979) |
The Total Energy page contains an Overview of the entire energy sector of the economy. Data presents recent and historical (monthly and annual) U.S. energy statistics. This includes total energy production, consumption, stocks, and trade; energy prices; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, and carbon dioxide emissions; and data unit conversions values. This includes annual data as far back as 1949 for those data tables that are found in both the Annual Energy Review (AER) and the MER. Analysis & Projection anticipates the future of U.S. energy usage. |
Back to Federal Statistical System List
The ‘Four Topics’ (Analysis & Projection, Environment, Markets & Finance, Energy Disruptions):
| Analysis & Projections has a variety of information about Current Issues & Trends. The page also has projections about future energy needs: Monthly short-term forecasts through the next calendar year The available projections also includes these topics:
Several of these databases and files can be searched by: |
The Environment pages begin with Overviews of environmental data on carbon dioxide emissions from energy and industry, by consuming sector (residential, commercial, industrial, transportation, electric power), and other emissions. The Data link leads to additional information about electric power plants and emissions. Analysis & Projections:
Several of these databases and files can be searched by: |
|
Markets & Finance - financial market analysis, and financial data for major energy companies. Market Prices and Uncertainty Report Charts What drives crude oil prices: |
Energy Disruptions:
Hurricanes, Cyclones and Typhoons Map
Flooding Map
Wildfires Map |
Back to Federal Statistical System List
U.S. States - state energy information, including overview, rankings, data, and analysis.
Information from EIA's State Energy Profiles and other existing products. See State Energy Profiles to view data, analysis, maps, and rankings in EIA's previous format.
|
Energy Source Coal Crude oil and petroleum products Electricity Natural gas Nuclear and uranium Renewables Total energy |
Activity Price Demand Movements Storage Supply Future supply |
Back to Federal Statistical System List
| Glossary - one of the most important tools that the Energy Information Administration provides! Find out what those words or acronyms mean! A to Z Index - a listing of topics, data, publications, and countries; structured so that synonyms, acronyms, and cross-referencing provide multiple ways for you to access information. |
All Reports and Publications - search by Tags, Fuel Source, Reports, Geography, or Subject. Or scroll down to Sources & Uses and search the lists of reports. (Another approach is available under the 'More Resources' tab on this LibGuide page.) |
|
Data Tools, Apps, and Maps: you can access a lot of information here. |
All survey forms used by EIA to collect energy data are listed at this link. The forms include descriptions and links to survey instructions and additional information. |
|
OPEN DATA: The Energy Information Administration is committed to making Data is available about Electricity, Natural Gas, Petroleum, Crude oil imports, |
Sign up for email subscriptions to receive messages about specific Energy Information Administration data products. Subscribe to RSS feeds for updates on Energy Information Administration products, including "Today in Energy", "What's New?", and much more. |
Back to Federal Statistical System List
| Today in Energy: Short timely articles with graphics on energy, facts, issues, and trends. | Glossary - one of the most important tools that the Energy Information Administration provides! Find out what those words or acronyms mean! |
Energy Explained:
|
A to Z Index - a listing of topics, data, publications, and countries; structured so that synonyms, acronyms, and cross-referencing provide multiple ways for you to access information. Frequently Asked Questions: |
| For Teachers: Lesson plans, science fair experiments, field trips, teacher guide, related links, and career corner. |
Energy Kids - Explore Energy with Energy Ant! Sections include: What is Energy?, Energy Sources, Using and Saving Energy, History of Energy, Games and Activities with Energy Ant, For Teachers, Energy Calculators, and Kid's Glossary. |
Back to Federal Statistical System List
| What's New? Links to recent publications. |
All Reports & Publications Daily, Weekly, Monthly, Quarterly, Reports. |
| Press Room |
Featured Reports |
Back to Federal Statistical System List
|
U.S. Energy Information Administration Resources
EIA State and Regional Dashboards and Data |
EIA Regional Transportation Fuel Market Primers U.S. Department of Energy National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Today in Energy |
|
PETROLEUM & OTHER LIQUIDS See more
|
NATURAL GAS See more
|
|
ELECTRICITY See more
|
COAL See more
|
|
Nuclear & Uranium See more
|
Consumption & Efficency See more
|
|
ANALYSIS & PROJECTIONS See more
|
MARKETS & FINANCE See more
|
|
U. S. STATES & COUNTRIES See more
|
INTERNATIONAL See more
|
|
Special Reports
|
Basic Energy Information
|
Back to Federal Statistical System List