Image Map Skip to Main Content

Government Information, Statistics, and more!: U.S. Immigration / Citizenship

This LibGuide is an annotated list of government, statistical, and reference information websites.

Immigration and Citizenship

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services:

Topics - links to nearly every part of the USCIS website, if you don't see what you are looking for elsewhere on this LibGuide page try clicking on 'Topics'.

Forms - Use this section to find and download forms, file an application online, and learn about eligibility and filing requirements.

Newsroom - find the latest press releases, Immigration and Citizenship data and reports (lots of information!), the USCIS Electronic Reading Room (access to information identified under the Freedom of Information Act), and more.

Citizenship Resource Center - helpful resources and free study materials for a variety of people, including: Immigrants interested in becoming U.S. citizens, Educators, and Organizations interested in supporting immigrants in becoming citizens and assisting them to integrate into American civic society.

Green Card (Permanent Resident Card) - eligibility, process, procedures, and answers.

Humanitarian - Find information on temporary protected status (TPS); deferred action for childhood arrivals (DACA); protections for battered family members; humanitarian parole; refugees and asylum; victims of crimes; special situations, female genital mutilation or cutting (FGM/C); and forced marriage.

Laws - information on laws, regulations, policies, other authorities, and instructive materials and notices, including links to executive orders, AAO decisions, DOJ Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA) decisions, handbooks, practice manuals, relevant court orders, and settlement agreements, that USCIS and other immigration-related components of the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) follow.
Check Case Status Online - Use this tool to track the status of an immigration application, petition, or request. Glossary - Use this dictionary to look up a definition or explanation of a topic. Scroll down, Search, or click on the letter your word begins with. A-Z Index - Use this list to locate relevant information. Select the letter your word begins with.
Tools - USCIS tools and resources. Links to many particularly useful parts of the USCIS website, if you don't see what you are looking for elsewhere on this LibGuide page try clicking on Tools. The 2008 Civics Practice Test study tool tests your knowledge of U.S. history and government. Use this online tool to prepare for the civics portion of the naturalization test. (The civics practice test is available in Spanish, but the actual test is in English.) History - Links to the history of federal immigration and naturalization services, from 1891 to today. Includes a historical library and research guides for researching topics and events, and for researching individuals.
How Do I Guides - a third way to search for what you need. Read through the list and select the option that best describes your information need. Archived Content - The information linked to from this page is out of date. However, if your interest in USCIS is historical some documents may still be useful. Reports and Studies - links to many different official reports on U. S. Citizenship and Immigration Service efforts and activities (includes some information about other Federal agencies, bureaus, and departments).

The Office of Refugee Resettlement (ORR) provides new populations with the opportunity to achieve their full potential in the United States. Their programs provide people in need with critical resources to assist them in becoming integrated members of American society. Their Resources page may answer some of the questions you have, and there is a link to the ORR Resource Library.

U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) is one of the world's largest law enforcement organizations and is charged with keeping terrorists and their weapons out of the U.S. while facilitating lawful international travel and trade. As the United States’ unified border entity, CBP is responsible for border management and control, combining customs, immigration, border security, and agricultural protection into one coordinated and supportive activity. Their website provides information about:

  • Travel information for international travelers and returning U.S. citizens. Descriptions of CBP processes and programs are available for first-time and frequent travelers.
  • Trade: information (including statistics) about how CBP facilitates legitimate trade, enforces laws, and ensures consumer safety.
  • Border Security: CBP keeps terrorists and their weapons from entering the U.S. while welcoming all legitimate travelers and commerce. CBP officers and agents enforce all applicable U.S. laws, including against illegal immigration, narcotics smuggling and illegal importation.
  • Newsroom: The Newsroom section contains a wide variety of news from CBP, including media releases, photo and video galleries, fact sheets and publications. This section also includes Frontline, a monthly, multimedia publication.

U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement: Border control and immigration enforcement are the responsibility of Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE). Their site includes an 'Information Library', with information on Detention Policies, Facility Inspections, Fact Sheets, Forms, ICE.gov Metrics, Speeches & Testimonies, Press Releases, Statistics (as of 2020), and more.