Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF):
The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives offers a variety of statistical data on Firearms, and descriptions and backgrounds on their work with alcohol and tobacco. They also provide Fact Sheets, information about Asset Forfeiture, and a Publications Library.
The Federal Bureau of Investigation:
The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) is the domestic intelligence and security service of the United States and its principal federal law enforcement agency. It operates under the jurisdiction of the United States Department of Justice. The FBI focuses on a number of different areas of investigation and enforcement, among them: Civil Rights, Counterintelligence, Cyber Crime, Public Corruption, Organized Crime, Terrorism, Violent Crime, Weapons of Mass Destruction, and White-Collar Crime.
The FBI website also offers a News Blog, Podcasts, Press Releases, Stories, Speeches, Testimony, and Videos. The FBI's Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) offers several interesting resources, including a newsletter for law enforcement, the CJIS Link, and the CJIS Year in Review.
The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program provides reliable statistics for use in law enforcement and by students of criminal justice, researchers, the media, and the public. The program has been providing crime statistics since 1930. Specific UCR programs include the National Incident-Based Reporting System, Hate Crime Statistics, National Use-of-Force Data Collection, Crime Data Explorer, and UCR Publications. Also interesting is The Vault, the FBI's Freedom Of Information Act Library, containing digital copies of 6,700 documents.
Drug Enforcement Administration
"The DEA's mission is to enforce the controlled substances laws and regulations of the U.S. and bring to the criminal and civil justice system those organizations and principal members of organizations, involved in the growing, manufacture, or distribution of controlled substances appearing in or destined for illicit traffic in the United States; and to recommend and support non-enforcement programs aimed at reducing the availability of illicit controlled substances on the domestic and international markets."
In service of those goals the DEA maintains statistics about its work, a webpage about drug use education and prevention, provides information about its law enforcement efforts, publications and manuals (and another page of publications), a variety of resources about drug regulation (including drug disposal), a page of news and press releases, a media gallery with drug images, and public service announcements, a Victim Witness Assistance Program page, a page on drug information (facts, scheduling, policies, etc.), information about recovery resources, information about how to use the Freedom of Information Act to access DEA records, and a webpage on the DEA Museum!
INTERPOL, the International Criminal Police Organization, is the world’s largest international police organization, with 195 member countries. INTERPOL Washington operates 24/7/365 and supports more than 18,000 local, state, federal, and tribal law enforcement agencies in the United States as well as their foreign counterparts that seek assistance in criminal investigations that extend beyond their national borders.
The INTERPOL Washington website includes a searchbox enabling you to search many years of news releases by the agency. Another page provides links to the 'Most Wanted' lists provided by associated law enforcement agencies. The INTERPOL Washington website also has a page with some help for submitting a Freedom of Information Act Request.
"The U.S. Marshals Service's mission is to enforce federal laws and provide support to virtually all elements of the federal justice system by providing for the security of federal court facilities and the safety of judges and other court personnel; apprehending criminals; exercising custody of federal prisoners and providing for their security and transportation to correctional facilities; executing federal court orders; seizing assets gained by illegal means and providing for the custody, management, and disposal of forfeited assets; assuring the safety of endangered government witnesses and their families; and collecting and disbursing funds."
The U.S. Marshals Service website contains historical information about the Service, about their Tactical Operations Division (TOD), the Body Worn Camera Program (BWCP), a Media Advisory and Site Map page, Press Releases, news about the Most Wanted, Stories about the Service, how to submit a tip using mobile devices, Fact Sheets about the activities of the Service over the last four years, a Photo Gallery, Video Gallery, and several Publications.
Charged with ensuring “that the laws be faithfully executed,” the United States Attorneys work to enforce federal laws throughout the country, and a United States Attorney is appointed to each of the federal districts by the President with the advice and consent of the United States Senate. The United States Attorney is the chief federal law enforcement officer in their district and is also involved in civil litigation where the United States is a party. Their website enables searching for United States Attorney Office (USAO) press releases and videos. There is a USAO Social Media Directory, listing their social media accounts. The USAO Resources section releases a variety of reports under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) in order to provide the public with access to federal government records. The public may also request additional records under FOIA and the Privacy Act.
|
|
The Department of Homeland Security's mission is broad and diverse, it covers everything from counterterrorism to maritime and border security, from protection of national leaders to coordinating the federal government's response to natural disasters.
IRS Criminal Investigations Division
In the American system of taxation all income is taxable (including illegally earned income). Criminal Investigation fulfills the important role of helping to ensure the integrity and fairness of the tax system of the United States of America.
Postal Inspectors investigate any crime related to the mail. These crimes include mail theft, mail fraud, financial fraud, identity theft, robberies and burglaries of postal facilities, assaults and threats on postal employees, investigations of dangerous and prohibited mails, narcotics, cybercrime and much more.
The Secret Service has an integrated mission of protection and financial investigations to ensure the safety and security of our protectees, key locations, and events of national significance. We also protect the integrity of our currency and investigate crimes against the U.S. financial system committed by criminals around the world and in cyberspace.
Secret Service