This page contains descriptions of and links to:
The loose commonality between these organizations is that they study which people are where, and what is happening with them. The organizations on this page are a small sample of the very many governmental and nongovernmental organizations that are working on many many different problems and have many different collections of information about those problems and the people affected by them. If there is a kind of information that you would like to be able to find through this LibGuide please let us know - asking us to help you find information is asking us to do what we love to do!
Worldometer is published by a small independent digital media company based in the United States, with no political, governmental, or corporate affiliation, no investors, donors, grants, or backers of any type. They are completely independent and self-financed through automated programmatic advertising sold in real time on multiple ad exchanges (you may ignore the advertising on the Worldometer site). Worldometer was voted as one of the best free reference websites(PDF) by the American Library Association (ALA), and is cited as a source in over 10,000 published books and in more than 25,000 professional journal articles.
Worldometer offers statistics on the Corona Virus Pandemic (Updates, Graphs, Countries, Death Rate, Incubation, Age, Symptoms, Weekly Trends, and News).
Worldometer's original and continuing focus is World Population.
Worldometer is available in the following languages. They plan to add more languages when they get a chance.
Yet another way to search the site: this phrasing - worldometer site:worldometers.info - in a Google Search Box will give you a list of all the pages in the Worldometer Site.
The Population Reference Bureau helps organizations with population, health, and environmental issues. They research and analyze demographic, social, and economic trends, in the United States and globally, to help improve people's well-being and contribute to positive social change in low- and middle-income countries. Their analysis fits into these categories:
The PRB also offers the 2023 World Population Data Sheet (earlier versions), which provides demographic data about a population (age, gender, socioeconomic status, etc.) which can help identify who may be more vulnerable to the effects of climate change. The PRB also offers a searchable resource library with data on policies, population, health, and environmental issues. They have an interesting collection of demographic projects they are working on or have completed. And they have some very interesting demographic data on the United States (as a whole and by state) and Internationally (by region and country).
Data USA provide public US Government data in easy to read formats.
The Netherlands Interdisciplinary Demographic Institute (NIDI) organizes their research around four themes: Ageing & Longevity, Families & Generations, Migration & Migrants, and Work & Retirement. They also focus on data infrastructure, policy, and dissemination issues across those four themes. They also provide two decades of publications, some in Dutch and many in English.
The American Association of Retired People (AARP) offers a variety of information on aging issues, with their Aging Readiness & Competitiveness Reports offering "real-world solutions to help facilitate equity in healthy aging".
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan ‘fact tank’ that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. They are nonprofit, nonpartisan and nonadvocacy.
Some of the topics they cover are:
|
Or, looking at Regions & Countries:
And they present information in different Formats:
The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries.
| Countries | Data | Publications | Methodology | Research | Topics |
The website was being 'updated' when this entry was written, but the above links should still work. The Countries link leads to a list of the very many countries that they have information about. Data leads to a page with lots of information about analyzing datasets. Publications leads to - on the left - both a journal article search (usually only the citation and abstract is available, the RTC Library can help you get the article) and a publications search, or search by publication type (many publications can be downloaded). Methodology leads to a page with a great deal of information on their surveys. Research leads to a page with information on their most recent and earlier research. And Topics is exactly that, a list of the topics they use to sort their research into groups of information:
Nine Activist Groups (not many statistics, but lots of information useful for putting your statistics in context):
| Amnesty International: through detailed research and determined campaigning they help fight abuses of human rights worldwide. The site includes a list of the countries they are working in, and an extensive library of news, blogs, films and reports, updated daily. |
| Environmental Defense Fund: For over 50 years, using science, economics, and innovative solutions, the EDF has been working to solve environmental challenges. Their site includes reports on their impact and news and stories about their ongoing efforts. |
| FoodFirst Information & Action Network: FIAN International is a global human rights organization that advocates for the right to adequate food and nutrition. Their site include Annual Reports, over 300 publications covering the past 25 years, their current campaigns, and over 25 years of news stories. |
| GLAAD: a non-profit organization focused on LGBTQ advocacy and cultural change. Their site includes information about their work, a variety of research, information for the media, and lists of events. |
| Global Fund for Women: GFW funds bold, ambitious, and expansive, gender justice movements to create meaningful change that will last beyond our lifetimes. Their site includes a list of Gender Justice Movements, as well as the latest news, articles, and annual reports. |
| Human Rights Watch investigates and reports on abuses happening around the world. Their site contains information about many countries, the wide variety of topics they work on, reports about the many problems in the world, video & photos, and the recent Impacts HRW has had. (The site is available in many languages.) |
| International Planned Parenthood Federation: a global healthcare provider and advocate of sexual and reproductive health and rights for all. Their site includes information about their programs, humanitarian priorities, services for women, young people, and marginalized communities, specific priority areas, stories and blog entries, resources, and news and media. |
| Oxfam: a global organization that fights inequality to end poverty and injustice. Their site includes an overview of their work, stories, the countries they work in, the issues they focus on, the emergencies they are responding to, and lots of research and publications. |
|
Refugees International: creating a welcoming world for people seeking refuge from conflict, crises, and climate impacts. Their site includes a thorough list of the issues they work on, the regions they work in, and the most recent news about conflicts, crises, and climate problems. |