Image Map Skip to Main Content

Government Information, Statistics, and more!: Other U.S. Government Websites, etc.

This LibGuide is an annotated list of government, statistical, and reference information websites.

But wait! There's more!

Click one of the links below to jump to the information, or take a tour by scrolling down!

Data.gov GovInfo.gov The Budget of the United States of America StatsAmerica
Congressional Budget Office USA.gov USASpending.gov Voting is important!
Office of the Federal Register U.S. Geological Survey A-Z index of U.S. government departments and agencies Freedom of Information Act
Science.gov Centers for Disease Control and Prevention    

The governmental organizations on this page are a small sample of the very many governmental and nongovernmental organizations that are working on many many different problems and have many different collections of information about those problems and the people affected by them. If there is a kind of information that you would like to be able to find through this LibGuide please let us know - asking us to help you find information is asking us to do what we love to do!

 

Data.gov is the United States government's open data website. It provides access to over 250,000 datasets published by agencies across the federal government, as well as several states, counties, and cities. This site enables people to download entire datasets created by various agencies for research. It is not usually recommended as a tool for locating basic numbers or statistical tables.

  • Datasets can be searched for by keyword, sorted by name, relevance, etc., and further divided by several characteristics on the left of the dataset list.
  • Datasets can also be searched for by 'Organization' (federal agency, state, city, or county) and all the datasets from that organization are available by clicking on the image associated with the organization name.
  • A Data.gov User Guide is available with additional explanations and directions.

Back to Top

 

GovInfo.gov provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. You can search by:

  • Click the orange search rectangle in the upper right to do a keyword search, advanced search, or search by citation,
  • Browse a partial list from A to Z,
  • Look through the 11 Executive, Congressional, Judicial Categories and their subdivisions for documents,
  • Search by Date (select a date range/timeframe),
  • Search by Congressional committee (these pages include Congressional Bills, Congressional Documents, and Congressional Hearings),
  • and search by Government Author (scroll down the lengthy lists of the Executive, Judicial, and Legislative, organizations providing documents).

Back to Top

 

The Budget of the United States of America is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Other related and supporting budget publications are included, varying from year to year. Coverage is from 1996 to to 2024. These documents are provided by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) and are hosted by GovInfo.gov.

Back to Top

 

The Congressional Budget Office's mandate is to provide Congress with objective, nonpartisan, and timely analyses to aid in economic and budgetary decisions about the wide array of programs covered by the federal budget; as well as the information and estimates required for the Congressional budget process. There are several ways to search the CBO site for documents:

  • Their Topics page has 27 topic links in the center of the page, to the left there is a much more extensive drop-down list of topics/subtopics, along with a drop-down for Content Type, and one for Congressional Session. To the right of the page there are seven Quick Links to commonly requested documents.
  • Their Cost Estimates page has a Search Box in the upper left, enabling you to search by Keyword, Bill Number, and Title. Below that box there are links to an FAQ and information about the cost estimation process, and below that are a variety of Quick Links, a Glossary, and other information. In the center/right of the page there are three tabs: Cost Estimates, Suspension Bills, and Appropriations(each of the tabs has an extensive list of documents).
  • The Interactives page contains several interactive or infographic tools that show the effects of budgetary or planning changes in various areas.
  • Frequently Asked Questions: If you have questions this page is for you!
  • CBO Blog - a collection of interesting articles about various aspects of Congressional Budget Office work and/or information.
  • CBO regularly publishes data to accompany some of its key reports. The data is in .xls, .xlsx. or .zip files that you can download:

                 10-Year Budget Projections

                 Long-Term Budget Projections

                 Historical Budget Data

                 10-Year Trust Fund Projections

                 Revenue Projections, by Category

                 Spending Projections, by Budget Account

                 Estimates of Automatic Stabilizers

                 Tax Parameters and Effective Marginal Tax Rates

Economic Projections

Historical Data and Economic Projections

Potential GDP and Underlying Inputs

Long-Term Economic Projections

Demographic Projections

Back to Top

 

StatsAmerica is a service of the Indiana Business Research Center (IBRC) in the Indiana University Kelley School of Business and is partially funded by grants from the U.S. Economic Development Administration. The site contains information from hundreds of data sets from dozens of federal and state sources, along with some commercial or private data sources. StatsAmerica links to a large number of data sources on their homepage, scroll down to see the selection. Additional useful pages (many accessible through the links on the top of each StatsAmerica page) include, but are not limited to:

Back to Top

 

USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal. USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. You can search through the links for information and there is a Search Box in the top-right (and top-center on the results page). Including the word "statistics" in a search will produce results that include data tables or reports with graphs and charts.

All topics and services Complaints, Disability Services, Disasters & Emergencies, Education, Government Benefits, Health, Immigration & U.S. Citizenship, Jobs, Labor Laws, & Unemployment, Laws & Legal Issues, Military & Veterans, Money & Credit, Small Business, Voting and Elections, and more! No matter what you are looking for give this link a click!
About the U.S. and its government

An A-Z index of U.S. government departments and agencies, Buying from the U.S. government, Contact elected officials, Federal laws and regulations, State and local governments, U.S. facts and figures, and more.
Government benefits Help finding government programs and assistance you might qualify for (Food assistance, Government death benefits, Health insurance, Help with utility bills, Housing help, Retirement benefits, Social Security, State social service agencies, Welfare benefits or Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), and more).
Housing help Emergency housing assistance, Eviction and foreclosure, Home buying assistance, Home repair and energy efficiency assistance, How to change your address, How to file a complaint against a landlord, and Rental assistance.
Scams and fraud Identity theft, Impostor scams, Unemployment scams, and Where to report scams.
Taxes

Child and dependent tax credits, Disaster relief tax credits, Federal tax forms, Federal tax return extensions, File federal taxes, Free help filing taxes, How to check and change your tax withholding, How to pay and get help with state and local taxes, Resolve tax disputes, Tax refunds, and Transcripts and copies of tax returns.
Travel Information on: How to get a REAL ID for travel, International travel documents for children, Travel documents for foreign citizens returning to the U.S., Travel to or within the U.S., U.S. citizens traveling abroad, and U.S. passports.

Back to Top

 

USASpending.gov is the official open data source of federal spending information, including information about federal awards such as contracts, grants, and loans. The site provides data pertaining to amounts awarded for federally sponsored projects during a given budget period, not actual cash disbursements made against each project.

Spending Explorer
Annual federal spending through three different starting points

Profiles
Federal spending through interactive snapshots

All Data

Account Data
Data from agency financial submissions, covering both award and non-award spending

Award Data
Data about contracts, grants, loans, and other awards that the federal government has made

Learn

Reference Materials

For Developers

Back to Top

 

Voting is important! Vote.gov is a portal to information about voting. You can find out about registering to vote, find out voter registration deadlines, check your registration, register after you move, change your political party affiliation, learn how to get a voter registration card, and more. There are also links to voting and election resources on USA.gov:

Back to Top

 

The Office of the Federal Register (OFR) is part of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), and the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) and they jointly administer the FederalRegister.gov website. The Federal Register provides access to:

Across the top of the Federal Register homepage there are links to 'Sections' (money, environment, etc.); then there is a Browse option that enables you to look through lists of agencies, topics, dates, etc.; then there are the Search options - documents search, advanced document search, public inspection search, and FR Index. This is followed by Reader Aids:

Back to Top

 

The U.S. Geological Survey was created by an act of Congress in 1879. As the science arm of the U.S. Department of the Interior, the USGS provides earth, water, biological, and mapping data and expertise to help support decision-making on environmental, resource, and public safety issues. The USGS presents a treasure trove of information, below are links to much - but not all - of what they offer.

Back to Top

 

USA.gov's A-Z index of U.S. government departments and agencies:

Back to Top

 

The Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) provides the right to request access to records from any federal agency. The FOIA.gov homepage provides three buttons: learn about the FOIA process, access the new search tool, or start a request with a specific agency. The agency search functionality provides quick access to agency mission information, contact information, and the option to submit a FOIA request directly from FOIA.gov. The new Search Tool helps you to more quickly locate commonly requested information. The Search Tool simplifies the process of making FOIA requests and finding federal government documents. It can help you connect with the right agency to make a request or find publicly available information quickly and easily. There are six topical areas that are the largest portion of FOIA requests, if you select that first option the Search Tool asks some questions to help get you to the right place. Or you can scroll down and enter your own search terms to receive suggestions of where to request information. Click here to learn more about how the Search Tool works. Additional information and options are available in the toolbar at the top of the FOIA.gov homepage.

Back to Top

 

Science.gov is a U.S. government website that provides access to the massive collection of federally funded scientific research results, without needing to know which federal agency funded the research. Science.gov is the U.S. contribution to WorldWideScience.org, which provides access to science information from national and international scientific databases and portals. Research results include scientific and technical reports, peer-reviewed scholarly publications, digital data, software, conference presentations and proceedings, and other scientific and technical information that federal agencies publish. Science.gov uses a search technology that retrieves results in real-time; this ensures that the most recent content is available for search and retrieval. A basic search is available on the Science.gov homepage, and an Advanced Search is also available. A Help Page provides additional information about search and download options.

Back to Top

 

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is the nation’s leading science-based and data-driven service organization protecting the public’s health.

  • Health Topics A-Z: Find diseases and conditions; healthy living; workplace safety; environmental health; injury, violence and safety, global health and more.
  • Traveler's Health: Information about medical situations around the world and how to stay healthy while traveling.
  • CDC Current Outbreaks List: Information about currently active disease problems in the US and around the world.
  • Data and Statistics: Information about Covid-19, Heart Disease, Diabetes, Alcohol Use, Immunizations, and much more data and statistics about diseases and medical problems.
  • Publications: Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR), Emerging Infectious Diseases, Preventing Chronic Disease, Vital Signs, and more CDC Publications.
  • COVID-19: COVID-19 vaccines are safe, effective, and free. Everyone 6 months and older can get an updated COVID-19 vaccine. Learn more.
  • Emergency Preparedness and Response: Resources about preparing for a wide variety of emergencies.
  • Injury Prevention & Control: The National Center for Injury Prevention and Control (Injury Center) works to prevent injury and violence so that individuals, families, and communities can be safe, healthy, and thriving. Information on many different programs and research efforts.
  • National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH): A research agency focused on worker safety and health, empowering employers and workers to create safe and healthy workplaces. Contains data, publications, and resources.
  • CDC’s National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH): plans, directs, and coordinates efforts to protect the American people from environmental hazards. There is an A-Z Index of environmental health issues, and more information if you scroll down.
  • Public Health Image Library: The imagery shown in the PHIL is historic in nature; some of the contents, though appropriate at the time the photograph was taken, may not be appropriate in the current time period, and is not a source of the most current public health information. The images include information about the subject of the photograph, when and where it was taken, and many of the images are suitable for all audiences.
  • CDC Laboratory Safety Portal: Information about how to have safe working conditions in a laboratory.
  • David J. Sencer CDC Museum: Online versions of some of the exhibits in the David J. Spencer CDC Museum at CDC Headquarters.
  • The Stephen B. Thacker CDC Library provides the scientific information for CDC’s mission by offering specialized library services supporting research, information exchange and learning.
    • CDC Science Clips is an online, continuously updated, searchable database of scientific literature published by CDC authors. Each article features an Altmetric Attention Score to track social and mainstream media mentions.
    • Access to Library Resources for State, Tribal, Local, and Territorial Public Health Agencies: Staff at State, Tribal, Local, and Territorial (STLT) Public Health Agencies have several options for obtaining library resources. Most of the options listed at this link are available at no cost.
    • The Stephen B Thacker CDC Library Research Guides save you time and effort while increasing the quality of your research! Topic guides that suggest resources tailored to your topic, research tools that help you manage your citations, tips on how to search databases effectively, resources to help you maximize your publication’s impact, these guides are curated by CDC librarians to bring you the best places to get started with your research.
    • The CDC Database of COVID-19 Research Articles became a collaboration with the WHO to create the WHO COVID-19 database during the pandemic to make it easier for results to be searched, downloaded, and used by researchers worldwide. The last version of the CDC COVID-19 database was archived and remain available on this website. Please note that it has stopped updating as of October 9, 2020 and all new articles were integrated into the WHO COVID-19 database
    • The WHO Covid-19 Research Database is a response to the Public Health Emergency of International Concern (PHEIC). Its content remains searchable and spans the time period March 2020 to June 2023. Since June 2023, manual updates to the database have been discontinued.

Back to Top

 

Let us know if there is a Federal Department, Agency, Bureau, or other government organization that you would like to see explored in this LibGuide.